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Introduction

Sales and use taxes, which are used exclusively for education, are an important
component of the state’s annual budget.

The purpose of this handbook is to assist business owners, employees and others
in gaining a better understanding of the sales and use tax laws and the impact
these taxes may have on their business. We know that understanding your
obligations is the first step in complying with tax laws.

While we strive to present this manual correctly, it is possible some errors may be
found. Furthermore, tax law changes rapidly. This manual is not meant as a
substitute for the sales tax statutes. We would advise you to seek legal advice if
there are some questions about your tax obligations.

We would appreciate your suggestions regarding how we can make this seminar
and manual more useful for you and your business. Please call Amber Hendrix at
(803)898-5593 or email your comments to Amber.Hendrix@sctax.org.

South Carolina Department of Revenue
January 2007
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NEW INFORMATION

The following is a list of sales and use tax legislative changes for 2007.

PRIVATE SCHOOLS, USE TAX EXEMPTION

This temporary proviso exempts the use tax on purchases of tangible personal property for
use in primary and secondary schools including kindergarten and early childhood by
schools exempt from income taxes under IRS Code Section 501(c)(3). The exemption does
not apply to purchases subject to sales tax. This provision is effective only for the state
fiscal year beginning July 1, 2006 and ending June 30, 2007, unless reenacted by the
General Assembly. (Proviso 72.54)

SPECIFIC FUEL EFFICIENT VEHICLES QUALIFY FOR TAX REBATE
South Carolina car buyers who make in state purchases of fuel efficient vehicles that meet
specific criteria may qualify for a sales tax rebate under a new state law that was effective
July 1, 2006. To qualify, the purchase must be made between July 1, 2006 and June 30,
2007.

Buyers who make fuel efficient auto purchases will receive a rebate up to $300 after
submitting the proper forms to the Department of Revenue. Forms are available from the
car dealers, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and at Department of
Revenue offices or on the Department of Revenue website. Vehicles that qualify for the
rebate are flex-fuel vehicles, hydrogen fuel cell vehicles, and plug-in hybrid gasoline-electric
vehicles.

In addition to the rebate for fuel-efficient automobile purchases, there is a rebate up to $500
available for taxpayers who purchase equipment used in the conversion of a conventional
hybrid gasoline-electric vehicle to a plug-in hybrid gasoline-electric vehicle. The form for
claiming this rebate also is available to dealers and the DMV, and is available at the DOR
website. (Proviso 72.113 (1)) To qualify, the purchase must be made between July 1, 2006
and June 30, 2007.

WARRANTIES, MAINTENANCE AND SIMILAR SERVICE CONTRACTS

An exemption is allowed for the sale or renewal of a warranty, maintenance or similar
service contract for tangible personal property if the sale or purchase of the tangible
personal property covered by the contract is already exempt from the tax. Effective Date:
October 1, 2005

STATE TAX RATE INCREASES TO 6%

South Carolina's state sales and use tax rate will increase from 5% to 6% effective June 1,
2007. State legislators approved the one percent increase this year as part of the Property
Tax Relief Act. The change will not affect purchases subject to the states $300 sales and
use tax cap or the 7% tax rate on sleeping accommodation rentals.



IMPOSITIONS OF LOCAL OPTION TAXES

1) Fairfield County- a 1 % Local Option Tax was imposed effective May 1, 2006.

2) Lee County- a 1 % School District Tax was imposed effective October 1, 2006.

3) Allendale County no longer imposed the 1% Capital Projects Tax effective January 1,
2007.

4) Florence County, Greenwood County, and Horry County imposed a 1% Capital Projects
Tax effective May 1, 2007.

CERTAIN CONSTRUCTION MATERIALS - EXEMPTION

Construction materials used in the construction of a single manufacturing and distribution
facility with a capital investment of at least one hundred million in real and personal property
in the State over an eighteen-month period are exempt from the sales tax effective July 1,
2011. Beginning July 1, 2007 the sales tax rate on these materials is 4% and the rate
decreases one percent per year until the total exemption is reached. (Amends Code
Section 12-36-2120)

REDUCED SALES TAX ON FOOD

The state sales and use tax rate imposed on the sales price of unprepared food items is
reduced from 5% to 3% effective October 1, 2006. This reduced state sales tax rate applies
to any unprepared food eligible to be purchased with United States Department of
Agriculture food coupons (i.e. electronic benefit transfer cards). Sales tax at the reduced
rate on sales of unprepared food is required to be reported on page 2 of the Department's
tax form ST-389.

EXCESS COLLECTION OF SALES OR USE TAX

Retailers who collect from the purchaser a state or local sales or use tax that exceeds the
amount allowed or required by state law, may be held liable for a penalty. The penalty could
be up to 150% of the tax amount collected that exceeds the amount authorized to be
collected. Payment of this penalty does not relieve the retailer of an obligation to repay to
the purchaser tax collected that exceeds the amount authorized or required to be collected.

However, the retailer is not subject to this penalty where it is determined the retailer made a
good faith effort to establish the correct tax rate, or the retailer refunds to the purchaser the
amount that exceeded the amount authorized or required to be collected. (Amends Code
Section 12-54-196 and applies to taxes collected in 2006 and forward.)

SHERIFF'S SALES

A sales and use tax exemption has been added for property obtained under the law and
sold to the public at a "sheriff's sale.” (Amends Code Section 12-36-2120 and becomes
effective June 14, 2006.)



RETURN OF RETAIL LICENSE TO THE DEPARTMENT

A person holding a South Carolina retail sales license(s) must return the license to the SC
Department of Revenue for cancellation if they close or sell their business or otherwise
transfer their business to another person. Also, the license holder must pay any unpaid or
accrued taxes at that time. The Department may revoke a license or licenses, or may
refuse to issue a retail sales license, to a person who fails to comply with this provision.
(Amends Code Section 12-54-126 and becomes effective Oct 1, 2006).

VISCOSUPPLEMENTATION THERAPIES

There is a suspension of the state's sales and use tax for viscosupplementation therapies
from July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2007. The new law does not allow for refunds for any
taxes paid on sales of this product during the suspension. (Proviso 72.108)

SURCHARGE ON RENTAL OF HEAVY EQUIPMENT

Contracts for heavy equipment rental are subject to a 3% sales tax surcharge, effective
June 14, 2006.

The surcharge must be noted in the rental contract and must be computed on the total
amount stated in the rental agreement. However, sales and use taxes are not used in the
computation of the surcharge. Further, the surcharge is not subject to sales or use taxes.

This surcharge applies to rental contracts which include vehicles weighing more than 3,000
Ibs., or heavy equipment that is rented without an operator by persons engaged in the
heavy equipment business, in which the equipment or vehicles may be used for
construction, mining, industrial or forestry purposes. Such equipment includes, but is not
limited to, bulldozers, earthmoving equipment, well-drilling equipment and machinery, and
cranes.

The surcharge applies to heavy equipment rental contracts good for a period of 31 days or
less and must be collected at the time of rental. Surcharge amounts collected by the rental
business may be used as reimbursements for property tax imposed and paid on the heavy
equipment and vehicles under guidelines in South Carolina Code Section 56-31-50. The
surcharge is reported on Department of Revenue Form ST-394, which must be filed by
February 15 following the close of the year. (Adds Code Section 12-37-717)

TECHNOLOGY INTENSIVE FACILITIES SALES TAX EXEMPTION

Two new sales and use tax exemptions relating to a technology intensive facility have been
added to Code Section 12-36-2120.



The first exempts computer equipment used in connection with a technology intensive
facility as defined in Code Section 12-6-3360 (M)(14)(b). Facilities qualifying for this
exemption are expected to invest at least three hundred million dollars in real or personal
property or both over a five-year period; create at least one hundred new jobs at the facility
during that five-year period, and the average cash compensation of at least one hundred of
the new ,jobs is one hundred fifty percent of the per capita income of the state; and at least
sixty percent of the three hundred million dollars minimum investment consists of computer
equipment.

The second exemption applies to electricity used by a technology intensive facility which
qualifies for the computer equipment sales tax exemption of this section, and the
equipment and raw materials including, without limitation, fuel used by such qualifying
facility to generate, transform, transmit, distribute, or manage electricity for use in such a
facility. (Amends Code Section 12-36-2120)

AMENDED REGULATIONS

The following is a list of South Carolina regulations approved by the South Carolina
General during the year 2006.

SC Regulation 117-334 Interstate Commerce; Amended to clarify which tax applies, the
sales tax or the use tax, to goods being shipped into South Carolina. (Effective 06-23-06)

SC Regulation 117-318.1 Warranty Agreements; Regulation repealed since the sales and
use tax law on warranty agreements changed effective October 1, 2005 as a result of Act
161, Section 19, of 2005. (Effective 06-23-06)

SC Regulation 117-335 Manufactured and Modular Homes; Amended to address a change
in the law in 2004 as to how modular homes are taxed and to address the issue of furniture
and appliances sold with manufactured and modular homes. (Effective 06-23-06)

SC Regulation 117-328 Radio and Television Stations; The last paragraph of this regulation
was deleted since it concerned outdated "wired music." Such music is now transmitted via
satellite and the charges for such transmissions, in the opinion of the Department, are
subject to the tax under Code Sections 12-36-910(B)(3) and 12-36-1310(B)(3) ) which
impose the sales tax and use tax on charges for the ways or means for the transmission of
the voice or messages. (Effective 06-23-06)

SC Regulation 117-302.5 Exemption for Machines; Amended to combine the guidance
provided in the advisory opinion, SC Revenue Ruling #04-7, which is based on the two
court cases, with provisions of the present regulation that are still applicable under these
two court decisions. (Effective 02-24-2006)

SC Regulation 117-325 Bulk Sales Statute; Repealed this regulation since the bulk sales
statute in Title 36, Chapter 6 of the Commercial Code was repealed effective July 1, 2001
by Act 67 of 2001. (Effective 02-24-06)



The Basics of the South Carolina Sales Tax

The state sales tax is imposed upon every person engaged within this state in
the business of selling tangible personal property at retail. The measure, or
basis, for the sales tax is the retailer’s gross proceeds of sales. The retailer is
liable for the tax. The state sales tax rate is 5% January 1, 2007 through May 31,
2007. The rate will increase to 6% on June 1, 2007.

Definitions:

Person includes any individual, firm, partnership, limited liability company,
association, corporation, receiver, trustee or group or combination acting as a
unit. It also includes the state, state agencies, and any instrumentality, authority,
political subdivision or municipality.

Tangible personal property is personal property that may be seen, weighed,
measured, felt, touched, or in any manner perceptible to the senses. It also
includes certain services and intangibles - communications, laundry services,
accommodations (hotels, motels, etc.) and electricity. It does not include stocks,
notes, bonds, mortgages or other evidences of debt. It also does not include the
transmission of computer database information by a cooperative service when
the database information has been assembled by and for the exclusive use of the
members of the cooperative service.

Sale or purchase is a transfer of title or possession of tangible personal property
for a consideration. Includes rentals, leases and license to use.

Sale at retail means a sale of tangible personal property to an end-user or
consumer of the property. Included within the term are leases and rentals of
tangible personal property. If a sale is not a retail sale, then it is a wholesale sale.

Gross proceeds of sales is the total amount proceeding or accruing from the
retail sales of a business.

More about Gross Proceeds of Sales:
Gross proceeds of sales - the measure or basis for the sales tax - includes:

> proceeds of consignment sales; and

> the fair market value of tangible personal property previously purchased at
wholesale that is withdrawn from inventory for personal or business use;
and

> proceeds accruing or proceeding from the sale or recharge at retail of
prepaid wireless calling cards.
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Also, a retailer may not deduct from gross proceeds of sales any costs that are
passed on to his customers, such as:

VVVYYY

cost of goods sold;

cost of materials, labor or services;

interest paid;

transportation costs to acquire inventory; and

manufacturers or importers excise taxes that are imposed by the federal
government.

The following are not included in gross proceeds of sales:

vyvvy VY

vy

cash discounts allowed and taken;

the sales price of property returned by customers when the full sales price
is refunded in cash or by a credit;

the value allowed for property taken as trade-ins;

any excise taxes imposed by the federal government on retail sales;
interest, fees or charges, however described, that are imposed on a
customer for late payment of a bill for electricity or natural gas, or both,
whether or not sales tax is required to be paid on the underlying electricity
or natural gas bill;

charges for data processing;

bad debts and uncollectible accounts actually written off on the SC state
income tax return; and

the 5% excise tax imposed on alcoholic liquors by the drink pursuant to
code section 12-33-245

Special impositions of the Sales Tax

In addition to applying to the storage, use or consumption of items one normally
thinks of as tangible personal property (e.g. furniture, appliances, clothing,
computers, etc.), the sales tax also applies to the storage, use or consumption in
South Carolina of:

>

>
>

900/976 telephone services and certain other communications (however,
the tax imposed upon communication does not apply to certain data
processing as defined in §12-36-910);

laundry and dry cleaning services; electricity; and

the fair market value of tangible personal property brought into South
Carolina by its manufacturer for storage, use or consumption in South
Carolina.

11



Individuals 85 Years and Older

As part of the Educational Improvement Act of 1984, the Legislature
provided a one-percent exclusion from state sales tax for individuals
age 85 and older. In 2001, the Legislature amended that law to
require retailers to post signs providing notice of the one-percent
exclusion and to require individuals 85 years and older request the
exclusion and provide proof of age at the cash register.

Burden of proof

It is presumed that all gross proceeds are subject to tax until the contrary is
established. The burden of proof that the sale of tangible personal property is not
a sale at retail is on the seller. However, if the seller receives a resale certificate
signed by the purchaser stating that the property is purchased for resale, the
liability for the sales tax shifts from the seller to the purchaser.

12



The Basics of the South Carolina Use Tax

The state use tax is imposed on the storage, use or consumption of tangible
personal property in South Carolina. Also, the property must have been
purchased at retail from outside the state for the purpose of being stored, used or
consumed in South Carolina.

The measure, or basis, for the use tax is the property’s sales (purchase) price;
and the person storing, using or consuming the property - usually the purchaser -
is liable for the tax. However, an out-of-state retailer licensed (or required to be
licensed) to collect the tax has a debt to the state for the amount of the tax.

The purpose of the use tax is to complement the state sales tax. It is to ensure
that out-of-state retailers do not enjoy an unfair advantage over in-state retailers.

The use tax rate is 5% January 1, 2007 through May 31, 2007. The rate will
increase to 6% on June 1, 2007.

Definitions:
Person includes any individual, firm, partnership, limited liability company,
association, corporation, receiver, trustee or group or combination acting as a
unit. It also includes the state, state agencies, and any instrumentality, authority,
political subdivision or municipality.

Tangible personal property is personal property that may be seen, weighed,
measured, felt, touched, or in any manner perceptible to the senses. It also
includes certain services and intangibles - communications, laundry services,
accommodations (hotels, motels, etc.) and electricity. It does not include stocks,
notes, bonds, mortgages or other evidences of debt. It also does not include the
transmission of computer database information by a cooperative service when
the database information has been assembled by and for the exclusive use of the
members of the cooperative service.

Purchase (sale) is a transfer of title or possession of tangible personal property
for a consideration. Includes rentals, leases and license to use.

Purchase (sale) at retail means a purchase of tangible personal property by the
end-user or consumer of the property. Included within the term are leases and
rentals of tangible personal property. If a purchase is not a retail transaction, then
it is a wholesale transaction.

13



Sale price - the measure of the use tax - is the total amount for which tangible
personal property is sold. It includes the cost of any materials, labor, interest,
services or transportation that are part of the sale.

Sales price does not include:

> cash discounts allowed and taken;

> an amount charged for property when the full amount is refunded in cash
or by credit;

> the value allowed for property taken as a trade-in; and

> excise taxes imposed by the federal government on retailers.

Storage is the keeping or retaining of tangible personal property in South
Carolina that has been purchased at retail.

Use is exercising any right or power over tangible personal property, incident to
the ownership of the property, or by any transaction in which possession is given.

The terms storage and use do not include the keeping, retaining or exercising of
any right or power over tangible personal property in South Carolina:

> for the purpose of being sold;

> for the exclusive purpose of being transported outside the state for first
use; or

> for the purpose of being first manufactured, processed or compounded
into other tangible personal property for use solely outside the state.

Special impositions of the Use Tax

In addition to applying to the storage, use or consumption of items one normally
thinks of as tangible personal property (e.g. furniture, appliances, clothing,
computers, etc.), the use tax also applies to the storage, use or consumption in
South Carolina of:

> 900/976 telephone services and certain other communications (however,
the tax imposed upon communication does not apply to certain data
processing as defined in §12-36-910);

> laundry and dry cleaning services;

> electricity; and

> the fair market value of tangible personal property brought into South

Carolina by its manufacturer for storage, use or consumption in South
Carolina.

14



Individuals 85 Years and Older

As part of the Educational Improvement Act of 1984, the Legislature provided a
one-percent exclusion from state sales tax for individuals age 85 and older. In
2001, the Legislature amended that law to require retailers to post signs
providing notice of the one-percent exclusion and to require individuals 85 years
and older request the exclusion and provide proof of age at the cash register.

Credit for taxes paid in another state

The law provides a credit against the use tax for taxes due and paid in another
state. The credit, however, is allowed only if the other state has a similar credit
provision.

Burden of proof

The law presumes any tangible personal property that is delivered or received in
South Carolina is for storage, use or consumption in South Carolina. The
purchaser, therefore, has the burden of proving that the property was not
purchased for storage, use or consumption in South Carolina. The retailer also
has the burden of proving that the property is not subject to the tax, unless the
retailer has a certificate given by the purchaser stating the property was
purchased for resale.

Tax paid to an out-of-state retailer

75 j NS
Y 49 =|
The purchaser is relieved of the liability for the use tax if e

he has a receipt (invoice) from a licensed out-of-state ’
retailer showing that the South Carolina tax was collected by the retailer.

Substantial use outside South Carolina

The purchaser is not liable for the use tax on tangible personal property
substantially used in another state before being stored, used or consumed in
South Carolina. The purchaser must be prepared to prove the property was in
fact substantially used outside South Carolina.

15



Exclusions from the Use Tax

The following transactions are excluded from the use tax:

>

>

>

purchases of tangible personal property for resale;

purchases of tangible personal property by manufacturers and
compounders for use as an ingredient or component part of property
manufactured or compounded for sale (i.e. raw materials);

purchases of tangible personal property used directly in manufacturing,
compounding or processing tangible personal property for sale;

purchases of materials, containers, etc. used incident to the sale and
delivery of tangible personal property; and

purchases of tangible personal property brought into the state for first use
outside the state.

purchases by non-profit schools

All transactions that are exempt from the sales tax are also exempt from the use
tax under South Carolina Code 12-36-2120.

Summary

The state use tax is imposed on the storage, use or consumption of tangible
personal property that is purchased at retail from outside South Carolina for the
purpose of being stored, used or consumed in South Carolina.

For the use tax to be imposed, all of the following must be true:

>

>

Tangible personal property must have been purchased at retail from
outside South Carolina.

The property must have been purchased for storage, use or consumption
in South Carolina.

The property is stored, used or consumed in South Carolina. The
person storing, using or consuming the tangible personal property in
South Carolina is liable for the use tax. The purchaser is relieved of the
liability for the tax if he has a receipt from a licensed out-of-state retailer
showing the tax was collected.

16



3% Sales and Use Tax on Unprepared Food

Effective October 1, 2006, unprepared foods which lawfully may be purchased
with United States Department of Agriculture food coupons* are subject to the
state sales and use tax at a rate of three percent. The increase in the state sales
tax rate effective June 1, 2007 will not change the three percent tax rate on
unprepared food.

The term “unprepared” food does not include:

1) meals and food sold by a restaurant, cafeteria, lunch wagon, or other
similar places or business engaged in the business of selling prepared
meals or food for immediate consumption;

2) meals prepared and delivered by a meal delivery service;

3) meals sold to or at congregate meal sites; or

4) meals and food sold at a grocery store, convenience store or any other
similar store for the purpose of eating at or near the store, such as meals
and food sold with eating utensils (e.g. plates, knives, forks, spoons, cups,
napkins) provided by the seller.

The following are examples of foods eligible and not eligible for the lower state
sales tax rate.

Foods eligible for the lower state sales tax rate which began on October 1, 2006
include:
» Any food intended to be eaten at home by people, including snacks,
beverages and seasonings
» Seeds and plants intended to grow food (not birdseed or seeds to grow
flowers)
» Cold items, which may include salads or sandwiches, intended to be eaten
at home by people and that are not considered “prepared meals or food”
as discussed above

Items which are not eligible for the lower sales tax rate and are, therefore,
subject to the state sales and use tax at the state rate of 5% (6%) are:

» Alcoholic beverages, such as beer, wine, or liquor
» Hot beverage ready-to-drink such as coffee

» Tobacco

» Hot foods ready to eat

* Food coupons also means food stamps, electronic benefits transfer cards and
any other method approved by the United States Department of Agriculture.

17



Accommodations Tax

Code section 12-36-920(A) imposes a 7% sales tax on the gross proceeds
derived from the rental or charges for any rooms, campground spaces, lodgings
or sleeping accommodations furnished to transients by hotels, inns, tourist
courts, tourist camps, motels, campgrounds, residences, or any places in which
rooms, lodgings or sleeping accommodations are furnished to transients for
consideration.

Exclusions

Excluded from the tax are the gross proceeds derived from facilities that:

| 2 consist of less than six sleeping rooms;
| 2 that are contained in a single premise; and
> the owner of the premise uses the premise as his place of abode.

Also excluded from the tax are the gross proceeds derived from the lease or
rental of sleeping accommodations that are:

> supplied to the same person
> for a period of 90 or more continuous days.

For example, if a business (e.g. an airline or construction company) reserves specific
hotel rooms for its employees for a period of at least 90 continuous days, the tax does
not apply. The exclusion does not apply if specific rooms are not reserved.

