2015 Library of Congress Literacy Awards Seeks Nominations

literacy header

The Library of Congress Center for the Book is pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted for the 2015 Library of Congress Literacy Awards. These awards are given to outstanding organizations working to promote literacy, both in the United States and worldwide. The awards seek to recognize organizations doing exemplary, innovative and replicable work over a sustained period of time and to encourage new groups, organizations and individuals to become involved. All groups that work to promote literacy are encouraged to apply.

The application rules and a downloadable application form may be accessed at www.read.gov/literacyawards. Applications must be received no later than midnight on March 31, 2015.

Last year, the awards went to Room to Read (Rubenstein Prize-$150,000), SMART (American Prize-$50,000) and Mother Child Education Foundation (International Prize-$50,000). More information about these organizations and 14 other literacy leaders is available in "Library of Congress Literacy Awards 2014: Best Practices" at read.gov/documents/best-practices2014-for-web.pdf

Upcoming Event

Image of The Dubber playing the Richland County Library

Modern Day Bluesman, THE Dubber

June 28, 2024, 7:30 PM

Join us at the South Carolina Center for the Book for a histo-musical performance from THE Dubber as we celebrate African American Musical Month.