Annual Literacy Leaders Awards Call for Nominations


Do you know individuals or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy?  Nominate them for the South Carolina Annual Literacy Leader (ALL) awards for 2015.

The ALL awards are presented by the School of Library and Information Science at the University of South Carolina in the fall of each year to individuals and/or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Contributions may include the following activities:

  • developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education
  • establishing models of best practices in literacy education
  • providing service to under-served groups and communities
  • providing funding and support for these kinds of programs
  • making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the selection committee.

Recipients may be individuals, agencies, organizations or corporations with a local presence in South Carolina, regardless of their primary place of residence or corporate headquarters.

The second annual Parish Prize will be presented in honor of South Carolina children’s author, Peggy Parish. The Peggy Parish Prize will provide two awards of $500 each. One will be awarded to a public librarian. The second will be awarded to a public school educator, which would include anyone employed by a public school. Successful recipients will demonstrate their impact through activities such as:

  • implementing or expanding innovative programs or approaches to increase literacy in children
  • encouraging a child’s love of reading through the involvement of a parent or caregiver
  • establishing or expanding programs for under-served community groups to increase child literacy
  • creating programs that successfully use Peggy Parish’s notion of an “open window” timeframe to encourage reading in children.

Nominations should take the form of a one-page letter summarizing the statewide impact of the nominee with respect to the award criteria. Nominations should be received no later than May 4, 2015.

Last year's recipients were the Call Me Mister program, Dr. Dianne Johnson, Literacy Volunteers of the Lowcountry, and the 1st Annual Peggy Parish Prize winners were Ida Thompson and Leslie Tetreault.

Please send nominations by email to Dr. Curtis R. Rogers, Chair of the ALL Nominations Committee at and Dr. Sam Hastings, USC SLIS Director at or by mail to: Dr. S. K. Hastings, School of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina, Davis College, 1501 Greene St., Columbia, SC 29208

Click here for two page PDF information sheet.