Exemptions

Federal Government
Rentals of sleeping accommodations to the federal government are exempt from
taxation, if the federal government is billed directly or a federal government credit
card or check is used to make payment. The exemption does not apply if a
federal employee uses his own money or credit card and is merely reimbursed by
the government. The rental must be made directly to the federal government.
(See SC Revenue Advisory Bulletin #02-3 for more detail.)

NOTE: Rentals to state, county, municipal and other local governments are not
exempt.

18



Foreign Diplomats

Foreign diplomats enjoy certain exemptions from taxation. To be exempt from the
tax on accommodations, a foreign diplomat should have a special tax exemption
card containing the statement “Includes Hotel Room Taxes.” (See SC Information
Letter #98-8 for more detail.)

Sales Tax on additional guest charges

Code section 12-36-920(B) imposes a 5% sales tax on additional guest charges. The
term additional guest charges includes, but is not limited to:

> room service;

amenities;

entertainment;

special items in promotional tourist packages;
laundering and dry cleaning services;

in-room movies;

telephone charges;

vy vV v v v v.yY

rentals of meeting rooms; and
> other guest services.

* The rate will increase to 6% effective June 1, 2007.

Tourist/Golf Packages

The individual items sold within a promotional tourist package may be billed to the
customer in one daily total and taxed on their separate characteristics if the charges are
reasonable and the books and records clearly identify the components.

Any amount in the tourist package which “flows through” to a third party which provides
that service (golf, meals, theater, etc...) will not be taxed by the hotel, but by that
service provider. (See Revenue Ruling #98-21 for more details).

Purchases by hotel/motels of items to be given away to guests, such as golf caps, golf
balls, towels, food, etc are taxable at the time of purchase by the hotel/motel. However,
if the hotel sells these items in a gift shop, they may purchase these items at wholesale
(free of the tax) and collect sales tax on the sales price of such. Items withdrawn from
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inventory as gifts would be taxable at cost to the hotel/motel at the time of withdrawal.
NOTE: Revenue which was booked to “flow through” should not be reported at
the 7% tax rate.

The 1% local option Sales Tax

The 1% local option sales tax applies to accommodations and to additional guest
charges. Therefore, the total tax rate on accommodations in a local option tax
county is 8% (or 9% if a county imposes several local option sales tax) and the
total tax rate on additional guest charges is 6% or 7%.

Reporting requirements

Businesses subject to the 7% sales tax on accommodations and/or the 1% local
sales tax are to file Form ST-388 with the Department of Revenue. Those with
more than one location are to report the 7% tax and the 1% tax by county and
municipality. Use Form ST-389 (Addendum to report the 1% tax by county and
municipality and attach it to Form ST-388.

Returns are due, and taxes payable, by the 20th day of the month following the
month in which accommodations were rented.

Discount for filing and paying timely

For returns filed timely (with taxes paid), a discount is allowed. The discount is
3% if the total liability on a return (state plus local) is less than $100. The
discount is 2% if the total tax amount is $100 or more. The maximum discount
allowed in any state fiscal year is $3,000. If returns are filed electronically the
discount allowed in any state fiscal year is $3,100.

Purchases by hotels and motels

Purchases by hotels, motels, etc. of tangible personal property (e.g. beds,
sheets, pillows, televisions, plastic cups, toilet paper, etc.) are retail purchases
subject to tax. Hotels, motels, etc. use or consume such items in providing
accommodations. They do not rent or sell such items to their guests. They rent
accommodations.

Exchange time share units

Vacation multiple ownership interests and exchanges of interests in vacation time
sharing plans and vacation multiple ownership interests and any other exchange
of accommodations in which the accommodations to be exchanged are the
primary consideration are exempt from the tax.
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Administration

The Department of Revenue oversees the spending of accommodations tax
revenues by local accommodations tax committees to ensure the tax money is
spent as required by law.

Local Accommodations Tax

State law permits local governments to impose a local accommodations tax of up
to 3%. This is in addition to the statewide sales and accommodations taxes and
the local option sales tax, if applicable. The local accommodations tax is
collected by the local government imposing the tax, not the Department of
Revenue. The frequency of payment of the local accommodations tax is based
on the amount of tax owed:

> If the amount of the tax averages more than $50 a month, the tax must be
paid monthly.

> If the tax averages $25-$50 a month, the tax must be paid quarterly.

> If the tax averages less than $25 a month, the tax must be paid annually.
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Local Option Sales & Use Tax

The counties with local option sales and use tax and the effective date of imposition are:

Effective Date Counties

July 1, 1991 Charleston®, Colleton, Jasper?, Hampton', McCormick and Marion

May 1, 1992 Abbeville, Allendale’, Bamberg, Edgefield, Lancaster, Marlboro and
Saluda

May 1, 1994 Chester and Florence

May 1, 1995 Pickens

May 1, 1996 Dillon’, Lee and Sumter

July 1, 1996 Cherokee (may not be imposed for more than 20 years)

May 1, 1997 Berkeley, Chesterfield?, Clarendon, Darlingtonz, Kershaw and
Williamsburg

May 1, 1998 York

May 1, 1999 Barnwell, Chester (1% Capital Projects), Jasper (1% Capital
Projects), Laurens, Newberry, and Orangeburg

May 1, 2000 Chester (1% Capital Projects repealed, Note 1% local option is still in

effect)
September 1, 2000 [Chesterfield” (1% School District Tax)
December 1, 2000 [Beaufort (1% Transportation repealed)

May 1, 2001 Aiken (1% Capital Projects), Allendale (1% Capital Projects)

December 1, 2002 Jasper® (1% School District Tax imposed; Capital Project Tax
repealed)

May 1, 2003 Dillon’ (1% Capital Projects Tax); Hampton' (1% Capital Projects
Tax)

February 1, 2004 |Darlington” (1% School District Tax)

June 1, 2004 Clarendon” (1% School District Tax)

March 1, 2005 Lexington (1% School District Tax)

May 1, 2005 Richland, Calhoun, Dorchester (Transportation Tax) and
Charleston® (1/2% Transportation Tax)

May 1, 2006 Fairfield

October 1,2006 |Lee’ (1% School District Tax)
January 1, 2007 Allendale (Capital Projects Tax repealed)
May 1, 2007 Florence', Greenwood, Horry County (1% Capital Projects Tax)

Notes:
Counties in bold indicate a special local tax has been implemented.

! County has two local option taxes. Measure must be recorded twice in the ST-389 form, once in the
Capital Projects Tax section on page 1 and again in the Local Option Tax section on page 2.

2 County has two local option taxes. Measure must be recorded twice in the ST-389 form, once in the
School District Tax section on page 1 and again in the Local Option Tax section on page 2.

3 County has two local option taxes. Measure must be recorded twice in the ST-389 form, once in the
Transportation Tax section on page 1 and again in the Local Option Tax section on page 2.
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Special local taxes

Voters may approve through a county referendum the following taxes:

[ | 1% local sales and use tax to be used for transportation needs such as roads
and bridges. This tax may be imposed in addition to the local option sales and
use tax. (effective: June 13, 1997)

The following county imposes the special local 1% sales and use tax for
transportation:
Dorchester (effective May 1, 2005)

The following county imposes a special local /2% sales and use tax for
transportation:
Charleston (effective May 1, 2005)

[ | 1% local sales and use tax to fund specific capital projects such as roads,
bridges, public facilities, recreation facilities, and water and sewer projects. This
tax may be imposed in addition to the local option sales and use tax but may not
be imposed along with any other local sales tax. This referendum may first be
held in November 1998. The Department of Revenue will collect this tax.
(effective: July 1, 1997)

The following counties impose the special local 1% sales and use tax for capital
projects:

Aiken (effective May 1, 2001)
Dillon (effective May 1, 2003)
Florence (effective May 1, 2007)
Greenwood (effective May 1, 2007)
Hampton (effective May 1, 2003)
Horry (effective May 1, 2007)
Newberry (effective May 1, 1999)
Orangeburg (effective May 1, 1999)
York (effective May 1, 1998)

Effective January 1, 2007,Allendale County no longer imposes the 1% Capital
Projects Tax.

[ ] 1% local sales and use tax for schools. The tax is used for school construction
and improvements.

The following counties impose the special local 1% sales and use tax for schools:

Chesterfield (effective September 1, 2001)
Darlington (effective February 1, 2004)
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Jasper (effective December 1, 2002)

Lee (effective October 1, 2006)

Lexington (effective March 1, 2005)

(See South Carolina Revenue Ruling #96-9 for more information on the
Cherokee County local tax.)

Clarendon (effective June 1, 2004) The exemption for food has been eliminated
and sales of goods which are eligible to be purchased with United States
Department of Agriculture food stamps are now subject to the Clarendon County
School Tax effective July 1, 2005.
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Local Option Sales Tax
Liability

If a retailer is located in a local option tax county, he is liable for the 1% sales tax
on all sales of tangible personal property delivered within the county in which he
is located. If the retailer makes deliveries into another county (local option county
or not), the 1% sales tax is not due. However, the 1% use tax may be due. (The
1% use tax is covered in the Local Option Use Tax section of this publication.)

Delivery: when and where

For purposes of the 1% sales tax, “delivery” takes place when and where transfer
of title or possession occurs.

Delivery At Purchaser’s Location. Delivery of tangible personal property is
considered to take place at the purchaser’s location if the retailer’s shipping
terms are FOB Destination; the retailer uses his own vehicle to make deliveries;
or if the shipping terms are unspecified.

Delivery At Retailer’s Location. Delivery is considered to take place at the
retailer’s location if the retailer’s shipping terms are FOB Shipping Point.

Exemptions

All sales which are exempt from the state sales tax (5% or 6%) are also exempt
from the 1% local sales tax.

Sales subject to a cap

The 1% local sales tax does NOT apply to sales that are subject to a “cap” or
maximum tax, i.e. sales of aircraft, motor vehicles, motorcycles, boats, trailers
and semi-trailers pulled by truck tractors, self-propelled light construction
equipment, unassembled aircraft, mobile homes, musical instruments and office
equipment purchased by certain religious organizations, and certain research
and development equipment.

Transactions subject to casual excise tax

The 1% local sales tax does NOT apply to transactions that are subject to the 5%
casual excise tax. The casual excise tax is imposed on “the issuance of every
certificate of title, or other proof of ownership, for every motor vehicle,
motorcycle, boat, motor or airplane, required to be registered, titled or licensed.”
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Withdrawals for use

Code section 12-36-110(c) defines “retail sale” as including “the withdrawal, use,
or consumption of tangible personal property by anyone who purchases it at
wholesale.” Therefore, withdrawals of tangible personal property that has been
purchased at wholesale are subject to the 1% local tax, if withdrawn, used, or
consumed in a local option tax county.

Direct Pay Certificates

Holders of so-called direct pay certificates are allowed to make all purchases tax-
free and are liable for any taxes that may be due. In other words, liability for the
tax transfers to the purchaser. The tax is due, by the purchaser, upon the
property being “withdrawn, used or consumed” and, for purposes of the 1% tax,
such withdrawals, use or consumption are reportable by county and municipality
where the property is first withdrawn, used or consumed.

Limited Exemption Certificates

Unlike a direct pay certificate, which allows the holder to make all purchases free
of the tax, a so-called limited exemption certificate only allows specific items to
be purchased tax-free. If the holder of a limited certificate purchases an item that
is exempt under §12-36-2120 or §12-36-2130, then the purchase is exempt from
tax. However, if the holder uses the certificate to purchase an item not exempt
under §12-36-2120 or §12-36-2130, then the purchaser is liable for the tax upon
the property being withdrawn, used or consumed. The 1% tax is reportable by
county and municipality where the property is first withdrawn, used or consumed.

Leases

The 1% tax does not apply to lease payments made after the imposition date of
the 1% tax on leases that are entered into before the imposition date of the 1%
tax. However, the tax does apply to lease payments made after the imposition
date on leases that are entered into after the imposition date. (See SC Revenue
Ruling #91-9 for more information on leases.)

Installment Sales

Code section 12-36-2560 allows the retailer under certain conditions to elect “to
include in the return only the portion of the sales price actually received by the
retailer during the taxable period or to include the entire sales price in the return
for the taxable period during which the sale was consummated.”
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Retailer Has Elected To Pay On Each Payment. For installment sales made
after the imposition date of the 1% tax - on which the retailer has elected to pay
the tax as payments are received - the tax applies to all the payments. For
installment sales made before the imposition date, the 1% tax does not apply to
any of the payments - those made before and those made after the imposition
date.

Retailer Has Elected To Pay Up Front. For installment sales made before the
imposition date, the 1% tax is not due. For installment sales made after the
imposition date, the 1% tax is due.

Construction Contracts

There is an exemption from the 1% tax for construction contracts executed
before the imposition date of the tax and, also, for contracts for which a written
bid was submitted before the imposition date that culminates in a contract either
before or after the imposition date. (See SC Information Letter #92-7 for
information on how to apply and qualify for this exemption.)

For those contracts not exempt from the 1% tax: If building materials are
delivered by a supplier in the county in which the supplier is located, and that
county has imposed the 1% tax, then the 1% sales tax is due. The supplier is
liable for the tax and it is reportable by the county and municipality where the
property is delivered. If delivery is made into another local option tax county, that
county’s 1% use tax may be due. (See the section entitled Local Option Use
Tax.) If delivery is made into a non-local option tax county, neither the 1% sales
tax nor the 1% use tax is due.

Utilities

Utilities are to report the 1% tax by county and municipality where their
customers are located. Utility is defined in SC Revenue Ruling #91-17 as “an
entity which sells products or services subject to the 5% state tax and transmits
or delivers its products or services via electronic transmissions or pipelines (i.e.
electric and gas companies, telephone companies, cable TV companies and
other communications companies).”

(NOTE: Entities that sell water via pipelines to the public are also utilities;
however, their sales are exempt from state and local sales and use taxes.)

Businesses that bill monthly

Businesses billing on monthly cycles (e.g. electric & gas companies and cable
television companies) are to begin billing the 1% tax “beginning on the first day of
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a billing period beginning on or after the date of general imposition (§4-10-100).
For example, assume an electric company has a billing cycle ending May 10,
2001. If the company is billing customers in a county that imposed the tax on
May 1, 2001, the first billing cycle subject to the tax is the period beginning May
11, 2001.

Accommodations

The 1% local sales tax applies to charges for accommodations (hotels, motels,
etc.). The 1% tax also applies to “additional guest charges,” as defined in §12-36-
920(B). Those subject to the 1% tax on accommodations are required to report
the tax by county and municipality where rental units are located.

Returns, discounts, penalties and interest

The 1% tax is to be reported by county and municipality where delivery takes
place. A breakdown by place of delivery is made on Form ST-389 (“Addendum”)
and attached to Form ST-3 or ST-388.

Returns are due and taxes payable by the 20th day of the month following the
month for which taxable transactions occur. For those taxpayers with 13
accounting periods, returns may be filed for 28-day periods - if approved by the
Department of Revenue. Also, taxpayers whose liability is not more than $100
per month may request permission to file quarterly. In determining whether a
taxpayer’s liability is not more than $100 per month, one must consider the
taxpayer’s total tax liability - state taxes plus local taxes.

For returns filed timely (with taxes paid), a discount is allowed. The discount is
3% if the total liability on a return (state plus local) is less than $100. The
discount is 2% if the total tax amount is $100 or more. The maximum discount
allowed in any fiscal year is $3,000. If returns are filed electronically the
maximum discount allowed in any state fiscal year is $3,100.

The penalty and interest provisions of Chapter 54 of Title 12 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws also apply to the 1% local option taxes.

Refunds

The retailer receives a refund of sales taxes (1% local and the 5% (6%) state).
However, the purchaser receives the use tax refund.

Refunds may be applied for by sending Form ST-14 or a letter to:

S.C. Department of Revenue, Office Audit - Sales Tax, P.O. Box 125, Columbia,
South Carolina 29214.
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The letter should include:

> the retailer’'s name, address, telephone number and retail license number;

> reason(s) for the refund; and

> a schedule showing (by reporting period - e.g. month) a breakdown by
county and municipality where the tax was originally reported. This
schedule must also state the type tax (sales or use) and the amount of
refund due.

NOTE: All refunds are subject to verification by audit, either before or after
issuance.

Summary

The retailer is liable for the 1% local option sales tax. If a retailer is located in a
local option tax county and makes delivery in that county, then the 1% sales tax
is due (unless exempt or excluded). If he makes delivery into another county, the
1% sales tax is not due. However, the 1% use tax may be due. (Refer to the
section entitled Local Option Use Tax.) The 1% tax is to be reported by the
retailer by county and municipality where delivery is made.
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Local Option Use Tax
Liability

If a retailer delivers tangible personal property into a local option tax county, the
person taking delivery and first storing, using or consuming the property in the
local option tax county is liable for the 1% use tax. The purchaser is not liable for
the 1% use tax if he takes delivery in another county and pays that county’s 1%
sales tax. He is also relieved of the tax if he has a receipt from the retailer
showing the retailer has collected the 1% use tax.

Retailer can be required to collect

If certain criteria are met, a retailer making deliveries into a local option tax
county can be required to collect the 1% use tax and report it to the Department
of Revenue. Basically, if a retailer has any sort of physical presence in a local
option tax county (e.g. office, salesperson, etc.), he may be required to collect
the tax. (See SC Revenue Ruling #91-17 and SC Revenue Ruling #05-16 for
additional criteria.)

If a retailer is required to collect the tax, the retailer does not become liable for
the tax. The retailer is, instead, held accountable for the tax as a collection agent
for the state. Primary liability remains with the purchaser.

Purchases exempt from State Sales Tax

All purchases that are exempt from the state use tax are also exempt from the
1% local option use tax.

Purchases subject to a cap

The 1% use tax does not apply to purchases that are subject to a “cap” or
maximum tax, i.e. sales of aircraft, motor vehicles, motorcycles, boats, trailers
and semi-trailers pulled by truck tractors, self-propelled light construction
equipment, unassembled aircraft, mobile homes, musical instruments and office
equipment purchased by certain religious organizations, and certain research
and development equipment.

Transactions subject to casual excise tax

The 1% use tax does not apply to transactions that are subject to the 5% casual
excise tax. The casual excise tax is imposed on “the issuance of every certificate
of title, or other proof of ownership, for every motor vehicle, motorcycle, boat,
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motor or airplane, required to be registered, titled or licensed.”

Direct Pay Certificates

Holders of so-called direct pay certificates are allowed to make all purchases tax-
free and are liable for any taxes that may be due. In other words, liability for the
tax transfers to the purchaser. The tax is due, by the purchaser, upon the
property being “withdrawn, used or consumed” and, for purposes of the 1% tax,
such withdrawals, use or consumption are reportable by county and municipality
where the property is first withdrawn, used or consumed.

Limited Exemption Certificates

Unlike a direct pay certificate, which allows the holder to make all purchases free
of the tax, a so-called limited exemption certificate only allows specific items to
be purchased tax-free. If the holder of a limited certificate purchases an item that
is exempt under §12-36-2120 or §12-36-2130, then the purchase is exempt from
tax. However, if the holder uses the certificate to purchase an item not exempt
under §12-36-2120 or §12-36-2130, then the purchaser is liable for the tax upon
the property being withdrawn, used or consumed. Such withdrawals, use or
consumption are reportable by county and municipality where the property is first
withdrawn, used or consumed.

Leases

The 1% tax does not apply to lease payments made after the imposition date of
the 1% tax on leases entered into before the imposition date of the 1% tax.
However, the tax does apply to lease payments made after the imposition date
on leases entered into on or after the imposition date. (See SC Revenue Ruling
#91-9 for more information on leases.)

Installment sales A

For installment sales that meet the requirements of §12-36-

2560, the in-state retailer may elect “to include in the return only
the portion of the sales price actually received by the retailer during
the taxable period or to include the entire sales price in the return for
the taxable period during which the sale was consummated.”

For installment sales made on or after the imposition date of the 1% tax, and on
which the retailer does not collect the 1% sales or use tax from the purchaser,
the purchaser must pay the 1% use tax directly to the Department of Revenue.
The purchaser may not pay the 1% use tax as payments are made to the
retailer. The purchaser must pay the tax on the entire purchase price.
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Construction Contracts

There is an exemption from the 1% tax for construction contracts executed
before the imposition date of the tax and, also, for contracts for which a written
bid was submitted before the imposition date that culminates in a contract
executed before or after the imposition date. (See SC Information Letter #94-34
for information on how to qualify and apply for the exemption.)

For those contracts not exempt from the 1% tax: If building materials are
delivered into a local option tax county, the county’s 1% use tax may be due. If
delivery is made into a non-local option tax county, neither the 1% sales tax nor
the 1% use tax is due.

Utilities

Utilities are to report the 1% tax by county and municipality where their
customers are located. Utility is defined in SC Revenue Ruling #91-17 as “an
entity which sells products or services subject to the state tax and transmits or
delivers its products or services via electronic transmissions or pipelines (i.e.
electric and gas companies, telephone companies, cable TV companies and
other communications companies).” (NOTE: Entities that sell water via
pipelines to the public are also utilities; however, their sales are exempt
from state and local sales and use taxes.)

Business that bill monthly

Businesses billing on monthly cycles (e.g. electric & gas companies and cable
television companies) are to begin billing the 1% tax “beginning on the first day of
a billing period beginning on or after the date of general imposition” (§4-10-100).
For example, assume an electric company has a billing cycle ending May 10,
2001. If the company is billing customers in a county that imposed the tax on
May 1, 2001, the first billing cycle subject to the tax is the period beginning May
11, 2001.

Returns, discounts, penalties and interest

The 1% tax is to be reported by county and municipality where tangible personal
property is first stored, used or consumed. A breakdown by county and
municipality is made on Form ST-389 (“Addendum”) and attached to Form ST-3
or ST-388.

