SC Academy of Authors Announces 2nd Annual Fiction Fellowship Winner


The South Carolina Academy of Authors is very pleased to announce Thomas McConnell of Spartanburg as the 2013 Fiction Fellowship winner. McConnell's manuscript, How We Live Now, was chosen by this year's judge, Florida novelist Mary Robinson.

McConnell's story was selected from 25 submissions. In choosing the winner, Robinson commented that "How We Live Now is a work of quality and depth, humor and heartbreak. On every page, the details and rhythms of speech are attended to with genius. It was far and away my favorite, and certainly wins the prize."

The Academy wishes to congratulate Mr. McConnell, winner of the second annual Fiction Fellowship, and to thank all of those who participated in the competition. McConnell will receive a $1,000.00 prize at a special brunch held in conjunction with the Academy's annual induction ceremony. This year's ceremony will be held in Columbia, April 26-28, when Jack Bass, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes, and Eugene Robinson will be inducted into the state's literary hall of fame.

The submission period for the 2014 Fellowship will open next autumn.

For more information about the South Carolina Academy of Authors, please visit