Board of Trustees

The South Carolina State Library is governed by the State Library Board of Trustees consisting of seven members, one from each congressional district. The members are appointed by the Governor for terms of five years and until their successors are appointed and qualify.

The Board of Trustees determines policy for providing library and information services to the state government, South Carolina libraries, and the citizens of the State, and fosters public awareness of the conditions of libraries in South Carolina. The board also develops and adopts long range plans for the continued improvement of library services in the State, prescribes standards of service for South Carolina libraries, and directs the distribution of state and federal funds or grants from public and private sources.

All board member correspondence can be directed to:

Board of Trustees
C/O South Carolina State Library
1500 Senate Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Or, email at:

Current Board of Trustees

Jennifer Cunningham
District: 6th
Term Commencing: 07/29/2022
Term Expiring: 06/30/2024
Photo of Anna Claire Dando
Anna Claire Dando - Vice Chair
District: 2nd
Term Commencing: 10/29/2021
Term Expiring: 06/30/2024
Photo of Loretta Green
Loretta K. Green
District: 1st
Term Commencing: 06/30/2011
Term Expiring: 06/30/2021
Photo of Mark Y. Herring
Mark Y. Herring
District: 5th
Term Commencing: 06/08/2021
Term Expiring: 06/30/2025
Photo of Deborah Hyler
Deborah Hyler
District: 7th
Term Commencing: 06/30/2009
Term Expiring: 06/30/2019
Andrea Kelly
District: 3rd
Term Commencing: 05/16/2022
Term Expiring: 06/30/2027
Photo of Alanna I. Wildman
Alanna I. Wildman - Chair
District: 4th
Term Commencing: 06/30/2011
Term Expiring: 06/30/2021

State Library Hours

Sunday Closed
Monday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Tuesday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday Closed