Returns are due, and taxes payable, by the 20th day of the month following the
month for which taxable transactions occur. For those taxpayers with 13
accounting periods, returns may be filed for 28-day periods, if approved by the
Department of Revenue. Also, taxpayers whose liability is not more than $100
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per month may request permission to file quarterly. In determining whether a
taxpayer’s liability is not more than $100 per month, one must consider the
taxpayer’s total tax liability - state taxes plus local taxes.

For returns filed timely (with taxes paid), a discount is allowed. The discount is
3% if the total liability on a return (state plus local) is less than $100. The
discount is 2% if the total tax amount is $100 or more. The maximum discount
allowed during any state fiscal year is $3,000. The state has been amended to
increase that discount to a maximum of $3,100 if the retailer timely files his
returns and pays the tax due electronically.

The penalty and interest provisions of Chapter 54 of Title 12 of the South
Carolina Code of Laws also apply to the 1% local option taxes.

Refunds

The retailer is the party entitled to receive a refund of sales taxes (1% local and
the 5% state). However, the retailer may “assign” (transfer) his refund rights to
another party (e.g. the customer), if he so desires. An assignment can be made
by writing a letter to the assignee (e.g. customer). The purchaser is entitled to
apply for a refund of use taxes (1% local and 5% (6%) state).

Refunds may be applied for by sending Form ST-14 or a letter to:

S.C. Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South

Carolina 29214.

The letter should include:

> the retailer’'s name, address, telephone number and retail license number;

> reason(s) for the refund; and

> a schedule showing (by reporting period - e.g. monthly) a breakdown by
county and municipality where the tax was originally reported. This
schedule must also state the type tax (sales or use) and the amount of

refund due.

NOTE: All refunds are subject to verification by audit, either before or after
issuance.
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Summary

A transaction is subject to the 1% use tax if tangible personal property is stored,
used or consumed in a local option tax county.

Liability for the 1% use tax is with the person who stores, uses or consumes
tangible personal property in a local option tax county (usually the purchaser).
However, if either the 1% sales tax or the 1% use tax has been paid, the
purchaser is relieved of the liability.

The 1% use tax is to be reported by the county and municipality where the
property is first stored, used or consumed.

(See SC Revenue Ruling #91-17 or Revenue Ruling 05-16 for more information on
the 1% local sales and use taxes.)
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Local Government Taxes-
Not Collected by SCDOR

Local governments may by ordinance impose the following taxes:

>

Note:

2% local hospitality tax on charges for food and
beverages. The county may not impose a tax of more
than 1% on taxpayers within a municipality without
the consent of the municipality. (Effective: July 1,
1997)

3% local accommodations tax. A county may not impose a local
accommodations tax within a municipality of more than 1.5%
without the consent of the municipality. The combined county and
municipal accommodations tax may not exceed 3% unless it
exceeded that amount before Dec. 31, 1996, in which case it may
not exceed the percentage already in place. (Effective: July 1,
1997)

Payment for these taxes is made to local county or city
governments, not the SC Department of Revenue.
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Administrative Requirements

Before engaging in any retail business in South Carolina, a retail license must be
purchased from the Department of Revenue.

Retail Licenses

The law provides for the following types of retail licenses:

Permanent locations. A $50 license must be purchased for each permanent
retail location.

Artists and craftsmen. Every artist and craftsman making retail sells at arts and
crafts shows and festivals of items they have created or assembled may
purchase a $20 license. This license may only be used at one location at a time.

Transient or temporary businesses. A $50 license must be purchased by
persons operating a transient or temporary business in South Carolina. A retail
license for a transient business may only be used for one location at a time. A
retail license for a temporary business may only be used in one location.

A transient business is a business, other than artists and craftsmen, not having
a permanent retail location in South Carolina. A temporary business is a
business that makes retail sales in South Carolina for no more than 30
consecutive days at any one location.

How to get a license

You may apply for a retail license on-line by visiting our website at www.sctax.org
and clicking on DORBOS.

If you choose not to file your application on-line, an application for a retail license
(Form SCTC-111) may be obtained from one of the Department of Revenue’s
five Taxpayer Service Centers. The centers are located in Greenville, Charleston,
Florence, Myrtle Beach and Rock Hill.

You can mail your completed application with the appropriate license tax amount
- to: South Carolina Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 125,

Columbia, South Carolina 29214, or you may submit the

application at one of the Taxpayer Service Centers.
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Who does not need a license?

A retail license is not required of:

>

>

persons selling at flea markets or conducting a yard sale no more than
once a quarter

certain organizations conducting sales at festivals [see §12-36- 2120(39)]

persons furnishing accommodations to transients for one week or less in
any calendar quarter

certain nonprofit organizations [see §12-36-2120(41)]

When an out-of-state retailer must obtain a license

The Department of Revenue can require an out-of-state retailer to purchase a
retail license and collect the South Carolina use tax if the retailer:

>

>

has retail locations in South Carolina;

maintains an office, warehouse or other place of business in South
Carolina;

has a salesperson in South Carolina soliciting orders on a regular basis;
has an agent located in South Carolina;

delivers his/her goods on his/her own trucks and advertises on a regular
basis in South Carolina via South Carolina media; or

delivers their goods on their own trucks and advertises on a regular basis
in South Carolina via media located outside of South Carolina that has
extensive coverage in South Carolina.

NOTE: The above is based on the concept of nexus - the minimal connection
necessary between an out-of-state retailer and the state which allows the state to
require the retailer to collect the use tax. What actually constitutes nexus is
determined by the courts and may change from time to time. You are advised to
be aware of changes.
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Purchaser’s certificate of registration

A Purchaser’s Certificate of Registration is required for those persons not
making retail sales who purchase tangible personal property from outside South
Carolina and store, use or consume the property in South Carolina. Generally,
they are issued to construction contractors. Those licensed as retailers do not
need a Purchaser’s Certificate of Registration.

An application for a Purchaser’s Certificate of Registration (Form SCTC-111)
may be obtained from one of the Department of Revenue’s five Taxpayer Service
Centers. The centers are located in Greenville, Charleston, Florence, Myrtle
Beach, and Rock Hill.

You may mail your completed application to: South Carolina Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214, or you may submit the
application at one of the Taxpayer Service Centers. There is no charge for a
Purchaser’s Certificate of Registration.

Special events returns

In lieu of purchasing a retail license, certain retailers may report their sales on a
special events return.

A special events return may be used by a retailer who is not required to be
licensed as an artist or craftsman, or who is not already licensed as a transient
or temporary retailer.

The Department of Revenue does not have a separate form called a special
events return. A retailer should file Form ST-3 and write “Special Events
Return,” or similar notation, on the face of the form. The discount for prompt
payment is not allowed on such returns.

Special events returns are due within five days of the completion of the special
event. However, the Department of Revenue may require earlier filing and
payment, if deemed necessary.

A special event is any promotional show, trade show, fair or carnival for which an

admissions fee is required. Also, the event must operate for less than 12
consecutive days.

Reporting requirements

Most taxpayers are required to file their sales and/or use tax returns by the 20th
day of the month following the month in which liability for the tax arises. For
example, sales made in April are reportable to the Department of Revenue by
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May 20. Any tax due is payable with the return.

28-day returns. The Department of Revenue may allow filing of returns for 28-
day periods. If permission is granted, the returns are due by the 20th day
following the end of each 28-day period.

Quarterly returns. The Department of Revenue may allow a taxpayer to file
quarterly, instead of monthly, if the taxpayer’'s monthly tax liability is $100 or less.

Other Filing Periods. The Department of Revenue may authorize, in addition to
monthly or quarterly, other filing periods.

Reporting and Paying the Tax Electronically
eSales

The South Carolina Department of Revenue Electronic Sales Tax System
(ESales) is designed to give taxpayers a FAST, FREE and SECURE way to file
and pay their sales, use, accommodations, local option and special local taxes
on-line.

ESales will allow the filing of the following forms:

ST3 - Sales and Use Tax Return

ST3EZ — Simplified Sales Tax Return

ST388 - Sales, Use, Accommodations and Local Option Tax
Return

ST389 — Schedule for Local Taxes

The SC Department of Revenue's ESales System will allow you to make
payment by EFW (Electronic Funds Withdrawal/Bank Draft) or credit card
(MasterCard and VISA).

For more information, go to www.sctax.org and click on Electronic Services.
Then, click on the Sales and Use link to see more details about ESales. For
technical questions call (803) 898-5111.

Business Tax TeleFile

As a South Carolina business owner, you can
conveniently file your Sales tax return by using the
Business Tax TeleFile System. Business Tax TeleFile is
available twenty-four hours a day/ seven days a week.
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To qualify to file a Business Tax TeleFile sales return, you must have zero gross
proceeds of sales, rentals, use tax or withdrawals for the filing period covered.

As a first time user you're required to register on the Business Tax TeleFile
System before filing. Registration can be handled directly on the system during
the initial telephone call. The registration and filing process takes less than five
minutes. Subsequent filings take less than three minutes. The procedure is
completely paperless; mailing additional documentation to the Department of
Revenue is not required. You need to keep a copy of your report for your files,
however.

To use the Business Tax TeleFile System, dial (803) 898-5918 and follow the
instructions. If assistance is needed with sales tax related questions, you can
contact the DOR Sales Tax Help Line at (803) 898-5788. For all TeleFile support
issues, you should contact the Business Tax TeleFile Help Line at (803) 898-
5111 or contact us by e-mail at elefile@sctax.org.

Electronic Filing Program (EFT/EDI)

The Department of Revenue has designed an Electronic Filing
Program (EFT/EDI) for the transmission of your payment and
filing your tax return information for sales, use,
accommodations, local option and/or special local taxes.

Businesses that have paid $15,000 or more during any one filing period during
the past year are required to pay electronically. Taxpayers with less than $15,000
in tax due during a filing period may participate voluntarily with the EFT/EDI
Program. For further information call 1-800-379-9409.

If you are interested in filing and paying one tax through EFT/EDI, you must file
and pay all of these taxes through EFT/EDI. For example, you cannot file and
pay sales tax through this program and pay local option through a conventional
process. Be aware that you must file both the return and the payment
electronically; you cannot choose to do one part electronically and the other in a
conventional method.

Electronic payments can be made by using the ACH (Automated Clearing
House) debit or credit method.

Advantages of participating in the EDI/EFT program include:

o Eliminates paperwork, no more paper returns and checks

o Reduces return error potential due to no re-keying; no manual intervention
o Accurate timing of payment from your bank account

o Comprehensive audit trail for both the return and the payment
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To register, please call 1-800-379-9409 or e-mail EDI@sctax.org.

Discount for Timely Payment

If returns are filed and the taxes paid in full by the due date, you will be allowed a
discount on taxes due. For taxes less than $100, you may take a 3% discount of
the tax. For taxes of $100 or more, your discount is 2% of the tax.

The maximum discount allowed per taxpayer (all locations included) during the
state’s fiscal year (July 1 - June 30) is $3,000. The statute was amended
(effective July 1, 2002) to increase that discount to a maximum of $3,100 if the
retailer files his sales and use tax returns electronically.

Nonresident retailers not required by law to collect South Carolina sales or use
tax, but who voluntarily register to do so, are allowed a maximum discount of
$10,000 each fiscal year. In calculating the maximum discount, begin with the
June return filed in July and end with the May return filed in June.

Cash Deposit or Bond

Transient retailers who have no permanent business location from which retail
sales are made may make a sufficient cash deposit or bond with the Department
of Revenue to cover at least their annual sales tax liability. This cash deposit or
bond must be made before receiving a retail license.

Types of Paper Returns
Taxpayers who are liable for the 5% state tax only may file Form ST-3EZ.

Taxpayers who are liable for the 5% state and/or 1% local option taxes are to file
Form ST-3. Those liable for the 7% tax on accommodations (hotels, motels, etc.)
are to file Form ST-388.

If the 1% local option tax is collected in more than one county or municipality,
Form ST-389 (Addendum) must be completed and attached to Form ST-3, Form
ST-388 or whichever is appropriate.

Recordkeeping

Every person subject to the sales and/or use taxes is required to keep “records,
receipts, invoices and other pertinent papers in the form the commission
requires.” This includes records in electronic format. Purchase invoices must
show the names and addresses of vendors from whom purchases are made.
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Separate records for wholesale sales and retail sales must be kept. If separate
records are not kept, it is presumed all sales are at retail.

Records must be kept for a period of three years.

The penalty for failing to keep records as required by the Department of Revenue
is @ maximum of $500 per return.

Assessments

The Department of Revenue may assess for unpaid taxes within three years of
the date the taxpayer’s return was filed, or due to be filed, whichever occurs later.

For example, if a taxpayer files the May 2003 sales and use tax return on the due
date, June 20, 2003, the Department of Revenue has until June 20, 2006, to
determine if additional taxes are due and assess the taxpayer for those taxes. If
the taxpayer had filed the May 2003 return late on August 30, 2003, then the
Department of Revenue has until August 30, 2006, to determine if additional
taxes are due and assess the taxpayer for those taxes.

However, there are exceptions to the three-year statute of limitations. The
Department of Revenue may assess for additional taxes after the three-year
period if:

> The taxpayer has consented in writing to extending the time period for
assessing the tax. This consent form must be completed before the three-
year statute of limitations expires. This consent form is usually completed
at the beginning of the audit process when the taxpayer and the auditor
agree to the period of time to be audited.

> The taxpayer understates 20% of total taxes. In this case, the Department
of Revenue has six years to assess the taxpayer for the unpaid taxes.

> The taxpayer has failed to file the return. In this case, the Department of
Revenue may go back to August of 1985.

> The taxpayer has filed a fraudulent return with the intent to evade the tax.
In this case, the Department of Revenue may go back indefinitely to
assess the taxpayer for unpaid taxes.

> The taxpayer who collects from the purchaser a state or local sales or use
tax that exceeds the amount allowed or required by state law, may be held
liable for a penalty. The penalty could be up to 150% of the tax amount
collected that exceeds the amount authorized to collect.
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Refunds

A taxpayer may seek a refund of any state tax by filing a written claim for refund
with the Department of Revenue. A refund claim will be considered timely filed if
it is filed within the period specified in §12-54-85. A claim for refund must include
which identifies the taxpayers and explains why the refund should be granted.
For a complete listing of what information must be provided in a claim for refund,
a taxpayer should consult §12-60-470(B).

If the person claiming the refund is a collector and the person remitting the tax
rather than the taxpayer (for example, an out-of-state seller required to collect
and pay a use tax), the taxpayer must establish that they have paid the tax in
question to the state. Additionally, such collector must establish that the taxpayer
repaid the tax to the person from whom it was collected originally or has obtained
the written consent of the person from whom the tax was collected.

The appropriate division of the Department of Revenue shall decide what refund
is due and give the taxpayer a written decision of their conclusion. If the
decision is adverse to the taxpayer, the taxpayer may appeal the division’s
decision by filing a written protest within 30 days of denial of the refund
and following the procedures for protesting an assessment of tax.

After the final denial of the taxpayer’s request for refund through a department
determination, a taxpayer may seek a contested case hearing. The taxpayer has
30 days from the date of the department determination to request a contested
case hearing. Requests for a contested case hearing before the Administrative
Law Judge Division must be made according to their rules.

A claim for refund can be amended prior to, but not after, the expiration of time
for filing the claim for refund under §12-54-85(F). The claim as amended must be
treated as if it were first filed when the amendment was filed, and the procedures
and time periods involved must begin again.

If a taxpayer exhausts his administrative remedy, and ultimately prevails on the
merits in a lawsuit seeking a refund or abatement of a license fee or any tax
based upon the allegation that the tax or fee has been imposed wrongfully as a
matter of law, the Department of Revenue will issue a refund to all similarly
situated taxpayers who timely and properly applied for a refund.

If a taxpayer is due a refund, it must first be applied against any amount of that
same tax that is currently assessed and due and outstanding from the taxpayer.
The remaining refund, if any, must then be applied against any other state taxes
that have been assessed against the taxpayer and that are currently due. If any
excess remains, the taxpayer will be refunded that amount plus interest or such
amount may be credited to the taxpayer’s future tax liabilities.
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Penalties and Interest

Taxpayers who fail to file sales and use tax returns, or fail to pay these taxes
when they are due, are subject to certain penalties. Penalties are imposed as
follows:

Failure to file - This penalty is imposed at the rate of 5% of the taxes due
for each month, or fraction of a month, the return is late. For example, if
the May 2003 return is filed on June 30, 2003, it is 10 days late and the
taxpayer is subject to a penalty equal to 5% of the tax due on that return. If
this same return had not been filed until July 23, 2003, the taxpayer would
be subject to a penalty equal to 10% of the tax due on that return.

Failure to pay - This penalty is imposed at the rate of 0.5% of the taxes
due for each month, or fraction of a month, the taxes are late. For
example, if the May 2003 return is filed on June 30, 2003, it is 10 days late
and the taxpayer is subject to a penalty equal to 0.5% of the tax shown as
due on that return. If this same return had not been filed until July 23,
2003, then the taxpayer would be subject to a penalty equal to 1% of the
taxes shown as due on that return.

If the taxpayer is audited and taxes are found to be due, then the failure to
pay penalty is not due if the taxes are paid within 10 days of the
Department of Revenue’s assessment for such taxes.

If the taxes found to be due under the audit are not paid within 10
days of the Department of Revenue’s assessment, then the penalty is
imposed at the rate of 0.5% of the taxes due for each month, or
fraction of a month, from the 11th day after the assessment is issued
until the taxes are paid.

Other Penalties

Other penalties, such as those imposed with respect to negligence, fraud and
operating without a retail license, can be found in Chapter 54 of Title 12 of the
South Carolina Code of Laws.

Interest

The Department of Revenue, by law, imposes interest if a taxpayer fails to pay
any sales and use taxes due. Interest is imposed at the same rate as provided in
the Internal Revenue Code. Interest changes quarterly, so contact the
Department of Revenue to determine the applicable rate. These are the same
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interest rates used by the Department of Revenue in calculating the interest due
a taxpayer if that taxpayer is issued a refund.

Waiver of Penalties

The Department of Revenue has the authority to waive penalties imposed if there
is reasonable cause to do so. Taxpayers who request a waiver or reduction of
penalties imposed should do so in writing, and should set forth the reasons why
such penalties should be waived or reduced. The Department of Revenue
employee reviewing the request will then determine if a waiver or reduction of
penalties is warranted under the guidelines established by the Department of
Revenue in SC Revenue Procedure #98-3.

Completion of an Audit

When an auditor has completed an audit, the auditor will meet with the taxpayer
to discuss the preliminary findings. It is at this time that the auditor will explain the
findings to the taxpayer and also seek clarification on certain transactions.
Depending on the discussions, some items may be deleted from the preliminary
findings.

If, at this point, the taxpayer does not agree with the findings, the taxpayer can
then meet with the auditor’s supervisor to discuss the issues. The taxpayer can
appeal any issues to which he does not agree to the audit division’s Appeals
Section.

If the taxpayer is unable to resolve the issues with the Appeals Section, the
matter can then be referred to the Office of the General Counsel. If the matter is
not resolved by the Office of the General Counsel, the taxpayer can request a
hearing before the Administrative Law Judge Division.

The administrative law judge’s decision is the final administrative determination
on the matter. If the administrative law judge does not agree with the taxpayer,
the taxpayer will be assessed the taxes determined to be due by the
administrative law judge. The taxpayer may then pay the taxes and consider the
matter closed, or pay the taxes and litigate the issues in court.

45



Voluntary Disclosure Program

To further increase compliance and to foster cooperation, the Department of
Revenue has developed a voluntary disclosure procedure for taxpayers who
have sufficient South Carolina business activity or connection, which is called
“nexus,” and have not registered with the Department of Revenue to collect or
remit South Carolina taxes.

As set forth in Revenue Procedure Bulletin #01-5, this voluntary disclosure
program is designed to (1) encourage non-filers to come forward voluntarily and
begin paying taxes without incurring penalties and (2) allow the Department of
Revenue to maximize compliance with limited resources. The procedure
applies only in cases where nexus is the issue.

To attain voluntary filing status, one of the following requirements must be met:

= The taxpayer must register to collect or remit taxes without previous
contact from the Department of Revenue;

= The taxpayer must respond timely and completely to the Department of
Revenue’s nexus questionnaire and register with the Department of
Revenue;
or

» The taxpayer agrees to register if, upon review of the nexus questionnaire
by an Audit Services Division employee, nexus is determined to exist.

If the taxpayer qualifies as a voluntary filer, the Department of Revenue will:
= Accept the payment of taxes due and filing of returns for the immediately
preceding tax years, of for the number of preceding years that nexus
existed, if less than three years;
= Apply interest in accordance with the South Carolina Code;
and

= Waive all penalties, except in case of fraud or misrepresentation of fact.

= Register
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All companies and individuals who have been conducting business in South
Carolina and have not filed required tax returns in the past are encouraged to
contact the Department of Revenue for a determination of nexus and initiation of
voluntary disclosure procedures.

If you would like more information about voluntary disclosure or have questions about
the existence of nexus in South Carolina, please call John Rogers of the South Carolina
Department of Revenue at (803) 898-5664 or e-mail

RogersJ@ sctax.org.
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Sales Tax Holiday

If your business sells clothing, footwear and/or educational supplies, South Carolina’s
sales tax exemption may impact your business. The three-day sales tax exemption
occurs from 12:01a.m. on the first Friday in August and ends at midnight the following
Sunday.

The following items are sales tax exempt during this period:
e Clothing

Clothing accessories including, but not limited to:

Hats

Scarves

Hosiery ‘l’ Back
Handbags 1_ O

Footwear
School

School supplies including, but not limited to:

Pens

Pencils

Paper
Binders
Notebooks
Books

Book bags
Lunch boxes
Calculators
Bath towels
Blankets

Bed linens
Pillows/ cases
Shower Curtains
Computers
Printers

Sales of the following items are NOT sales tax exempt during this period:
o Jewelry

Cosmetics

Eye wear

Wallets

Watches

Furniture

For more information about the Sales Tax Holiday see our Revenue Ruling 05-9.
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Casual Excise Tax

Code section 12-36-1710(A) imposes a 5% casual excise tax on the issuance of
every certificate of title or other proof of ownership for every:

motor vehicle,
motorcycle,
boat,

motor, or
airplane

required to be licensed, titled or registered. The measure of the casual excise tax
is fair market value of the item to be licensed, titled or registered. Fair market
value is the purchase price less any trade-in allowed, or the value shown in a
national publication (NADA) of used values adopted by the Department of
Revenue less any trade-in allowed.

Liability for the casual excise tax

The purchaser is liable for the casual excise tax and, unless he can prove the
5% state sales or use tax has been paid, the Division of Motor Vehicles,
Department of Natural Resources or the Division of Aeronautics may not issue a
license or transfer title until the tax has been paid.

Exclusions

Excluded from the casual excise tax are motor vehicles, motorcycles, boats,
motors, or airplanes transferred to a:

= member of the immediate family (spouse, parents, children, sisters,
brothers, grandparents and grandchildren);

= legal heir, legatee or distributee;

= partnership, from an individual, upon formation of a partnership;

= corporation, from a stockholder, upon formation of a corporation;

= motor vehicle or motorcycle dealer licensed under §56-3-2310 for the
purpose of resale;

= financial institution for the purpose of resale; and

= transfers as a result of repossession to a secured party for the purpose of
resale.

49



In addition to the above, the following also are excluded from the casual excise
tax:

= the fair market value of motor vehicles, motorcycles and airplanes
transferred to a seller or secured party in partial payment (trade-ins); and

= transfers of motor vehicles, motorcycles or airplanes specifically exempted
by §12-36-2120 from the sales or use tax.

1% local option taxes

Transfers subject to the casual excise tax are exempt from the 1% local sales
and use taxes.
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Exemptions and Exclusions

In determining whether a transaction is taxable, you must first determine whether
the transaction is subject to the tax. For example, all retail sales in South
Carolina are subject to the sales tax, but not wholesale sales. Having determined
that a transaction is subject to the tax (i.e. a retail sale) - and therefore not
excluded from the tax - it must be determined if the transaction is exempted
from the tax.

More on exclusions

Exclusions from the sales and use taxes are to be liberally construed. In other
words, if there is doubt concerning whether a particular transaction is subject to
tax, then the tax is not to be imposed.

The exclusions are found in several sections of the law and concern a variety of
transactions. The list below provides the code section in which the exclusion is
found and a brief explanation of the exclusion.

Code Section Explanation

12-36-60 Transmission of computer database information by a
cooperative service when assembled by and for the
exclusive use of the members of the cooperative
service.

12-36-110(2) Sales of tangible personal property to a manufacturer
or construction contractor when the property is
partially or completely fabricated or manufactured in
South Carolina by the manufacturer or construction
contractor and transported out of state and
assembled, installed or erected at the out-of-state job
site.

12-36-120(1) Sales of property to a licensed retailer or another
wholesaler for resale. This does not include sales to
users or consumers not for resale.

12-36-120(2) Sales of property to a manufacturer or compounder
as an ingredient or component part of the tangible
personal property or product manufactured or
compounded for sale.
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12-36-120(3)

12-36-120(4)

12-36-120(5)

12-36-140(C)

12-36-140(C)

12-36-910(C)

Sales of property “used directly” in manufacturing,
compounding or processing tangible personal
property into products for sale. Regulation 117-174.30
provides that property is “used directly” if it comes into
direct contact with the product being manufactured
and contributes to bring about a chemical or physical
change in the product.

Sales of materials, containers, cores, labels, sacks or
bags used incident to the sale and delivery tangible
personal property, or used by manufacturers,
processors and compounders in shipping tangible
personal property.

Sales of food or drink products to licensed retail
merchants for use as ingredients in preparing ready to
eat food or drink sold at retail.

Purchases of tangible personal property from outside
the state and transported to South Carolina for
storage and for the exclusive purpose of subsequently
transporting it outside of South Carolina for first use
outside of South Carolina.

Purchases of tangible personal property from outside
the state and transported to South Carolina for the
purpose of first being manufactured, processed or
compounded into other tangible personal property
that will be transported and used solely outside of
South Carolina.

Charges for or use of certain data processing.

NOTE: There is one other partial exclusion provided under the law. Taxable sales
to individuals 85 years of age or older are taxed at 4%, not the full rate of 5%.
This exemption applies even if other sales tax exemptions are in place. Effective
June 1, 2007, taxable sales to individuals 85 years of age or older are taxed at 5%,

not the full rate of 6%.

More on exemptions

Unlike exclusions, which are liberally construed in favor of the taxpayer,
exemptions are strictly construed against the taxpayer. Therefore, to enjoy an
exemption, a taxpayer must fall squarely and clearly within the exemption.

There are two types of exemptions provided under the sales and use tax law - (1)
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partial exemptions and (2) full exemptions. Partial exemptions are those that limit
or “cap” the amount of tax and are found in §12-36-2110. The 1% local option
sales and used tax does not apply to sales that are subject to a cap. There also
is a partial exemption for people 85 years old and older who are exempt from
paying the 1% sales tax imposed by the Education Improvement Act of 1984 as
found in §12-36-2620.

There are many full exemptions, which are found in §12-36-2120 and §12-36-

2130. The 1% local option sales and use tax does not apply to sales which are
exempt from the 5% state sales and use tax.

Partial exemptions (caps)

A maximum tax of $300 is imposed on the following sales:

> Aircraft - This includes unassembled aircraft assembled by the purchaser.

> Motor vehicles y A4y
> Motorcycles . N
> Boats

> Trailers and semi-trailers that can be pulled only by a truck tractor

and horse trailers. This does not include house trailers and
campers as defined in §56-3-710

> Recreational vehicles - This includes tent campers, travel trailers, park
trailers, motor homes and fifth wheels.

> Self-propelled light construction equipment with compatible
attachments — The equipment, in order to qualify for the cap, cannot have
a maximum net engine horse power of more than 160.

> Musical instruments or office equipment sold to religious organizations.

> Equipment provided or installed on a fire truck included in the purchase
price at the time of the sale. The cap does not apply to firefighter’s
protective clothing.

> Fire safety education trailers.

The maximum cap also applies to leases of the above items, if the lease has a

stated term in excess of 90 continuous days and remains in force for the stated
period. The taxpayer may pay the total tax due at the time the lease is executed
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or with each lease payment until the $300 is paid.

Special rules apply to the sale of mobile homes. Consult one of the Department
of Revenue’s Taxpayer Service Centers for assistance in calculating the sales

tax on mobile home sales.

Full exemptions

The full or regular exemptions can be divided into the following categories:

Government
Business
Agricultural

Educational

v v . v.yY

General public good

NOTE: These exemptions are not categorized as such in the law. These
categories have been developed simply for discussion.

Government

Code Section

12-36-2120(1)

12-36-2120(2)

12-36-2120(22)

12-36-2120(25)

12-36-2120(29)

12-36-2120(30)
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Brief Description

Transactions that are prohibited from
being taxed by U.S. or state
Constitutional provisions or federal
provisions

Sales to federal government (vendor
tax)

Material necessary to assemble missiles

Sales of cars to nonresident
military personnel

Federal government contracts

Supplies purchased by State General
Services Division for resale to state



12-36-2120(46)

Business Incentives

Code Section

12-36-2120(9)

12-36-2120(11)

12-36-2120(13)

12-36-2120(14)

12-36-2120(15)

12-36-2120(17)

12-36-2120(19)

12-36-2120(20)
12-36-2120(21)

12-36-2120(24)

12-36-2120(31)
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agencies

War memorials and monuments

Brief Description

Coal, coke, fuel for manufacturers,
transportation companies, electric power
companies, processors

Long-distance telephone calls, access
charges and charges for telegraph
messages, transactions at automatic
teller machines

Fuel for ships on high seas

Wrapping paper, containers, etc. used
incident to sale and delivery of tangible
personal property

Motor fuel taxed under the motor fuel
tax law

Machines used to manufacture,
process, recycle, compound, mine or
quarry tangible personal property for
sale, prevent and abate pollution

Electricity used to manufacture,
process, mine or quarry tangible
personal property for sale or used by
cotton gins to manufacture tangible
personal property for sale

Railcars, locomotives, engines, parts
Certain vessels and barges

Laundry supplies and machinery
(services are taxed under the law)

Vacation time-share leasing plans



12-36-2120(34)

12-36-2120(35)

12-36-2120(36)

12-36-2120(37)

12-36-2120(40)

12-36-2120(42)

12-36-2120(43)

12-36-2120(50)

12-36-2120(51)

12-36-2120(52)
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Partial exemption for modular homes
(50%)

Movies sold or rented to movie theaters
(movie theaters are subject to the
admissions tax)

Tangible personal property delivered out
of state by South Carolina retailers

Petroleum asphalt products transported
and used outside South Carolina

Shipping containers used by
international shipping lines under
contract with State Ports Authority

Sale of depreciable assets as a result of
a sale of an entire business

Supplies, equipment, machinery for use
in filming/producing motion pictures

The following when used by a qualified
recycling facility: recycling property;
electricity, natural gas, fuels, gasses,
fluids and lubricants; ingredients or
component parts of manufactured
products; property used to handle or
transfer post consumer waste or
manufactured products, or in the
manufacturing process; and machinery
and equipment foundations.

Material handling systems and material
handling equipment used in the
operation of a distribution facility or a
manufacturing facility

Parts and supplies used in the business
of repairing or reconditioning aircraft
owned by or leased to the federal
government or commercial air carriers.
This exemption does not extend to tools
and other equipment not attached to or
that become a part of the aircraft.



12-36-2120(53)

12-36-2120(54)

12-36-2120(55)

12-36-2120(56)

12-36-2120(58)

12-36-2120(59)

12-36-2120(60)

12-36-2120(64)
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Motor vehicle extended service
contracts

Clothing required for working in a clean
room environment

Audio/visual masters made or used by a
production company in making visual
and audio images for first generation
reproduction

Machines used in research and
development. (Effective for tax years
beginning after June 30, 2001)

Cooperate direct mail promotional
advertising materials delivered by
means of interstate carrier, a mailing
house or a United States Post Office to
residents of this South Carolina from
locations both inside and outside the
state.

Promotional maps, brochures,
pamphlets, or discount coupons for use
by nonprofit chambers of commerce or
convention and visitor bureaus

Facilities for transmitting electricity
which is transcended, sold or
exchanged by electric utilities,
municipalities, electric co-operative or
political subdivisions to a limited liability
company which is subject to regulations
under the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C.
Section 791(a).

Lottery tickets sold in accordance with
Chapter 150 of Title 59

Sweetgrass baskets made by artists of
South Carolina using locally grown
sweetgrass



Agricultural

Code Section
12-36-2120(4)

12-36-2120(5)

12-36-2120(6)

12-36-2120(7)

12-36-2120(15)(c)

12-36-2120(15)(d)
12-36-2120(16)
12-36-2120(18)

12-36-2120(23)

12-36-2120(32)

12-36-2120(44)

12-36-2120(45)
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Brief Description

Livestock

Feed used to produce and maintain
livestock

Insecticides, chemicals, fertilizers, soil
conditioners, seeds, seedlings or
nursery stock used in the production of
farm products

Containers and labels used in preparing
agriculture products for sale; turpentine
gum, gum resin and gum spirit of
turpentine

Fuel used in farm machinery and farm
tractors

Fuel used in commercial fishing vessels
Farm machinery
Fuel used to cure agriculture products

Farm products sold in their original state
of production when sold by producer

Electricity and gas used in the
production of livestock and milk

Electricity used to irrigate crops
Building materials, supplies, fixtures and

equipment used to construct commercial
housing for poultry or livestock



Educational

Code Section

12-36-2120(3)

12-36-2120(8)

12-36-2120(10)(a)

12-36-2120(26)

12-36-2120(27)

12-36-2130(2)

Budget Proviso
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Brief Description

Textbooks, books, magazines,
periodicals, newspapers and access to
on-line information for use in a course of
study or for students’ use in the school
library sold to public and private schools
and colleges and public libraries. These
items may be in printed form or in
alternative forms such as audio tapes,
videotapes, microfilm or CD ROM
information

Newspapers

Meals sold to students in schools (not
for profit)

Television, radio and cable TV supplies,
equipment, machinery and electricity

Zoo plants and animals

Exhibition purchases or rentals for
museums (charitable, eleemosynary,
governmental museums) (USE TAX

only)

Property purchased for use in private
primary and secondary schools,
including kindergartens and early
childhood education programs, for
entities exempt from income taxes
under IRS Code 501(c)(3) (USE TAX

only)



General Public Good

Code Section

12-36-2120(10)(b)

12-36-2120(10)(c)

12-36-2120(10)(d)

12-36-2120(12)

12-36-2120(28)

12-36-2120(28)(b)

12-36-2120(28)(c)

12-36-2120(28)(d)

12-36-2120)28)(e)

12-36-2120(33)

12-36-2120(38)
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Brief Description

Meals provided to elderly or disabled
persons at home by nonprofit
organization

Food sold to nonprofit organizations or
food sold or donated by the nonprofit
organization to another nonprofit
organization

Meals and foodstuffs sold to
organizations for service to homeless or
needy or certain adults

Water sold by public utilities. (Note:
Bottled water sold in retail stores is
taxable.)

Medicine and prosthetic devices sold by
prescription; certain free samples of
medicine and certain medicine donated
to hospitals; medicines used in treating
cancer and other related diseases

Hypodermic needles, insulin, swabs,
strips and diabetic supplies sold to
diabetics

Disposable medical supplies such as
bags, tubing, needles and syringes
which are dispensed by a licensed
pharmacist

Medicine donated by manufacturer for
research or treatment of indigent
patients

Dental prosthetic devices

Residential electricity and fuel, kerosene
and LP gas of 20 gallons or less

Hearing aids



12-36-2120(39) Concession sales by nonprofit
organizations at a festival

12-36-2120(41) Sales by nonprofit organizations

12-36-2120(47) Goods sold to nonprofit hospitals which
primarily treat children at no cost to the
patient

NOTE: Each exemption must be read in its entirety for complete details. The
above explanations are intended only as general information.
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Agriculture

The South Carolina sales and use tax law provides many

found in §12-36-2120 and are as follows: A
The sale of livestock is exempt from the tax.

exemptions for the agriculture industry. The exemptions are

>

Livestock is defined as domesticated animals ’P'
customarily raised on South Carolina farms for -l Usc
primarily as beasts of burden or food. Livestock also means mammals
raised for their pelts or furs.

Animals such as dogs, cats, reptiles, fowls (except baby chicks and
poults), and animals of a wild nature are not considered livestock. Sales
of minnows, fish (except those cultivated for human consumption) and
worms are subject to the tax, unless sold for resale

The sale of feed used in the production and maintenance of livestock, as
defined above, is exempt from the tax. Rabbit feed, used in the production
and maintenance of rabbits for human consumption, has been held to be
exempt from the tax.

Insecticides, chemicals, fertilizers, soil conditioners, seeds or seedlings
used solely in the production for sale of farm, dairy, grove, vineyard or
garden products are exempt. This exemption includes:

= Explosives (chemicals) used solely in producing farm, dairy,
grove, vineyard or garden products for sale

= Medicines (chemicals) used solely in the production for sale
of livestock

= |nsecticides, chemicals, fertilizers, soil conditioners, seeds or
seedlings used solely in the production for sale of timber and
timber products and nursery products

Containers and labels used in preparing agricultural products for sale,
turpentine gum, gum resin and gum spirit of turpentine are exempt. For
purposes of this exemption, containers means boxes, crates, bags,
bagging, ties, barrels and other containers.

The sale of farm machinery that is used in planting, cultivating or
harvesting farm crops for sale is exempt from the tax. The exemption also
applies to replacement parts and attachments.

Planting includes all necessary steps in the preparation of the soil prior to,
and including, the planting and sowing of the seed.
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Cultivation includes the loosening of the soil around growing plants,
control of moisture content in the soil, and weed and pest control.

Harvesting begins with the gathering of the crop and ends when the crop
is placed in a temporary or permanent storage area. However, it also
includes the additional preparation for storage or sale of certain crops
such as the curing of tobacco, grains and peanuts and the grading and
packaging of peaches, cucumbers, tomatoes, etc.

The machinery exemption also applies to:

Machinery used in constructing terraces, drainage and irrigation
ditches; dikes used to control the water level in cultivated fields;
and land clearing prior to cultivation of the soil

Machinery specially designed for irrigation purposes, including
pumps, pipes, spigots, etc. when sold for use in the cultivation of
farm crops

Farm dairy tanks used in the product and preservation of milk on
dairy farms

Farm wagons used in planting, cultivating or harvesting farm crops

Pasteurizing machines, cooling machines, mechanical separators,
homogenizing machines and bottling machines used by dairies in
the production of milk for sale. Milking machines do not come within
the exemption for farm machinery.

Fuel used in farm machinery and farm tractors is exempt. Also
exempt is fuel used to cure agriculture products.

Various machines used in the production of poultry and poultry
products have been held exempt from the tax. See Regulation 117-
174.252 for more details.

Sales of electricity and gas to farmers for use in the production of
livestock and milk are exempt from the tax. Sales of electricity for
residential purposes and irrigating crops are also exempt. Sales of
electricity for other uses are taxable.

Sales of building materials, supplies, fixtures and equipment used
in the construction, repair or improvement of commercial housing
for poultry or livestock, or that becomes a part of a self-contained
enclosure or structure designed, constructed and used for the
commercial housing of poultry or livestock are exempt from the tax.
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Sales of farms products are exempt from tax if the products are
sold in their original state of production and sold by the farmer or a
member of the farmer’s immediate family. This exemption allows a
farmer to sell his products tax free. The Department of Revenue, in
Technical Advice Memorandum #88-4, held that this exemption not
only applies to sales of farm products by people, but it applies to
corporations and their employees. The exemption does not apply if
the farmer processes his products beyond the usual and customary
preparation for sale. This exemption applies to sales of food
products, ornamental plants and grass sod.

The machinery exemption does not apply to:
Automobiles and trucks
Machinery used in constructing fences and buildings and repairing

machinery and equipment
Farm implements such as hoes, pitchforks and shovels
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Manufacturers

Manufacturers, processors and compounders enjoy
several exclusions and exemptions from the sales and
use taxes.

Exclusions

Purchases of tangible personal property are excluded from being taxed if the
tangible personal property:

> becomes an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property
manufactured or compounded for sale; or

O] is used directly in manufacturing, compounding or processing tangible
personal property for sale. Regulation 117-174.30 provides that something
is used directly if it comes in direct contact with the product being
manufactured, compounded or processed for sale, and it contributes to
bring about a chemical or physical change to the product.

Purchases of materials, containers, etc. that are used incident to the sale and
delivery of tangible personal property are also excluded from taxation.

Sales by manufacturers and compounders of tangible personal property are not
taxable if the property is sold for resale (wholesale sales). Sales to users or
consumers are taxable.

Exemptions
Purchases of the following are exempt from the sales and use taxes:

Coal, coke or other fuel

© purchased by manufacturers for use in manufacturing tangible personal
property for sale or for the production of by-products

O] purchased by manufacturers and processors for the generation of heat or
power used in manufacturing or processing tangible personal property for
sale. For purposes of this exemption, mining and quarrying are considered
to be manufacturing.

Machines

O] used in manufacturing, processing, compounding, mining or quarrying
tangible personal property for sale

O] parts and attachments to the machines.
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This exemption does not apply to automobiles and trucks.

Electricity

O] used by manufacturers, miners, quarries and processors to manufacture,
mine, quarry or process tangible personal property for sale

More on the machine exemption

As previously mentioned, sales of machines used in manufacturing, processing or
compounding tangible personal property for sale are exempt from the sales and use
taxes. During 2003, South Carolina courts decided two cases which clarify what
qualifies as “machines used in manufacturing” for purposes of the South Carolina sales
and use tax machine exemption in Code Section 12-36-2120(17). These cases are

1
Springs Industries, Inc. v. SCDOR (99-ALJ-17-0153-CC) and Anonymous Taxpayer v.
SCDOR (02-ALJ-17-0350-CC).

The basis for the court’s decision in both of the cases was the determination in
Hercules Contractors and Engineers Inc. v. S.C. Tax Commission, 280 S.C. 426,
313 S.E.2d 300 (Ct. App. 1984). In Hercules the Court held that a waste water
treatment facility was a machine and that “[iJts various parts and attachments are
integral and necessary to the operation of the system as a whole.”

The Court further defined the term “machine” to include “the concept of
combination” and held that the statute “does not require a machine to have
moving parts if it is an integral part of the manufacturing process” and that the
statute makes no distinction “as to whether a machine is a fixture or personal
property.”

In determining what is machinery and equipment for purposes of the exemption,
the Court held that the “improvements, whether fast or loose, must be (1) ... used
directly in manufacturing the products that the establishment is intended to
produce; (2) ... necessary and integral parts of the manufacturing process; and
(3) ...used solely for effectuating that purpose.” In addition, “improvements which
benefit the land generally and may serve various users of the land are subject to
taxation."

T
The Administrative Law Judge Division (“ALJD”) captioned this case “Anonymous Taxpayer v. SCDOR” to
satisfy the confidentiality provisions of the South Carolina Code. Thus, the caption of the attached decision
will also read “Anonymous Taxpayer v. SCDOR.” SCDOR has obtained permission from Springs Industries
to formally identify this ALJD decision as the Springs decision.

66



Based on these guidelines, the Court held that buildings, such as those which
house textile mills and nuclear reactors, do not come within the exemption.

The Court further held that the statute “does not require a machine to have
moving parts if it is an integral part of the manufacturing process and, using the
example of a butter churn, held that “no logical distinction exists between the
moving parts of a machine and those which are static.”

Finally, the Court held that in order for a machine to be exempted from the tax
the machine must be substantially “used in manufacturing ... tangible personal
property for sale.” The statute does not require that the machine be used
exclusively in manufacturing; however, incidental manufacturing use will not
qualify for the exemption.

In Springs, the court mandated machinery is exempt if such machinery is
“integral and necessary” to the manufacturing process. However, it is important
to note that the determination hinges on whether a machine is integral and
necessary to the manufacturing process, not whether it is integral and necessary
to the manufacturer. As such, machines used for warehouse, distribution, or
administrative purposes do not come within the machine exemption.

The case of Anonymous Taxpayer v. SCDOR (02-ALJ-17-0350-CC) dealt with
the issue of whether buildings or parts of buildings could be exempt under the
machine exemption. Considering the principles previously held in Hercules
Contractors and Engineers Inc. v. S.C. Tax Commission, the court held that the
buildings in question did not function as machines and were not exempt under
the machine exemption.

For example, foundations (consisting of pilings, pile caps, elevated slab, and
slab on grade) of a building in which exempt manufacturing machines are housed
are not exempt from the tax as a machine, or a part or attachment to a machine,
used in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale.

In reviewing the above referenced cases in conjunction with prior court cases,
regulations, Commission Decisions, and Department advisory opinions, it is the
opinion of the Department that a machine qualifies for the exemption under Code
Section 12-36-2120(17) if the machine is integral and necessary to the
manufacturing process and the product being manufactured is being
manufactured “for sale.” A machine, which includes every mechanical device or
combination of mechanical powers, parts, attachments and devices to perform
some function and produce a certain effect or result, is integral and necessary to
the manufacturing process if it meets all of the following:

1. The machine is used at a manufacturing facility. This exemption

only applies to machines used at a facility whose purpose is that of
manufacturing a product “for sale.” It does not apply to machines
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used at a facility whose purpose is retailing, wholesaling,
distributing, or some other non-manufacturing purposes. For
example, machines used by a large industrial baker in
manufacturing breads, cakes, and pies for sale may be purchased
tax free; however, similar machines used by a “Ma & Pa” bakery on
Main Street may not be purchased tax free since they are used at a
facility whose purpose is retailing.

2. The machine is used in, and serves as an essential and
indispensable component part of the manufacturing process, and is
used on an ongoing and continuous basis during the manufacturing
process. A machine is not a part of the manufacturing process
merely because it is integral and necessary to the manufacturer.
For example, machines used for warehouse, distribution, or
administrative purposes are integral and necessary to the
manufacturer, but not part of the manufacturing process.

3. The machine must be substantially “used in manufacturing ...
tangible personal property for sale.” The statute does not require
that the machine be used exclusively in manufacturing; however,
incidental manufacturing use will not qualify for the exemption. In
the Department’s opinion, more than one-third of a machine’s use
in manufacturing is substantial. See Hercules Contractors and
Engineers Inc. v. S.C. Tax Commission where the Court held 35%
to be substantial.

Machines that meet the above requirements do not lose the exemption because
they do not have moving parts or because they are fixtures upon the real estate
where they stand. However, buildings and parts of buildings, as well as other
improvements which benefit the land generally and may serve other users of the
land, do not come within the exemption.

More on the electricity exemption

As previously stated, electricity used by manufacturers, miners, quarries
and processors to manufacture, mine, quarry or process tangible personal
property for sale may be purchased tax-free.

The exemption applies to electricity used to operate machines used in
manufacturing or processing tangible personal property for sale and to
provide lighting necessary to operate the machines.

Purchases of electricity for other purposes are not exempt from tax (e.g.

administrative offices, parking lots, warehouses, maintenance shops,
comfort air conditioning, cafeterias, etc.).
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In lieu of having separate meters to record usage of electricity for exempt
and non-exempt purposes, a square footage ratio is generally used. The
cost of electricity used for non-exempt purposes may be computed as
follows:

Non-exempt square feet X Cost of Taxable
Total square feet electricity electricity

Exemption certificates

Exemption certificates are issued to those taxpayers who make large
numbers of purchases during the year, some of which are exempt and
some of which are taxable. Typically, they are issued to manufacturers. By
using an exemption certificate, the retailer and the manufacturer do not
have to decide each time a sale is made if the transaction is exempt or
taxable. The manufacturer makes that determination. Also, the certificate
protects the retailer, as the purchaser assumes liability for any taxes due.
Exemption certificates make it easier for the retailer and the purchaser to
do business.

To obtain an exemption certificate, an application (Form ST-10) must be
completed and submitted to the Department of Revenue. Usually, a field
visit will be made to determine if issuance of a certificate is warranted. If
warranted, the certificate (Form ST-9) will be issued.

Direct pay certificate

A direct pay certificate, or “19,” allows its holder to make all purchases tax-
free and to report and pay directly to the Department of Revenue any
taxes due. The holder of a direct pay certificate is liable for any taxes due.
The tax is due upon the withdrawal, use or consumption of tangible
personal property purchased with the certificate. This certificate is issued
on Form ST-9.

Special or limited certificate

A special or limited exemption certificate, as opposed to allowing its holder
to make all purchases tax-free, allows its holder to make only certain
purchases tax-free (e.g. machinery, electricity or raw materials). Just as
with a direct pay certificate, the tax is due upon the withdrawal, use or
consumption of tangible personal property purchased with the certificate.
This certificate is issued on Form ST-9.
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Construction Contractors

The general rule is construction contractors are the users or
consumers of everything they buy, which means purchases by
contractors are retail purchases subject to the sales or use tax.
However, there are some exceptions which will be discussed
later.

A contractor is any person or business making repairs, alterations or
additions to real property. For purposes of discussion, the term contractor
means construction contractor.

Building Materials

The term building materials means any tangible personal property that
becomes a part of real property.

If a contractor buys property from an in-state supplier and the supplier
delivers the property to the contractor (or to an agent or donee of the
contractor) outside the state, then the purchase may be made free of the
South Carolina sales tax. Remember, the supplier is liable for the sales
tax; therefore, the supplier must be prepared to prove the property was
delivered to the contractor outside the state.

There is also an exclusion from the sales tax for purchases in South
Carolina of tangible personal property used on contracts outside South
Carolina. To come within this exclusion, the contractor must perform some
work on the property in South Carolina and the property must not be
brought back into the state.

If a contractor buys building materials in another state and brings them
into South Carolina for use on a construction contract in South Carolina,
then the contractor is liable for the state use tax. If the contractor first
stores, uses or consumes the property in a local option tax county, the
contractor may also be liable for that county’s 1% use tax.

Construction materials used in the construction of a single manufacturing
and distribution facility with a capital investment of at least one hundred
million in real and personal property in the state over an eighteen month
period are exempt for the sales tax effective July 1, 2011. Beginning July
1, 2007, the sales tax rate on these materials is 4% and the rate
decreases one percent per year until the total exemption is reached.
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Credit for taxes due and paid in another state

If a contractor takes delivery of building materials in another state, the
contractor will most likely be charged that state’s sales tax, plus the local
sales tax, if applicable. Credit is allowed against the South Carolina use
tax for the total taxes (state and local) due and paid in the other state.

Local option tax counties

If building materials are first stored, used or consumed in a local option tax
county and the total tax due and paid in the other state is 6% or more, no
tax is due in South Carolina. If the total tax due and paid in the other state
is less than 6%, then the difference is due in South Carolina. If the other
state’s total tax rate (state plus local) is greater than 6%, no refund or
credit is allowed for the excess tax amount.

If building materials are first stored, used or consumed in a non-local
option tax county, and the total tax due and paid in the other state is 5% or
more, no tax is due in South Carolina. If the total tax due and paid in the
other state is less than 5%, then the difference is due in South Carolina.
The amount due is state use tax. If the other state’s total rate (state plus
local) is greater than 5%, no refund or credit is allowed for the excess tax
amount.

Construction contracts executed before the imposition date of the 1% local
option tax are exempt from the 1% local option sales and use taxes. The
exemption from the 1% tax also applies to written bids submitted before
the imposition date, which culminates in a contract executed before or
after the imposition date.

How do contractors receive the exemption from the 1% local option
tax? To come within the exemption, contractors must apply to the
Department of Revenue, using Form ST-10-C. If the application is
approved, an exemption certificate will be issued (ST-35). An application
form must be filed for each contract, accompanied by a copy of each
contract. A separate exemption certificate will be issued for each contract.

Light construction equipment

There is a maximum tax amount, or “cap,” of $300 on purchases of light
construction equipment. The equipment must be self-propelled, with a
maximum of 160 net engine horsepower.

If light construction equipment is leased, it comes within the $300 cap if:
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O] the lease agreement states the lease is for a period in excess of 90
continuous days;
and

© the lease does, in fact, remain in effect for more than 90 continuous
days. The $300 tax can be paid up front or as each lease payment
is made. Purchases of light construction equipment are exempt
from the 1% local option tax.

Construction contracts with manufacturers

Machines and materials used to build machines, which are used in
manufacturing tangible personal property for sale may be purchased tax-
free by a manufacturer. However, as previously mentioned, construction
contractors usually cannot make tax-free purchases.

How can a contractor purchase an exempt machine or materials to
build an exempt machine? Manufacturers usually have what is known
as a “direct pay” exemption certificate or “19.” A direct pay exemption
certificate is issued by the Department of Revenue, upon application, and
it allows the manufacturer to make all purchases tax-free. Any tax due is
the liability of the manufacturer and it is paid directly to the Department of
Revenue by the manufacturer.

A method by which a contractor may purchase such items tax-free is to
enter into a limited agency agreement with the manufacturer. By
entering into an agency agreement, the contractor is allowed to purchase
exempt machines, and materials to build exempt machines, using the
manufacturer’s direct pay exemption certificate. The manufacturer is liable
for any taxes due, so it is important for the agency agreement to be in
writing and clearly state what the contractor can and cannot buy with the
certificate. Before entering into such an agreement, legal counsel should
be obtained.

Another method which can be utilized is by the manufacturer supplying
information to the contractor relevant to materials purchased by
contractors. The letter on the following page is a sample that can be
utilized by contractors to purchase materials free of the tax when such
materials are purchased to construct exempt, manufacturing machinery.
This letter is extended to material suppliers.
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LETTER TO BE USED WHEN CONSTRUCTION
CONTRACTORS ARE FURNISHING
EXEMPT PROCESSING MACHINERY

We have placed with you our Purchase Order Number

for a construction contract which
includes tangible personal property for use at our plant located in the
vicinity of

This tangible personal property will become part of our manufacturing
machinery which is exempt from the South Carolina Sales and Use Tax
under Section 12-36-2120, Paragraph 17.

Please do not pay or bill us for the Sales and Use Tax on these materials.
You may advise your suppliers that the materials are being used to
construct tax exempt processing machinery for

, who holds Direct Pay or Exemption Certificate Number

, which may not be extended
to your suppliers, but is merely evidence that is
exempt by statute.

The purpose of this letter is to enable you to purchase certain machines,
to include their parts and attachments, free of the South Carolina
Sales/Use Tax as provided at the above cited South Carolina Code
Section. No other tangible personal property such as construction
equipment, supplies, building material, etc. may be purchased tax fee.

Should this letter be used to purchase machines, parts, attachments
thereto which do not fall within the exemption, free of tax and its is later
determined to be subject to the South Carolina Sales and/or Use Tax,
(owner) , Will reimburse
(Contractor) for
such tax paid to the South Carolina Department of Revenue and Taxation.
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Contracts with the federal government

Sales to and purchases by the federal government are exempt from the
sales and use taxes; however, as stated above, sales to contractors are
generally taxable. Therefore, when a contractor is engaged by the federal
government, the question invariably arises whether purchases for the
contract are exempt or taxable.

To answer this question, it must be determined if the contractor is making
purchases as an agent for the federal government. If the contractor is
acting as an agent for the federal government, then any purchases made
by the contractor as agent are exempt from the sales and use taxes. If the
contractor is not acting as an agent for the federal government, then all
purchases made by the contractor are taxable.

Determining whether a contractor is acting as an agent for the federal
government is not always easy. However, there are two U.S. Supreme
Court cases, which provide guidance in this area -State of Alabama v.
King & Boozer, 314 U.S. 1, 62 S.Ct. 43, 86 L.Ed. 3 (1941) and Kern-
Limerick, Inc. v. Scurlock, 347 U.S. 110, 74 S.Ct. 403, (1954). In King &
Boozer, the court ruled the purchases in question were those of the
contractors (King & Boozer) and, therefore, taxable. In Kern-Limerick, the
court ruled the federal government was the actual purchaser and sales by
Kern-Limerick were not taxable.

In King & Boozer, the court reasoned:

....the government was not bound by their [King & Boozer’s]
purchase contracts, but was obligated only to reimburse the
contractors when the materials purchased should be
delivered, inspected and accepted at the site. But however
extensively the government may have reserved the right to
restrict or control the action of the contractors in other
respects, neither the reservation nor the exercise of that
power gave to the contractors the status of agents of
the government to enter into contracts or to pledge its
credit (emphasis added).

In Kern-Limerick, the court distinguished the facts from King & Boozer as
follows:

The significant difference lies in this. Both the request for
bids and the purchase order, in accordance with the contract
arrangements making the contractors [WHMS] purchasing
agents for the government, note 2, supra, contain the
identical, specific provision:
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“This purchase is made by the government. The
government shall be obligated to the vendor for
the purchase price, but the contractor shall handle
all payments hereunder on behalf of the
government. The vendor agrees to make demand
or claim for payment of the purchase price from
the government by submitting an invoice to the
contractor.

Title to all materials and supplies purchased
hereunder shall vest in the government directly
from the vendor. The contractor shall not acquire
title to any thereof.”

The purchase order is headed Navy Department Bureau of
Yards and Docks, is signed by the contractor as purchasing
agent...

Under these circumstances, it is clear that the government is
the disclosed purchaser and that no liability of the
purchasing agent to the seller arises from the transaction.

*hkkkk

We find that the purchaser under this contract was the
United States.

Sales of tangible personal property to a contractor are exempt as sales to
the federal government, if the contractor can demonstrate purchases
made under a contract are made as an agent of the federal government.

Most contracts with the federal government contain a standard clause
stating title to property purchased under the contract vests with the federal
government. Such a clause, by itself, is not controlling in determining
whether a contractor is an agent for the federal government. Also, whether
a contract is a “cost-plus-fixed-fee” or a “fixed-price” contract is not
controlling. King & Boozer, supra. What matters is whether the contractor
is acting as an agent of the federal government.

There are procedures for subcontractors to purchase materials free of the
tax when performing work for contractors who have a contract with the
Federal Government. SC Revenue Ruling #04-9 provides these
procedures in detail.
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Contracts with state, county and municipal governments

Purchases made by contractors under contracts with state, county and
municipal governments generally are not exempt from the sales and use
taxes.

Manufacturer/contractors

A so-called manufacturer/contractor is a business that:

> manufactures its own building materials for use under its own
construction contracts; and

> sells standard, finished products to others.

A manufacturer/contractor owes the sales tax on the fair market value
of materials it manufactures and uses at the time and place where they
are used. A manufacturer/contractor owes the tax on materials it sells on
the selling price of the materials (i.e. gross proceeds of sales).

What exemptions and exclusions are available to

Manufacturer/ contractors?

Manufacturer/contractors are entitled to the same exemptions as other
manufacturers (e.g. machines used in manufacturing and electricity). Also,
they are entitled to the same exclusions as other manufacturers (e.g.
“‘ingredient or component parts” - raw materials, packaging and “used
directly” items).

Manufacturer/contractors are required to pay the sales tax “at the time and
place where [the property manufactured] is used or consumed.” Therefore,
if the property is used or consumed in a local option tax county, then the
1% local option sales or use tax will be due. However,
manufacturer/contractors are entitled to apply for an exemption from the
1% local option tax, just as other contractors are so entitled.

Summary

Construction contractors are considered the users or consumers of
everything they buy including building materials, equipment, tools, etc.
Therefore, everything a contractor buys is a retail sale subject to the sales
or use tax. However, there are certain exemptions affecting contractors.

76



Research and Development
Machinery

The $300 sales tax cap was deleted in legislation passed in 2000,
effective for tax years after June 30, 2001.

“‘Machines used in research and development” includes machines and
parts of machines, attachments and replacements which are used or
manufactured for use on or in the operation of the machines, which are
necessary to the operation of the machines, and which are customarily
used in that way. “Machines used in research and development” means
machines used directly and primarily in research and development, in the
experimental or laboratory sense, of new products, new uses for existing
products or improvement of existing products.

Qualified Recycling Facility

Code section 12-36-2120(50) provides an exemption from
sales and use tax for:

> recycling property;

> electricity, natural gas, propane or fuels of any type, oxygen,
hydrogen, nitrogen or gases of any type, and fluids and
lubricants used by the facility;

> tangible personal property that becomes, or will become, an
ingredient or component part of products manufactured for sale
by the facility;

» tangible personal property of, or for, the facility, which is, or will
be, used: (1) for the handling or transfer of post-consumer
waste material, (2) in or for the manufacturing process, or (3) in
or for the handling or transfer of manufactured products; and

» machinery and equipment foundations used or to be used by
the facility.

The requirements to qualify for this exemption include a minimum
level of investment for the recycling facility of at least $300 million by
the end of the fifth calendar year in which the taxpayer begins
construction or operation of the facility. Further, the facility must
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manufacture products for sale composed of at least 50% post-
consumer waste material by weight or volume. The definitions of the
terms “recycling property,” “qualified recycling facility,” and “post-
consumer waste material” are defined in §12-6-3460.

Machines Used in Recycling

Code section 12-36-2120(17) was amended in 1996 to include
machines used in recycling tangible personal property for sale in this
exemption from sales and use tax. “Recycling” is defined to mean
any process by which materials which would otherwise become solid
waste are collected, separated, or processed and reused or returned
to use in the form of raw materials or products, including composting,
for sale. This exemption was phased-in. For the period June 1, 1997,
through June 30, 1998, 50% of the sales price of machines used in
recycling was exempt from sales and use tax. After June 30, 1998,
100% of the sales price is exempt.

Material Handling
Systems and Equipment

Code section 12-36-2120(51) exempts from sales and use tax
material handling systems and material handling equipment
including, but not limited to, racks, whether or not the racks are used
to support a facility structure or part thereof, used in the operation of
a distribution facility or a manufacturing facility. In order to qualify for
this exemption, the taxpayer shall notify the Department of Revenue
before the first month it uses the exemption and shall invest at least
$35 million in any real or personal property in this State over the five-
year period beginning on the date provided by the taxpayer to the
Department of Revenue in its notices.

Sale of Business

Code section 12-36-2120(42) exempts from sales and use tax the
sale of depreciable assets used in the operation of a business
pursuant to the sale of the business. This exemption only applies
where the entire business is sold by the owner pursuant to a written
contract and the purchaser continues its operation. The purchase of
real property and inventory for resale are not subject to tax.
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For purposes of this exemption, the Department of Revenue has
issued S.C. Revenue Advisory Bulletin #01-1. This Bulletin provides
guidance regarding the circumstances for which the sale of an entire
business would qualify for exemption.

Computer Services and Software H"

Code section 12-36-910(C) provides that sales and use tax does not 3;-'//
apply to data processing. As used in this statute, “data processing”

means the manipulation of information furnished by a customer

through all or part of a series of operations involving an interaction of

procedures, processes, methods, personnel, and computers.

The term also means the electronic transfer of or access to that
information. Examples of the processing include, without limitation,
summarizing, computing, extracting, storing, retrieving, sorting,
sequencing and the use of computers.

The applicability of sales and use tax to the sale or purchase of
computer software depends upon the form of software sold.
Computer software sold and delivered to a purchaser in a tangible
form, such as magnetic tape or diskette, is subject to sales and use
tax. [See Citizens and Southern Systems, Inc. v. South Carolina Tax
Commission, 280 S.C. 138, 311 S.E. 2d 717 (1984)].

In South Carolina Revenue Ruling #96-3, however, the Department
of Revenue concluded that computer software sold and delivered by
electronic means is not subject to sales and use tax since it does not
meet the definition of tangible personal property. (See South
Carolina Revenue Ruling #05-13 for a discussion of the taxability of
software and software maintenance contracts.)

Goods Shipped from South
Carolina

Code section 12-36-2120(36) provides that when tangible personal
property is sold within South Carolina and the seller is obligated by
contract to deliver it to the buyer or to an agent of the buyer at a
point outside of South Carolina or to deliver it to a carrier or to the
mails for transportation to the buyer or to an agent of the buyer at a
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point outside this state, the sales and use tax does not apply provid-
ed the property is not returned to a point within South Carolina.

The most acceptable proof of transportation outside South Carolina
is:

> a way-bill or bill of lading made to the seller’s order and calling
for delivery;

> an insurance receipt or registry issued by the U.S. Postal
Department, or a Postal Department Form 3817; or

| 2 a trip sheet signed by the seller’s delivery agent and showing
the signature and address of the person outside this state who
received the goods delivered.

The tax applies when tangible personal property pursuant to a sale is
delivered in South Carolina to the buyer or to an agent other than a
common carrier even though the buyer may subsequently transport
the property out of South Carolina.

Interstate and International
Commerce

Code sections 12-36-2120(13), (20), (21) and (40) exempt from sales and
use tax:

> railroad cars, locomotives and their parts;

> vessels and barges of more than 50 tons; o0

> containers and chassis, including all parts and components
sold to international shipping lines which have a contractual
relationship with the South Carolina State Ports Authority and
are used for the import or export of goods to or from this state;
and

> fuel lubricants and supplies for use or consumption aboard
ships in intercoastal trade or foreign commerce.

Regulation 117-174.207 provides that (1) these exemptions do not
apply to sales of materials used in fulfilling a contract for the painting,
repair or reconditioning of vessels, barges, ships or other watercraft
and (2) the exemption in South Carolina Code §12-36-2120(13) also
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does not apply to sales of fishing craft, tugs, vessels or other water-
craft not used in trade or commerce between South Carolina ports
and ports of other states or foreign countries.

Ship chandlers sell marine supplies to operators of all kinds of
watercraft and to others. Regulation 117-174.208 provides that sales
by ship chandlers of fuel, lubricants and supplies for use aboard
ships plying on the high seas engaged in trade or commerce
between South Carolina ports and ports of other states and foreign
countries are not subject to the tax. All other sales made by ship
chandlers, not for resale, are taxable except for tangible personal
property delivered to a ship from a bonded warehouse in the custody
and under the supervision of United States Customs officials, who
deliver such properties aboard ships to a locked compartment on
which a custom seal is placed, which seal by Federal rule cannot be
broken until the vessel has passed the 12-mile limit.

Broadcast Equipment

Code section 12-36-2120(26) exempts from sales and use tax the
sale of all supplies, technical equipment, machinery, and electricity to
radio, television, and cable television systems for use in producing,
broadcasting, or distributing programs. For the purpose of this
exemption, radio stations, television stations, and cable television
systems are deemed to be manufacturers. See Regulation 117-
174.250.

Motion Picture Industry

Code section 12-36-2120(43) exempts from sales and use tax sup-
plies, technical equipment, machinery, and electricity sold to
motion picture companies for use in filming or producing motion
pictures in South Carolina.

For the purpose of this exemption, “motion picture” means any
audiovisual work with a series of related images either on film, tape,
or other embodiment, where the images shown in succession impart
an impression of motion together with accompanying sound, if any,
which is produced, adapted, or altered for exploitation as
entertainment, advertising, promotional, industrial, or educational
media; and a “motion picture company” means a company generally
engaged in the business of filming or producing motion pictures.
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Motion Picture Production Company
Incentives- Exemption

Motion picture production companies are now exempt from the sales and
use tax on funds expended in South Carolina in connection with the
filming or production of motion pictures in South Carolina if the company
intends to expend in the aggregate $250,000 or more in connection with
the filming or production of one or more motion pictures in South
Carolina within a consecutive 12 month period. In order to qualify, the
motion picture production company must make application for, meet the
requirements of, and receive written certification of such designation
from the Director of the South Carolina Film Commission. Once
approved, the Department shall issue a written certification of state sales
and use tax exemption to the motion picture production company.
(Effective date: July 1, 2004) (HB 4968)

Freight or Transportation Charges

Charges by freight or transportation companies (i.e. trucking
companies, railroads, etc.) are not subject to the sales and use
taxes. They are not required to obtain a retail license nor are they
required to collect taxes from their customers.

Freight or transportation costs incurred by retailers to get
merchandise (tangible personal property) to their place of business
or from the factory to the customer’s business are not deductible by
the retailer.

Freight or transportation costs incurred in delivering merchandise
(tangible personal property) from retailers to their customers are
includable in the measure of the sales or use tax if:

> the retailer’s shipping terms are FOB Destination or other
terms whereby title (ownership) transfers to the customer at
the customer’s location; or if

> the retailer uses his own vehicle to make delivery.

Freight or transportation costs are not includable in the measure of
the tax if the retailer’s shipping terms are FOB Point of Origin or
other terms whereby title (ownership) transfers to the customer at the
retailer’s location.
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Frequently Asked Sales Tax Questions L

Are freight charges taxable?

Freight charges are taxable unless the shipping is billed F.O.B. point
of origin.

If Company A (located in California) makes a sale to
Company B (located in New Jersey) but ships the
merchandise to Company C (located in South Carolina);
who is responsible for the South Carolina tax?

This is a third party drop shipment scenario. Company A is
considered to be making a nontaxable sale for resale to Company B.
Company C is liable for the South Carolina use tax unless it has a
receipt (invoice) showing payment of the South Carolina tax to
company B.

If | am leasing a car, can | pay all of the sales tax up front
or do | have to pay it monthly?

There is an option available for payment of the sales tax up front.

If I lease a car and then decide to buy the car, why do |
have to pay taxes again? This is double taxation.

The sales tax is a transaction tax; this is not double taxation. The
lease of the car is one taxable transaction. The sale of the car is a
second taxable transaction.

Are warranties taxable?

Effective for sales or renewals on or after October 1, 2005, Code Sections
12-36-910(B) and 12-36-1310(B) impose the sales and use tax on the:
gross proceeds accruing if proceeding from the sale or renewal of
warranty, maintenance, or similar service contracts for tangible

personal property, whether or not such contracts are purchased in
conjunction with the sale of tangible personal property.

As such, charges for sales or renewals of warranty, maintenance, or
similar service contracts (whether optional or mandatory) for tangible
personal property are subject to the sales and use tax effective October 1,
2005. However, charges for motor vehicle extended service contracts and
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motor vehicle extended warranty contracts are exempt from the sales and
use tax under Code section 12-36-2120(53).

Note: The tax does not apply to the withdrawal from inventory of tangible
personal property for use in replacing defective part under a warranty
contract if:

1) tax was paid on the sale or the renewal of the warranty contract and the
customer is not charged for any labor or material when the part is
replaced; or,

2) the warranty contract is given without charge at the time of the original
purchase of the defective property, and the tax was paid on the sale of the
defective part or on the sale of the property of which the defective part
was a component, and the customer is not charged for any labor or
material when the part is replaced.

If both conditions set forth in Iltem 1 are not met, or if all three conditions
set forth in Item 2 are not met, then tax is due on the withdrawal from
inventory of the tangible personal property for use in replacing a defective
part under the warranty contract. The tax would be based on the fair
market value of the property withdrawn from inventory.

For a more detailed discussion of this issue, see SC Revenue Ruling #05-
12.

Are computer software contracts taxable?

Effective for sales or renewals on or after October 1, 2005, Code
Sections 12-36-910(B) and 12-36-1310(B) impose the sales and use
tax on the:

gross proceeds accruing if proceeding from the sale or renewal of
warranty, maintenance, or similar service contracts for tangible
personal property, whether or not such contracts are purchased in
conjunction with the sale of tangible personal property.

As such, a charge for the sales or renewal of a warranty, maintenance, or
similar service contract for computer software what was delivered in
tangible form (tangible personal property) is subject to the sales and use
tax, whether or not such contract was purchased in conjunction with the
sale of computer software that was delivered in tangible form. A charge for
the sale or renewal of a warranty, maintenance, or similar service contract
for computer software that was delivered solely by electronic means is not
subject to the sales and use tax, provided no part of the software
(including back-up diskettes and tapes) that is covered by the
maintenance agreement is to acquire services and is not to acquire
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10.

11.

12.

tangible personal property (e.g. software updates provided by tangible
means).

For a more detailed discussion of this issue, see SC Revenue Ruling #05-
13.

Are churches exempt from sales tax?

Churches are not exempt from sales tax on anything purchased for
their own use. Churches may obtain an exemption for fundraising
sales.

What is the tax rate?

The statewide South Carolina sales and use tax rate is 5%.
Effective June 1, 2007 the statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%.

How do you complete the sales and use tax return?

Instructions are available for assistance in completion of the return.
You also may call (803) 898-5788 in Columbia or call one of the nine
Taxpayer Service Centers listed in the State.

If my nonprofit organization holds an exemption certificate
in another state, will South Carolina honor it and exempt
me from South Carolina sales tax.

No. Nonprofit organizations are taxable on all items purchased for
their own use. Certain qualifying organizations are exempt on items
to be sold (such as at fundraisers). Application Form ST-387 must be
completed.

If | present my exemption certificate can | stay in South
Carolina hotels free of the tax?

South Carolina does not recognize other states’ exemption
certificates issued to nonprofit organizations for staying in hotels free
of the tax.

What are deductions?

Deductions are those transactions considered nontaxable by law.
These include sales for resale, out-of-state deliveries and trade-ins.
A complete list of deductions is available from the Department of
Revenue.
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13.

14.

15.

16.

What is your fiscal year?

The South Carolina fiscal year is July 1 through June 30.

How can | take a credit on my return?

There is no provision for taking a credit on the return. Deductions
should be increased by the appropriate amount to reflect any credit
due for current period or an amended return should be submitted for
previous periods.

How do | submit an amended return?

An amended return is submitted by marking a regular return with
“amended” across the top and mailing it to the Department of
Revenue.

Are delivery charges taxable?

Delivery charges are considered part of the sales price and are
subject to the tax.
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Sales and Use Tax Policy

The Department of Revenue Policy Department recommends Advisory Opinions
to the Director for approval as set forth in SC Revenue Procedural Bulletin #02-
3. The types of advisory opinions are referred to as:

1. Revenue Advisory Bulletins (Final and Temporary),
2. Revenue Procedural Bulletins (Final and Temporary), and
3. Private Revenue Opinions.

The purposes of advisory opinions include providing guidance to the general
public and employees concerning the Department's opinion on the application of
laws administered by the Department. These opinions are not binding on the
public.

Our website (www.sctax.org) contains advisory opinions and informational
bulletins issued by the Department from 1987 to present. Many of these
opinions have been modified, superseded, or are obsolete. The
Department issues a Revenue Informational Bulletin quarterly that
identifies the effect new advisory opinions have on those previously
published to the best of our knowledge. As part of the implementation of these
purposes, the Department's website includes the following information on
advisory opinions and informational bulletins:

= An Advisory Opinion E-Mail Subscription Service to allow the public to
automatically receive draft, temporary, and final advisory opinions via e-
mail.

= An Index of Advisory Opinions (Temporary and Final).

= A Keyword Search Database of Advisory Opinions (Temporary and
Final).

= An Advisory Opinion Calendar where interested parties may track the
progress of draft and temporary Revenue Advisory Bulletins and Revenue
Procedural Bulletins. This includes information and deadlines on how to
provide comments about and suggest alternatives to draft opinions. Upon
issuance, the final advisory opinion will be listed here temporarily and will
be indexed by topic.

= An Information Guide briefly explaining the procedure for requesting an
advisory opinion.
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It is important to understand the types of rulings and decisions issued by
the Department. Advisory Opinions consist of Revenue Advisor Bulletins,
Revenue Procedural Bulletins and Private Revenue Opinions. The following
will provide a brief description of the types of advisory opinions issued to
taxpayers and Department of Revenue employees. The opinions are
available in detail at the Department of Revenue’s web site at
www.sctax.org.

Revenue Rulings (RR) - an interpretation of the tax laws by the
commission that concerns a specific set of facts and applies to all
taxpayers or a large group of taxpayers

Revenue Procedures (RP) - a statement that provides information
to commission employees of a procedural nature

Private Letter Rulings (PLR) - an interpretation of the tax laws by
the commission that concerns a specific taxpayer and a specific set
of facts and is issued only upon a written request by such taxpayer

Technical Advice Memoranda (TAM) - an interpretation of the tax
laws by the commission that concerns a specific set of facts and is
issued only upon a written request by one of the operating divisions
within the Department of Revenue

Information Letters (IL) - a statement used to disseminate tax
information of a general nature (i.e. changes in tax rates, enactments
of new exemptions)

Commission Decisions - a determination concerning a specific
taxpayer and a specific set of facts that is issued as a result of an
appeal by a taxpayer of a proposed audit assessment or a denial of
a refund claim

Private Revenue Opinion (PRO) - a written statement issued to a
specific taxpayer applying principles of law to a specific set of facts
or a particular tax situation.

Revenue Advisory Bulletin (RAB) — a written statement issued to

apply principles of tax law to a specific set of facts or a general
category of taxpayers.
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INDEX OF ADVISORY OPINIONS

SALES, USE, ACCOMMODATIONS, AND CASUAL EXCISE TAXES

Accommodations Tax:
Accommodations Tax Funds-Allocation

Additional Guest Charges- Hotel Charges for Services
and Package Deals

- Hurricane Insurance
Amendment May 1990

Exchange Agreements-Membership Accommodations
and Timeshares

Golf Packages

Government, Nonprofit, Federal Credit Union, and Red
Cross Employees and Diplomats

Recreational Vehicle Parking
Telephone Call and Movie Charges

Travel Points Program/Sale and Redemption
Vacation Homes, Second Homes & Places of Abode
Valet Services

Aircraft:
Aviation Gasoline/State Aviation Fund

Flight Instruction/Rentals

Gasoline and Repair Parts Sold

Parts Sold in SC & Delivery Outside SC
Artists and Craftsmen-Defined
Automobiles:

Nonresident Sales (See Motor Vehicles)

Rental Company Charges
Bad Debts Exclusion

89

RR98-22
RR98-21

RR97-3
RR05-6
[L90-10
RR98-5

RR97-22
RR98-21
RR88-2
RR04-1

PLR93-2
RR98-21
RR89-17
PLR90-8
RR04-12
RR91-3

[L89-25

RR05-3
RR97-12
PLR89-18
PLR89-18
PLR88-23
TAM89-1

RR93-1
RAB02-1
RABOO-7


http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/8ACD47D9-BAB5-419E-8723-9F7AABE0B804/0/rr9822.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-21.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/9D17B769-8298-47F7-862D-354755EDA869/0/RR056.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-5.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-22.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-21.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr88-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/79E04595-AF20-41DD-B611-ACB1B8115BAA.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-21.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-17.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/5902BCD2-E78F-41E7-9DBA-3772DDD33101/0/RR0412.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-25.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/5A9561C3-35AC-4CCF-91A7-0BA4B6801F95/0/RR053.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-18.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-18.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr93-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab02-1.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-7.pdf

Bags Used in Shipping Goods in Process
Battery Chargers for Golf Carts
Boats, Motors, and Boat Trailers:
Dockage and Storage Rental
Tax Rate/Maximum Tax

Cash Discounts Allowed and Taken-Gross Proceeds of
Sales

Casual Excise Tax-Collection

Outboard Motors
-Transfers Subject To

-Vehicles Declared a Loss by an Insurance
Company

Catawba Indian Claims Settlement Act

Cherokee County School District 1 Bond Act

City and County Cable Franchise Fees

City and County Tourism and Restaurant Fees/Other
Taxes

Coast Guard Auxiliary National Board-Exemption
Coin-Operated Laundromats-Cleaning Supply
Sales/Wash & Fold Services

Communications:

900/976 Telephone Service

Answering Service

Cable Television Services

Clearing House Telephone Receivables

Communication Towers

Computer Access Time/Database

Data Processing - Electronic Patient Statements and
Claims

Early Termination Fee- Taxable Communication
Services
Electronic Filing of Tax Returns

E-mail Service
Fax Transmission Services
Federal Government Sales

90

PRO00-2
PLR97-1

TAM90-5
RR92-12
PLR89-8

RR04-13
RR95-12
RR92-2

RR92-10
RR93-13

RR98-18
RR96-9
[L96-13
1L94-29
RR97-10
RR97-20

RR96-8
PLR88-18
RR88-7

RR04-15
RR04-15
RR04-15
PLR88-15

PLR05-4
PROO00-5
PLR89-21
PLR04-1

PLR0O6-2

RR91-20

RR04-15
RR04-15
[L89-10


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/pro00-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr97-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam90-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/6FA115F3-DDFA-4944-B467-E13445AD8F85/0/RR9212.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/5D012B0A-BF2B-4AEB-84B7-BDFC08862E7B/0/RR0413.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr95-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr93-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-18.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr96-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il96-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il94-29.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-20.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr96-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-18.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr88-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-15.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/52FA7F9D-6E72-42B0-ABDF-24DEE3CA3C46/0/PLR054San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/4FF82C96-D339-4A59-A3CF-AE681EE64C70/0/pro005.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-21.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/4B8EA18E-68C9-4019-A2AD-8CAA110B9DBC.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-20.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-10.html

Internet Access-Moratorium 1L04-27

RIB02-3
1L99-9
[L98-25
Internet Customer DSL Access Service PLR03-2
On-Line Information Services RR04-15
Paging Services RR04-15
Prepaid Wireless Calling Arrangements RR04-15
Security Systems PLR97-5
PLR97-4
TAM95-1
Services Specifically Listed As Taxable or Nontaxable = RR04-15
RR89-14
[L89-28
Teleconferencing Services RR04-15
Telecopying Services PLR90-4
Telephone Calling Cards (See Telephone Calling Cards)
Telephone Services RR04-15
Universal Service Fund Surcharge Billed by Telephone RR03-1
Companies
Computer Software, Hardware and Maintenance PLR89-6
Contracts
Computer Software:
Electronic Delivery RR96-3
Maintenance RR93-4
Overview and Questions and Answers RR03-5
Software and Software Maintenance Contracts RR05-13
Construction Equipment Brought Into SC RR89-11
Containers-Sale of Bags and Cartons PLR88-20
Contractors:
Direct Pay Certificates TAM89-10
Equipment Subject to Use Tax (Out of State) RR89-11
Manufacturer/Contractor-Railing System PLR94-10
Manufacturers and Construction Contractors RR94-2
RR92-11
Real Property Construction and Sale of Tangible PLRO05-4

Property - Communication Towers/Buildings
Use Tax Liability RR89-16
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http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/7C143C65-DC28-4736-B0D7-62E6E63A63AA/0/IL0427.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rib02-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/E660C360-F83E-40E4-99C6-FBB5830E6865.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-25.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/AE7CA7B5-DA5B-4BFC-8B3A-4E1129706A52.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr97-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr97-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam95-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/79EF0D3A-6129-4014-92AE-9AB055651279/0/RR0415.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-14.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-28.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/C8859523-59D7-4AA0-972B-B153EAF8DEF8.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-6.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr96-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RR93-4-Revised.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/9D687A2B-A20B-47E4-B33D-16E9DB30A312.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/084D2A8D-F1E7-495E-848D-C5889FF4189C/0/RR0513.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-20.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/810B6C68-F373-42F3-825B-9E698270DA6D/0/RR9402.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/52FA7F9D-6E72-42B0-ABDF-24DEE3CA3C46/0/PLR054San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-16.html

Copies:
Legislative Agencies-Exemption

Medial Records
Medical Records by Professionals
Credit for Tax Paid to Other States:

Credits or Refunds of Sales/Use Tax-SC Lessor
Delivery-Drop Shipments by Manufacturers

Dental Prosthetic Devices (See Prosthetic Devices)

Depreciable Assets - Exemption for Sale of Entire
Business

Direct Pay Certificates

Discount Card Program
Discount Cards and Coupons

Electricity:
Air Force Base Use for Residential Purposes
Apartment Complex Use
Manufacturers Use in the Manufacturing Process
Residential Area Lights
Sales to the Federal Government
Exemption - Sales and Use Tax
Factory-Fabricated Homes:

92

[L93-28
PLR05-2
RR04-5
RR06-4
RAB02-2
[L98-18
1L95-9
IL93-26
1L92-1
1L90-9
[L89-13
PLR88-6
IL88-16
RR89-9
RR98-8
PLR88-2

RABO1-1

[L89-23
TAM89-10

PLR98-3
RR99-9

PLR99-4
RR98-15

PLR90-14
TAM87-5
[L89-10
PLR87-1


http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/A8D1F621-B110-4481-BB7E-4F397E7C2B84.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/E6B8DA65-ADE4-47C5-8C53-1C2A568A6724.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/6A485158-6F94-402F-929C-40BD2A7D7660.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/0C718446-6FB5-4ED8-A6A4-9E45BAEAB7E8/0/PLR052San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/40CEC71B-7577-4F66-AE8D-6CBB4AF2CCB8.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab02-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-18.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il95-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-16.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-8.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab01-1.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr98-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr99-9.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr99-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-15.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/63E11CD0-E784-412D-A63A-9A5248CE2A8D.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-14.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam87-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr87-1.html

Homes Built on Permanent Chassis RABOQ0O-02

Modular Homes TAM91-2
Farm Equipment/Materials:

Commercial Housing of Poultry and Livestock RR95-11

Horse Feed PLR99-1

Purchase by State Agency PLR89-16

Trailers (Flatbed and Stock) RR99-3

Wood Chips Used in Poultry Houses 1L95-1

Farm, Grove, Vineyard and Garden Products-Exemption TAM88-20

Farms Sales-Grass Sod Exemption TAM88-4
Federal Employee Credit Cards RAB02-3
RR99-8
RR96-7
1L94-6
IL91-11
RR88-8
[L88-11
Federal Excise Taxes-Luxury Items L91-7
-Tires and Fuels TAM88-14
Federal Government:
Army Watercraft Program PLR90-12
Construction Contracts RR04-9
FEMA and Red Cross Financial Assistance - Hurricane RR05-15
Katrina
TRR05-15
Indirect and Direct Sales to PLR89-11
Instrumentality:
American Red Cross [IL89-34
Federal Reserve Bank PLR90-1
Non-Appropriated Funds Instrumentalities PLR88-3
RAMP Program PLR89-11
SC Research Authority Purchases TAM87-11
Sales of Electricity and Communications to [L89-10
Savannah River Site-Security Services PLR94-2

Single Member Limited Liability Company Contract PRO00-1
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http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-02.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam91-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr95-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr99-1.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-16.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr99-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il95-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-20.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/168BF11C-FD25-4C6C-B362-A56ACE1224DA.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr99-8.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr96-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il94-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr88-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-14.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/387E8A57-74A6-4C93-81D0-D1E175A873E2/0/RR049.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/2F9CF01F-7BB2-4DC1-9698-55D3276C2BAB/0/RR0515.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-34.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam87-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/pro00-1.pdf

US Mint Constitution Coins Consignment and Sales
Westinghouse Savannah River Company Sales
Finance Charge/Late Fee
Fisherman-Sale of Oysters
Food (See Also Meals):
Temporary Tax Rate Reduction:
Age 85 and Older Purchases/Local Rate
Questions and Answers
Rate Change

Food Stamps and WIC Vouchers
Foreign Diplomats-Tax Exemption Card

Freight and Installation Charges
Freight Charges
Fuel:
Excise Tax/Include in Gross Proceeds

Surcharge Added to Sales Price/Include in Gross
Proceeds

Used for Roasting of Coffee Beans-Exemption
Used in Tugs-Sales Tax

Gifts - Multistate Transactions

Job Corps Centers Contractors-Exemption

Laundering Supplies and Equipment-Linen and Uniform
Rental Co.

Lease:
Cancellation Fees

Lease or Rental of Tangible Personal Property
Sale/Leaseback-Financing Arrangement

Library Books-Printed Form or Alternative Form
Limited Liability Company - Transfer of Property To
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PLR88-4
PLR92-3
RR98-4

PLR93-4

RAB00-8
RAB00-9
RPB01-4
TRPB01-4
1L89-8
IL03-25
1L03-2
1L98-8
1L90-3
|L89-27
TAM89-9
PLR90-9

TAM88-14
RR05-1

TAM88-6
PLR88-10
RR03-3
PLR87-1
RR89-1

PLR88-5

RR91-9
PLR99-2
PLR90-13
RR94-11
PRO00-4


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-8.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-9.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rpb01-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/D50A13CF-8D4F-44F5-B2C4-5B78CB283C49.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/EAC7F770-9742-4479-8FA8-50A37B10E42C.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/B821FCED-8029-4665-8E74-FACD21DD63DF.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-8.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-27.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-14.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/5173379D-A69A-4094-8418-5D38EE3CB905/0/RR051.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/58EBD3B5-FC3E-4D3B-AB53-5008F08481C7.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr87-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr99-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr94-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/pro00-4.pdf

Local Taxes Collected by DOR:
Capital Projects Tax-Chester County

Counties Imposing/Types of Taxes Imposed and
Exemptions (Chart)

Counties Imposing/Contractors Purchases of Building
Materials

Credit for Local Taxes Paid in Another State
Question and Answers

Retailers Required to Remit Tax when Delivering to
Purchaser in Another County

Transportation Tax - Charleston County

Machine:
Chimney Stack
Computer Aided Design/Manufacturing System
Gamma Irradiator
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RIBO0-9
ILO6G-16

ILO3-7

R1B02-21
RIB02-2
RIBO1-1
RIB00-16
L99-11
1L99-8
[L98-15
IL97-1

IL95-27
1L94-34
1L94-4
1L92-7
1L92-1
IL91-27
IL91-13
IL91-5
1L91-4
RR91-17
RR90-11
RR05-16

[LO3-10

PLR92-9
RR98-19
PLR90-3


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rib00-9.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/19EDC3A7-3D46-4CCE-96BE-211EDF8FAB7A/0/IL0515.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/4ACBF44C-9E8A-446C-A5C1-044706FDE08F/0/IL051.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/1A6BD268-D273-4526-B1F7-E02CEEF3D44A/0/IL049.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/190106ED-5F77-4F12-8CFE-EF6C9099D66B.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/D59A2A54-4B9A-43A4-AFEF-490B54DE5B6C.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/C317E565-4AEC-4C97-810C-CD01B7C66167.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rib02-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rib01-1.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rib00-16.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il99-11.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il99-8.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-15.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il97-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il95-27.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il94-34.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il94-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-27.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/4A1DCA2C-39E0-40F1-8CBE-4EAA3E862B75/0/RR9117.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr90-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/292E249D-B2D3-4E07-BD99-BEB6EA23D576/0/RR0516.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/1463A75B-52DF-41F5-9126-97A940FD0673.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-19.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-3.html

High Purity Water Treatment System

Local Area Network

Manufacturing and Processing Use (Tire Shredder)
Parts and Packaging Material

Pollution Control Machine

Sale/Leaseback

Settling Basins

Water Treatment Plants

Wastewater Treatment Facility -Governmental Refund
Application

Machine Exemption- Guidance and Examples

- Regulation #117-302.5 Amended in
2006
Machine Shop Activities

Machines-Grease and Oil Used in Manufacturing
Machinery

Machines and Equipment Stored/Repaired in SC

Material Handling Systems and Equipment Exemption
Materials Used in Laboratory Testing
Materials Used in Road Construction Contracts

Maximum Tax-(See Also Research and Development
Machinery)

All Terrain Vehicles & Legend Race Cars
Boats, Motors and Boat Trailers

Fire Trucks and Fire Fighting Equipment
Garbage Truck

Horse/Cattle Trailers

Light Construction Equipment-Purchasers Certificate
-Tractors, Loaders, Efc.
Personal Watercraft
Meals-Dinner Attraction Entertainment Facility
Educational and Medical Institutions

PLR91-1
TAM94-3
PLR87-3
PLR89-15
PLR95-8
PLR92-10
RR89-7
RR91-8
RP05-1

RR04-7
IL 06-3

RR91-13
PLR94-7

PLR94-1
PLR93-7
RR97-6
PROO00-3
PLR94-3

RAB00-03
RR92-12
RR97-1
TAM87-13
RR93-8
PLR89-10
[L98-14
TAM89-13
RR04-10
PLR92-5
RR93-9

Food Management and Services to Hospital and Private PLR95-4

Business
Food Service for Educational Institutions
Hotel Restaurant Tour Program
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PLR94-4
PRO01-3


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr91-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam94-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr87-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-15.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr95-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/41C7ECB0-0CDE-445A-B49A-83A9173D5B93/0/RP051.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/7170876E-0BC3-47AE-A457-6C16BDADD148/0/RR047.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/6E576A0C-3A10-4FC9-BA7C-A5F7AAA8196F/0/RR976.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/16DC7C02-BA26-4E68-8D70-90C2E6D33772.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-03.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam87-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr93-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-14.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/C77D15A3-7AF7-47F4-8992-3F22A00A375B/0/RR0410.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr93-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr95-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro01-3.pdf

Nursing Care/Hospital Facilities
Sold to School Children

Medicine/Supplies by Prescription-(See Also Prosthetic

Devices

or Veterinarian)

Blood Glucose Meters

Drug Infusion Therapies and Disposable Supplies

Electrical Devices Sold by Prescription
General Exemption Information
Radioactive Implant Seeds
Radioactive Isotopes

Sales by DHEC Central Pharmacy

Sales of Prescription Drugs/Physician Administered
Membership Fees and Late Fees-Video Rental Club

-Warehouse Store

Microfilm or Microfiche Copies

Military:

Autos Purchased by Nonresidents (See Motor Vehicles)

Post Exchange-Sales and Rentals
Residential Electricity Purchase
Mobile Home Park- Real v Personal Property

Motion Picture Production Company Exemption
Motor Vehicles, Trailers, Semitrailer and Pole Trailers

Sales:

Motor Vehicles Sold to Nonresidents:

Alabama Residents
Arkansas Residents
Colorado Residents

Georgia Residents
North Carolina
North Dakota
Nebraska

Chart, Explanation and Worksheet
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PLR90-10
PLR94-6

PLR95-6
PROO01-4
PLR92-4
RR03-2
PLR0OS-1
RR96-4
PRO02-5
PLR93-5
RR90-6
PLR92-11
RR89-21

PLR89-12
RR89-5
PLR97-6
RR0O5-7

1L03-6
IL98-17
1L95-8
IL93-30


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr95-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro01-4san.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/806651FA-3440-429B-A7EE-CF1074EA9F66.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/BAC934D1-B40B-4B47-92DD-0E880C3A73F9/0/PLR051San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr96-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/40788019-BD73-4715-919B-11517266C6CA.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr90-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-21.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr97-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/6E31C388-F31B-4510-9EC4-7CBAA861FF75/0/RR057.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-19.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-32.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/3870D842-BE09-4DBB-A74B-74125C3B0DC4/0/IL0513.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/8A8DC26F-E4DC-4979-99DF-F56C40A563B6.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-17.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il95-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-30.html

[L93-25
1L92-26
IL91-30
1L90-8
Chart 1L92-10
IL91-30
1L91-23
[1L90-32
IL90-26
Explanation IL88-17
Nonresident Military Exemption:
Commissioned Officer Defined PLR90-2
Located in SC by Reason of Orders Defined PLR90-11
Nonresident Tax Exempt Certificate-Accepted Dates PLR89-9

-General 1L88-8
Requirements

Trailers, Semitrailers & Pole Trailers Sold to

Nonresidents:

Chart, Explanation and Worksheet IL05-13

1L93-25
1L92-26
1L91-30
1L90-7
Chart 1L92-10
1L91-30
1L91-23
[1L90-32
IL90-26
Explanation RR05-4
[1L93-30
[L93-25
1L92-26
IL88-21
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http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-25.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-32.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-17.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr89-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/3870D842-BE09-4DBB-A74B-74125C3B0DC4/0/IL0513.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/8A8DC26F-E4DC-4979-99DF-F56C40A563B6.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il98-17.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il95-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-25.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-7.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-32.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/C0944D51-2D33-406D-AA08-DCD30D2A40B4/0/RR054.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-30.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-25.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il88-21.html

Farm Trailers
Travel Trailers Sold to Nonresidents

Vehicles Transferred in a Like-Kind Exchange
Transaction

Vehicles Declared a Loss by Insurance
Company

Newspaper Inserts - Digital Imaging Services

Newspapers/Publications

Nexus:
Economic Presence (Use Tax)
Out-of-State Delivery-Transfer of Title
Out-of-State Furniture Dealers-SC Sales
Out-of-State Retailers Sales to SC

Filing Requirements Where Nexus is an Issue
(Voluntary Filer)

Special Registration Program

Quill Corp. v. North Dakota Supreme Court Decision
Withdrawal of Advisory Opinions

Nonprofit Organizations Exemption-Requirements and
Categories

Fundraising Events

Items for Resale Exempt

Religious Foundation Events
Out-of-State Retailer - (See Nexus Also)

Use Tax Collection/Refund If Deliver Outside SC
Prefabricated Structural Components
Printed Materials - Sales Between Related Parties

Printer-Catalogs Printed in SC/Delivery In and Out of SC
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RR99-3
RR97-5
PRO02-2

RR93-13

PLR98-1
PLR93-1

[L90-29
PLR88-23
RR88-12
RR89-13
RPB01-5

RP96-1
RP92-2
RR89-12
[L89-15
[L92-19
RABO1-7
IL89-12

RR04-8
RABO1-2
RR98-16
RP03-6
RP03-3
RPB01-7
RP89-5
[L89-35
PROO01-5

RR91-12
PLR91-6
PLR04-3
PLR88-21


http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr99-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro02-2San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr93-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr98-1.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-29.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr88-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-13.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rpb01-5.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Procedure/rp96-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-15.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-19.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab01-7.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/75556A80-8A39-4155-BECC-4569C3D396A9/0/RR048.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RAB01-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-16.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/6FE2FAFC-AE67-4188-885E-1252CB8625B3.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/3862E723-1090-4020-BA82-7022BF33C7A3.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rpb01-7.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Procedure/rp89-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-35.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro01-5san.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr91-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/9E847012-23AB-4521-82CA-E2F5D7FEDA30/0/PLR043San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-21.html

Processing Facility - Produce Warehouse Use of
Concentrate and Generator

Procurement Cards
Propane Gas
Property-Transfers Pursuant to Corporate Formation

Property Management Services or Selling Tangible
personal Property at Retail

Prosthetic Devices:
Defined/Listing of Dental Prosthetic Devices
Dental (Tissue Regeneration Device)
Dental-Code Section Amendment
Dental
Dental Labs
Electrical Devices Sold by Prescription
General Exemption Information
Implants by Ophthalmologist
Implant Treating Degenerative Spine Disease
Medical Products-Artery Disease
Refund for Erroneously Paid Tax
Sale to Hospitals, Clinics, and Doctors
Ventilator
Publications-Construction Reports
Publications and Subscriptions
Real vs. Personal Property-Communication Towers
-Grids for Antennae
Reciprocity (See Credit For Tax Paid to Other States)
Recodification of Sales and Use Tax (7/1/90)-Code
Section Cross Reference
Refund of Sales/Use Tax:
Motor Vehicle Purchase
Out-of-State Retailer/SC Purchaser-Use Tax Paid in
Error
SC Lessor
Regulations:

Approved in 2006

Bulk Sales- Regulation Repealed

Interstate Commerce (Regulation #117-334)
Machine- Regulation #117-302.5

Manufactured/Modular Homes (Regulation #117-335)
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PLR99-3

RAB00-6
PLR98-4
RR87-1

PLR0OS-5

RR90-1
PLR92-8
IL89-11
RR88-9
RR91-19
PLR92-4
RR03-2
PLR04-5
PLR0S-3
RR98-9
1L90-2
PLR88-22
PLR03-3
TAM90-1
RR89-22
PRO00-5
PRO01-2

[L90-25



http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr99-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-6.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr98-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr87-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr90-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr88-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-19.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr92-4.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/806651FA-3440-429B-A7EE-CF1074EA9F66.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/2B7FC77F-ABEB-4DFC-9F1B-FF5B4E8025C3/0/PLR045San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/F7F0B1A0-BC40-4E7C-9870-266B7B0E80F9/0/PLR053San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr98-9.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-2.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-22.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/48575EDA-359E-4355-B490-1F62DA6CD549.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam90-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-22.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/pro00-5.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro01-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-25.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-16.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr91-12.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-9.html

Radio-TV Stations-Wired Music (Regulation#117-328)
Warranties (Regulation Repealed)
Reorganization of

Repeal of

Religious Publications

Rental of Tangible Personal Property (See Also Lease)
LP Gas Storage Tank
Portable Toilet

Resale Certificate- Responsibility of Seller

Research and Development Machinery-Maximum Tax

Restaurants Purchase of Tangible Personal Property

Sales Tax Holiday

Dates 2006
2005

2004
List of ltems

Questions and Answers

Sales Tax Holiday (One-Time- November 2006)
Security System (See Communications)

State Government-Sales To

State Tax Rate:
Unprepared Food

Storage or Repair of Machines and Equipment in SC (See

Machines)
Supplies Purchased for Management of Real Estate
Telephone Calling Cards
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[LOG-1
[LOG-1
RIB02-15

[L93-27
[IL89-16
[L92-8

()]

()]

PLR04-4
RABO1-5
RP98-2
RP95-1
PLR94-11
PLR93-6
RR87-8
[L90-31
RR95-6
RR92-3

RAB02-4
RABO1-3
RABO00-04
RR05-10
RAB02-5
RABO1-4
RAB00-5
TRABO0O-5
RRO6-7

RR92-15

RR06-5

PLR0O5-5
RR04-4


http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/FB57DC5F-68C5-4E91-B7D2-3E31CC0D1F76.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il93-27.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il89-16.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il92-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/78FECFB0-8501-4816-BC69-68CBD30F0863/0/PLR044San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RAB01-5-Revised.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Procedure/rp98-2.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Procedure/rp95-1.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr94-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr93-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr87-8.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il90-31.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr95-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-3.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/34E12EA6-EF0D-4B86-AA89-D912C54E6C7A/0/IL0518.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/0E43AED4-8A2F-4C03-8921-77E1EED4190E/0/IL0410.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/A7BD0A78-36BD-4B38-A00A-2AAE332625B1/0/RR059.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RAB02-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab01-3.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/8E8F6122-75DD-4B5E-9E86-55F159EE5EB8.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/157662F0-B425-401B-AAFC-85118F14AC35/0/RR0510.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RAB02-5.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab01-4.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/rab00-5.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/C1B2FB4C-D6A4-477E-AD18-DB25F3925CBD.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-15.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/8929A0F1-C655-4337-9F53-7557DDC101B6/0/PLR055San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/77DE4E52-4620-412F-B775-8E54E1E303F3.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished

Textbooks:
Learning Information Systems Software
Printed Form or Alternative Form
Software
Used in Institution of Higher Learning
Transportation:
Factory-to-Customer
Fuel Used in Tugs

Use Tax:
General Questions and Answers
Liability of Contractor or Retailer

Vending Machine Sales of Tangible Personal Property

Veterinarians:

Medicine Sold by Prescription

Medicines and Insecticides
Warranties:

Auto Warranties

Extended Warranty Charges

Warranty, Maintenance, and Similar Service Contracts
Waste Disposal-Containers

-Service

Water/Wastewater Treatment Plants (See Machine)

Withdrawal of Parts-Retailers Service of Auto
Warranties
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RR97-23

PRO02-3
RR94-11
TAM90-6
PLR90-5

TAM89-9
PLR88-10

RR06-2
RR89-16

RR92-5
PLRO6-1

TAM88-23
RABO1-10

RR05-12
PLR88-20
PLR04-2

1L91-26



http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr97-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Pro02-3San.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr94-11.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam90-6.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr90-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam89-9.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-10.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr89-16.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Revenue Ruling/rr92-5.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Technical Advice Memorandum/tam88-23.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/Rab01-10.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-26.html
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/finalpdf/RR93-6-Revised.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/NR/rdonlyres/5910E920-DB68-4571-AFD0-BC72277A195B/0/RR0512.pdf
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Private Letter Ruling/plr88-20.html
http://www.sctax.org/NR/exeres/137BDC15-C9D1-42A1-831C-E92ABFE7D1AE.htm?NRMODE=Unpublished
http://www.sctax.org/DOR/Tax+Policy/Information Letter/il91-26.html

Forms,
Applications,
and
Certificates



SCTC-111 - Business Tax
Application

This form is used to apply for:

> an employee withholding number;

> a retail sales license;

> a purchaser’s certificate of registration; or
>

nonresident registration.
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ﬁ SCTC-111 SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE FOR OFFICE USE ONLY ﬁ
(Rev. 2/22/06) BUSINESS TAX APPLICATION \?\;/E;#
8011 INTERNET REGISTRATION: www.sctax.org SALES
TELEPHONE (803) 898-5872 USE
Mail TO: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, LICENSE TAX
REGISTRATION UNIT, COLUMBIA, SC 29214-0140 14-2601

TAXES TO BE REGISTERED FOR THIS BUSINESS LOCATION

] WITHHOLDING (complete section A)
] Nonresident Withholding Exemption (complete section B)

] sALES (complete section C; $50.00 license tax is required)
] PURCHASER'S CERTIFICATE ( complete section D)

COMPLETE BOTH SIDES OF THIS APPLICATION

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION

1. OWNER, PARTNERSHIP, OR CORPORATE CHARTER NAME

2. TRADE NAME (DOING BUSINESS AS)

3. PHYSICAL LOCATION OF BUSINESS REQUIRED (NO P.O. BOX)

4. BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER

STREET

5. FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

CITY COUNTY (REQUIRED) STATE

ZIP 7. TYPE OF BUSINESS

6. MAILING ADDRESS (FOR ALL CORRESPONDENCE)

[] AGRICULTURE, FORESTRY, FISHING
& HUNTING (11)
[ MINING (21)

D PROFESSIONAL, SCIENTIFIC,
& TECHNICAL SERVICES (54)
D MANAGEMENT OF COMPANIES

[ utiumies (22)

IN CARE OF & ENTERPRISES (55)
[] cCONSTRUCTION (23) [[] ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPORT, WASTE
[[] MANUFACTURING (31 -33) MANAGEMENT & REMEDIATION SERVICES (56)
STREET ] WHOLESALE TRADE (42) [J] EDUCATION SERVICES (61)
[] RETAIL TRADE (44 - 45) [] HEALTH CARE & SOCIAL ASSISTANCE (62)
[] TRANSPORTATION & [C] ARTS, ENTERTAINMENT, & RECREATION (71)
CITy COUNTY STATE Al WAREHOUSE (48-49) [J ACCOMMODATION & FOOD SERVICES (72)

9. LOCATION OF RECORDS (NO P.O. BOX)

D OTHER SERVICES (81)
D PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION (92)

D INFORMATION (51)
D FINANCE & INSURANCE (52)

10. TYPE OF OWNERSHIP
D SOLE PROPRIETOR (one owner)

D UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION, ENTER LEGAL NAME.

D PARTNERSHIP (two or more owners, other than LLP)

D REAL ESTATE, RENTAL & LEASING (53)

8. MAIN BUSINESS (I.E., RETAIL FURNITURE SALES)

D FOREIGN CORPORATION (ATTACH COPY OF ARTICLES OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY).
D SOUTH CAROLINA CORPORATION DATE INCORPORATED

8A. CHECK IF YOU SELL THESE PRODUCTS (for Solid Waste Purposes):
[0 wmotorow [ Leapacioeatteries [ Tires [ LARGE APPLIANCES

8B. DO YOU SELL AVIATION GASOLINE? U YES U NO

[J oTHER EXPLAIN)
[ LLenrp FILING As: [] corRPORATION [] PARTNERSHIP [] SINGLE MEMBER

8C. DO YOU PROVIDE SERVICE TO CELLULAR AND PERSONAL
COMMUNICATIONS USERS? O ves [ no

11. NAME(S) OF BUSINESS OWNER, GENERAL PARTNERS, OFFICERS OR MEMBERS:

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER NAME/TITLE/GENERAL PARTNERS

IF PARTNER

HOME ADDRESS PERCENT OWNED

ARE YOU A SC RESIDENT? (Y/N)

HOW LONG HAVE YOU LIVED IN SC?

(YEARS, MONTHS)

12. HAVE YOU: D. FORMER OWNER'S S.C.E.S.C. ACCOUNT NUMBER:
A. ACQUIRED ANOTHER BUSINESS? D YES D NO
MERGED WITH ANOTHER BUSINESS? |:| YES |:| NO
FORMED A CORPORATION OR PARTNERSHIP D YES D NO FORMER OWNER'S S.C. TAX ACCOUNT NUMBER:
MADE ANY OTHER CHANGE IN THE OWNERSHIP? |:| YES |:| NO
B. DID YOU ACQUIRE: ALL OF THE SOUTH CAROLINA OPERATIONS? E. NAME OF BUSINESS ACQUIRED:
PART OF THE SOUTH CAROLINA OPERATIONS?
PERCENTAGE ACQUIRED: (Full organization name including trade name)
ADDRESS OF FORMER OWNER:
C.DATE ACQUIRED OR CHANGED:
WAS THE BUSINESS OPERATING AT THE TIME OF ACQUISITION OR CHANGE? [ ves [ no
DATE CLOSED:
DOES THE FORMER OWNER OR LEGAL ENTITY CONTINUE TO HAVE EMPLOYEE? L] YES O no

13. FIRST DATE OF EMPLOYMENT IN S.C. 14. ANTICIPATED DATE OF FIRST S.C.PAYROLL 15. ESTIMATE NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES IN S.C.
mo/day/year mo/day/year

16. 1S BUSINESS WITHIN SC MUNICIPAL LIMITS? 17. 1S YOUR BUSINESS SEASONAL?
] ves [ no WHICH CITY? [J ves I NO I YES, LIST MONTHS ACTIVE.

COMPLETE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM
| CERTIFY THAT ALL INFORMATION ON THIS APPLICATION, INCLUDING ANY ATTACHMENTS, IS TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE

SIGNATURE OF OWNER, ALL PARTNERS, OR CORPORATE OFFICER

8011110
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[ 1

SECTION A: TO APPLY FOR WITHHOLDING NUMBER Every employer having employees earning wages in SC
must register for withholding. Other types of payments also require state tax withholding.

STATUS OF EMPLOYER (CHECK ONE):
] RESIDENT - Principal place of activity inside SC
1 NONRESIDENT - Principal place of activity outside SC
CLASSIFICATION OF RESIDENT EMPLOYER (CHECK ONE):
[0 01 Tax withheld from sources that do not require withholding (Ex.: Domestic Help, Farmers, Fishermen)
[0 02 FEDERAL withholding (941 total) does not exceed $2,500.00 per quarter
0 03 FEDERAL withholding (941 total) is less than $50,000 during 12-month lookback period
[0 04 FEDERAL withholding (941 total) is greater than $50,000 during 12-month lookback period

CLASSIFICATION OF NONRESIDENT EMPLOYER (CHECK ONE):
[0 01 Tax withheld from sources that do not require withholding (Ex.: Domestic Help, Farmers, Fishermen)
[J 05 SC State withholding is less than $500 per quarter
[0 06 SC State withholding Totals $500 or more per quarter

SECTION B: EXEMPTION FROM WITHHOLDING ON NONRESIDENTS

[J Check the appropriate block to administratively register with the Department and claim exemption from nonresident withholding
required by SC Code Sections 12-8-540 (rents and royalties), 12-8-550 (temporarily doing business or performing services in
SC), or 12-8-570 (trust or estate beneficiaries). The exempt person agrees to be subject to the jurisdiction of the Department
and the S.C. courts to determine S.C. tax liability, including withholding, estimated taxes, and interest and penalties, if any.
Registering is not an admission of tax liability, and, does not, by itself, require the filing of a tax return.

See instructions for further information.

I 1 agree to file SC tax return I 1 am not subject to SC Tax Jurisdiction (no NEXUS)

SECTION C: TO APPLY FOR RETAIL SALES LICENSE ($50.00 LICENSE TAX IS REQUIRED.)
In and out-of state sellers. A retail license will not be issued to a person with any outstanding state tax liability. Any
license tax paid with this application will be applied to the tax liability.

[0 IN-STATE SELLER [0 OUT-OF-STATE SELLER

If applying for Retail License, a $50.00 Sales License Tax is required with this application.
ANTICIPATED DATE OF FIRST SALES HOW MANY RETAIL SALES LOCATIONS DO YOU OPERATE IN S.C. UNDER
mo/dalyr YOUR OWNERSHIP?

SECTION D: TO APPLY FOR PURCHASER'S CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION FOR USE TAX S. C. Use Tax
is imposed on the storage, use, or consumption of tangible personal property on which S.C. sales tax has not been

previously paid. EFFECTIVE DATE OF REGISTRATION
mo/dalyr

SECTION E: If mailing address for returns is different from front of application indicate type of tax this applies to.

[ISALES [ WITHHOLDING [J PURCHASERS CERTIFICATE
STREET OR BOX IN CARE OF
cITy STATE zIp PHONE

IF CURRENTLY OR PREVIOUSLY REGISTERED WITH SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE UNDER THIS OWNERSHIP, INDICATE ACCOUNT
NUMBER(S) IN THIS SPACE

NAME OF BANKING INSTITUTION USED

Enter Internet/E-mail address

UPON COMPLETION OF BOTH SIDES, SIGN AND DATE ON FRONT OF APPLICATION.
MAIL TO: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, REGISTRATION UNIT, COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29214-0140

8011218
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Form ST-3 - Sales and Use Tax
Return

This form is used by those reporting the state sales and use taxes.
Local taxes are reported on Form ST-389 which is then attached to
the ST-3. For most taxpayers, returns are due by the 20th day of the
month following the month the sales tax is collected. For example,
the return for September 2006 is due by October 20, 2006.
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—— (& CLIP CHECK HERE

N oo

State of South Carolina
STATE SALES AND USE TAX RETURN 2007 (Rev. 9/20/06)

Mail To: SC Department of Revenue Sales Tax Return Columbia, SC 29214-0101

ST-3 _I

5001

If the business is closed permanently, please indicate date of closing
, and return the license. This is a
scannable form, which MUST be completed in black ink only.

[ check if address change and make corrections below.

If the area below is blank, fill in name, address, SSN and Federal Identification No.

FEI NO. SID NO.

File Electronically - See page 2 of booklet.
COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET ON THE REVERSE SIDE FIRST.

v

SALES AND USE TAX

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Rentals, Use Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use

(From line 3 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet on reverse side).............ccccooevevevenn.

2. Total Amount of Deductions (From line 8 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet).............

3. Net Taxable Sales (Line 1 minus liN€ 2) ........cccccvevriveeeennns S W WY

4. TaX (LINE 3 X 5Y0 (L05)).cureeiiieeiiie ittt ettt ettt ettt

5. Taxpayer's Discount (For timely filed returns only) If your combined tax liability
is less than $100.00, the discount rate is 3% (.03) of line 4. If the total is

$100.00 or more, the discount is 2% (.02) Of liN€ 4........ccceviiirieiiieniie e

(Combined Discount cannot exceed $3000.00 per fiscal year, returns for
June through May, which are filed July through June.)

Penalty , Interest

(Add Sales and Use Tax penalty and interest. Enter total on line 7 at right.)..............

OFFICE USE ONLY:
8. Total Sales and Use Tax Due (Add lines 6 and 7)

Sales and Use Tax Net Amount Payable (Line 4 minus [in€ 5)..........ccccccevuneenne 14-3701

14-3702

ADDITIONAL TAX FROM ST-389
. Only complete this section if one of the following applies.
@ local taxes are applicable to your sales or purchases

@ Yyou have sales of unprepared food

REMINDER: ST-389 must be completed and attached for all additional taxes.
If this section does not apply, go to line 10.

9. Total Taxes Due (From Column D, line 5, last page of form ST-389)  ..............

10. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Add lines 8 and 9) .......ccccceiiiiiiiiiiieiii e

RETAIL LICENSE OR USE TAX REGISTRATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

FOR FIELD USE ONLY

Period Ended File Return On or By

( No credits should be taken on this form. Please
see Essential Information about claiming refunds.)

USE BLACK INK ONLY

SN EEREN
SIEEEEEEEREN
soo LTI
o LTI TTI] L]
sov LTI L]
S IEEEEEEEREE
----- A IEEEEEEEREE
S IEEEEEEEREE
o AL TTITTI LT
o LT L]

IMPORTANT: This return becomes DELINQUENT if it is postmarked after the 20th day (return with payment due on or before the

20th) following the close of the period. Sign and date the return. Internet/E-mail Address:

For questions regarding this form, call (803) 898-5788.

I hereby certify that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is a true and accurate return.

Taxpayer's Signature Owner, Partner or Title Daytime Phone Number Date

50011014
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N SALES AND USE TAX WORKSHEET ]

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rentals and Withdrawals of Inventory for Own Use 1.
2. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 2.
3. Total (Add lines 1 and 2. Enter here and on line 1 on front of return.) 3.

4. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)

Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction

a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" >

b. **Sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation

L C B - A A - - - A

5.Total Amount of Deductions (Total Column B.) 5 < >

6. Subtotal (Line 3 minus line 5) 6.
If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, enter this amount on line 1 of ST-389 worksheet.

7. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 7. < >
*Please see new information on front inside cover.

8. Total Deductions and Subtractions (Add lines 5 and 7. Enter total here on line 2 on front of
return.) 8.

9. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 3 minus line 8 should agree with line 3 of ST-3.) 9.

*Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday"

If your business sells clothing, footwear, and/or school supplies, South Carolina's new sales tax exemption may impact your business.
This three day sales tax exemption will occur on the first Friday, Saturday and Sunday in August.

Sales of qualified items during the exemption period should be taken as a deduction on your tax return. The deduction
should be labeled "sales tax holiday". A Policy Document with the official list is available on our Internet website:
www.sctax.org

**Catawba Tribal Sales- (see Chart on back of ST-389 for further explanation)

The Tribal Sales Tax is imposed on the delivery of tangible personal property onto the reservation by retail locations in South Carolina
when the sale is greater than $100. If the sale (delivery on the reservation) is $100 or less, then the Tribal Sales Tax does not apply
and only the 5% State sales tax applies (not local taxes). The Tribal Sales Tax is also imposed on the delivery of tangible personal
property on the reservation by retail locations located on the reservation, regardless of the amount of the sale. The Tribal Sales Tax is
not imposed on deliveries onto the reservation by retail locations located outside of South Carolina and registered with the Department
to collect the State tax; however, these deliveries are subject to the 5% state use tax (not local taxes).

Sales subject to the Catawba Tribal Sales Tax must be included with all other sales in gross proceeds on Line 1 of worksheet on the
ST-3 form but are deducted on Line 4b of the ST-3 worksheet and added to Line 2 on the ST-389 local tax worksheet. Remember,
individual sales made onto the reservation of $100 or less by retailers located off the reservation are subject to the State sales tax and
would not be deducted in this manner.

50012012



—— (& CLIP CHECK HERE

N oo

State of South Carolina
STATE SALES AND USE TAX RETURN 2007 (Rev. 8/22/06)

Mail To: SC Department of Revenue Sales Tax Return Columbia, SC 29214-0101

ST-3 _I

5001

If the business is closed permanently, please indicate date of closing
, and return the license. This is a
scannable form, which MUST be completed in black ink only.

[ check if address change and make corrections below.

If the area below is blank, fill in name, address, SSN and Federal Identification No.

FEI NO. SID NO.

File Electronically - See page 2 of booklet.
COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET ON THE REVERSE SIDE FIRST.

v

SALES AND USE TAX

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Rentals, Use Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use

(From line 3 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet on reverse side).............ccccooevevevenn.

2. Total Amount of Deductions (From line 8 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet).............

3. Net Taxable Sales (Line 1 minuS liN€ 2) ........ccovveviviineens i i,

4. TaX (LINE 3 X 5Y0 (L06))..uveeiuieeeiiieiiie ittt ettt ettt ettt e et e e

5. Taxpayer's Discount (For timely filed returns only) If your combined tax liability
is less than $100.00, the discount rate is 3% (.03) of line 4. If the total is

$100.00 or more, the discount is 2% (.02) Of liN€ 4........ccceviiirieiiieniie e

(Combined Discount cannot exceed $3000.00 per fiscal year, returns for
June through May, which are filed July through June.)

Penalty , Interest

(Add Sales and Use Tax penalty and interest. Enter total on line 7 at right.)..............

OFFICE USE ONLY:
8. Total Sales and Use Tax Due (Add lines 6 and 7)

Sales and Use Tax Net Amount Payable (Line 4 minus [in€ 5)..........ccccccevuneenne 14-4701

14-4702

ADDITIONAL TAX FROM ST-389
. Only complete this section if one of the following applies.
@ local taxes are applicable to your sales or purchases

@ Yyou have sales of unprepared food

REMINDER: ST-389 must be completed and attached for all additional taxes.
If this section does not apply, go to line 10.

9. Total Taxes Due (From Column D, line 5, last page of form ST-389)  ..............

10. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Add lines 8 and 9) .......ccccceiiiiiiiiiiieiii e

RETAIL LICENSE OR USE TAX REGISTRATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

FOR FIELD USE ONLY

Period Ended File Return On or By

( No credits should be taken on this form. Please
see Essential Information about claiming refunds.)

USE BLACK INK ONLY

SN EEREN
SIEEEEEEEREN
soo LTI
o LTI TTI] L]
sov LTI L]
S IEEEEEEEREE
----- A IEEEEEEEREE
S IEEEEEEEREE
o AL TTITTI LT
o LT L]

IMPORTANT: This return becomes DELINQUENT if it is postmarked after the 20th day (return with payment due on or before the

20th) following the close of the period. Sign and date the return. Internet/E-mail Address:

For questions regarding this form, call (803) 898-5788.

I hereby certify that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is a true and accurate return.

Taxpayer's Signature Owner, Partner or Title Daytime Phone Number Date

50011014

L



N SALES AND USE TAX WORKSHEET ]

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rentals and Withdrawals of Inventory for Own Use 1.
2. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 2.
3. Total (Add lines 1 and 2. Enter here and on line 1 on front of return.) 3.

4. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)

Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction

a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" >

b. **Sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation

c. Sales for Resale

d. Sales to Federal Government

L - R - -

5.Total Amount of Deductions (Total Column B.) 5 < >

6. Subtotal (Line 3 minus line 5) 6.
If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, enter this amount on line 1 of ST-389 worksheet.

7. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 7. < >
*Please see new information on front inside cover.

8. Total Deductions (Add lines 5 and 7. Enter total here on line 2 on front of return.) 8.

9. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 3 minus line 8 should agree with line 3 of ST-3.)

*Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday"

If your business sells clothing, footwear, and/or school supplies, South Carolina's new sales tax exemption may impact your business.
This three day sales tax exemption will occur on the first Friday, Saturday and Sunday in August.

Sales of qualified items during the exemption period should be taken as a deduction on your tax return. The deduction
should be labeled "sales tax holiday". A Policy Document with the official list is available on our Internet website:
www.sctax.org

**Catawba Tribal Sales- (see Chart on back of ST-389 for further explanation)

The Tribal Sales Tax is imposed on the delivery of tangible personal property onto the reservation by retail locations in South Carolina
when the sale is greater than $100. If the sale (delivery on the reservation) is $100 or less, then the Tribal Sales Tax does not apply
and only the 6% State sales tax applies (not local taxes). The Tribal Sales Tax is also imposed on the delivery of tangible personal
property on the reservation by retail locations located on the reservation, regardless of the amount of the sale. The Tribal Sales Tax is
not imposed on deliveries onto the reservation by retail locations located outside of South Carolina and registered with the Department
to collect the State tax; however, these deliveries are subject to the 6% state use tax (not local taxes).

Sales subject to the Catawba Tribal Sales Tax must be included with all other sales in gross proceeds on Line 1 of worksheet on the
ST-3 form but are deducted on Line 4b of the ST-3 worksheet and added to Line 2 on the ST-389 local tax worksheet. Remember,
individual sales made onto the reservation of $100 or less by retailers located off the reservation are subject to the State sales tax and
would not be deducted in this manner.

50012012



ST-8 - Single Sale Exemption
Certificate

This certificate is used by taxpayers making exempt purchases who
do not have a retail license or other type of exemption certificate
(e.g. farmers). A certificate is given to the retailer for each
purchase.

To be valid, the certificate must be signed by the owner, partner or
corporate officer; include information relevant to the purchase (e.g., a
description of the property); the selling price; the date of purchase;
and the purchaser’s address.

If the purchaser uses a single sale certificate to make a purchase
upon which the tax should have been made, then the purchaser
becomes liable for the tax. The retailer is relieved of the liability. The
purchaser’s signature on each sales invoice is not required.

Retailers are to maintain these certificates on file for at least three
years.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ST-8 _I
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE (Rev. 8/23/06)

EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE 5009
FOR SALES AND USE TAX
: (Single Sale)
The undersigned hereby certifies that the purchases of tangible personal property made under this certificate are made in
accordance with the exemption checked below: that in the event the property so purchased is used for purposes other
than specified, the purchaser assumes full liability and must file a return and pay the tax due thereon.

Description of tangible personal property purchased

Signature Date

Purchaser/Business Name Amount of Sale $
(Please Print)

Address

Street City County State

SCHEDULE OF EXEMPTIONS FOUND AT CHAPTER 36 OF TITLE 12 OF THE CODE OF LAWS OF
SOUTH CAROLINA 1976, AS AMENDED
Check Applicable Exemption:

[1 Tangible personal property sold to the federal government; [12-36-2120(2)].

[ Textbooks, books, magazines, periodicals, newspaper, and access to on-line information systems used in a
course of study in primary and secondary schools and institutions of higher learning or for student's use in
the school library of these schools and institutions; [12-36-2120(3)(a)].

[] Books, magazines, periodicals, newspaper, and access to on-line information system sold to publicly supported
state, county, or regional libraries; items in this category may be in any form, including microfilm, microfiche, and
CD ROM; [12-36-2120(3)(b)].

[1 Fuel, lubricants and supplies for use or consumption aboard ships in intercoastal trade or foreign commerce. This
exemption does not exempt or exclude from the tax the sale of materials and supplies used in fulfilling a contract
for the painting, repair or reconditioning of ships and other watercraft; [12-36-2120(13)].

[] Wrapping paper, wrapping twine, paper bags and containers used incident to the sale and delivery of tangible
personal property; [12-36-2120(14)]

[ Machines used in manufacturing, processing, recycling, compounding, mining, or quarrying tangible personal
property for sale. 'Machines' include the parts of machines, attachments, and replacements used, or
manufactured for use, on or in the operation of the machines and which (a) are necessary to the operation of the
machines and are customarily so used, or (b) are necessary to comply with the order of an agency of the United
States or of this State for the prevention or abatement of pollution of air, water, or noise that is caused or
threatened by any machine used as provided in this section. This exemption does not include automobiles or
trucks. As used in this item 'recycling’' means a process by which materials that otherwise would become solid
waste are collected, separated, or processed and reused, or returned to use in the form of raw materials or
products, including composting, for sale.

[] Electricity, natural gas, fuel oil, kerosene, LP gas, coal or any other combustible heating material or substance
used for residential purposes. Individual sales of kerosene or LP gas of twenty gallons or less by retailers are
considered used for residential heating purposes; [13-36-2120(30)].

[] Prescription medicines used to prevent respiratory syncytial virus, prescription medicines and therapeutic

radiopharmaceuticals used in the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis, cancer, lymphoma, leukemia, or related
diseases including prescription medicines used to relieve the effects of any such treatment. [12-36-2120(28)(a)]

5009101k



ST-8A - Resale Certificate

A resale certificate is used by retailers to purchase, tax-free (at
wholesale), tangible personal property that is to be resold. If the
Department of Revenue determines a sale was not for resale, the
purchaser will be held liable for the tax. By having a resale certificate
on file, the seller is relieved of the liability for the tax.

Resale certificates can be obtained from any Department of
Revenue office; however, it is not necessary that the Department of
Revenue form (ST-8A) be used. As long as the document given to
the retailer shows the purchaser’'s name, address, and retail sales
tax license number, it should be acceptable.

It is not necessary that a certificate be taken each time a sale is
made; however, retailers should maintain them on file for at least
three years.
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1
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST'8A

RESALE CERTIFICATE (Rev. BIS106)

Notice To Seller:

It is presumed that all sales are subject to the tax until the contrary is established. The burden of proof is on the seller that
the sale of tangible personal property is not a retail sale. However, if the seller receives a resale certificate signed by the
purchaser stating that the property is purchased for resale, the liability for the sales tax shifts from the seller to the
purchaser.

This certificate is intended for use by licensed retail merchants purchasing tangible personal property for resale, lease or
rental purposes. To be valid, it must be signed by the owner, partner or a corporate officer, and must include the
purchaser's name, address and retail sales tax license number.

Purchaser's Statement:

As purchaser, | certify that | am engaged in the business of selling, leasing or renting tangible personal property of the
kind and type sold by your firm. Unless otherwise specified, | certify that all tangible personal property purchased on or
after this date is to be resold, leased or rented by me. This certificate shall remain in effect unless revoked or cancelled in
writing. | also certify that if the tangible personal property is withdrawn for use other than for resale, lease or rent, that | will
report the transaction to the SC Department of Revenue as a withdrawal from stock and pay the tax thereon based upon
the reasonable and fair market value, but not less than the original purchase price. Furthermore, | understand that by
extending this certificate that | am assuming liability for the sales or use tax on transactions between me and your firm.

TO:

(Seller's Name)

(Street Address) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

KIND OF BUSINESS ENGAGED IN BY PURCHASER

ITEMS SOLD, LEASED OR RENTED BY PURCHASER

(Purchaser's Business or Firm Name) (Print Name of Owner, Partner or Corp. Officer)
(Street Address) (Signature of Owner, Partner or Corp. Officer)
(City) (State) (Zip Code) (Title)
(South Carolina Retail License Number, if not S.C. indicate state) (Date)
50101013



I_ INFORMATION _I

SALES TAX - A sales tax is imposed upon every person engaged or continuing within this state in the business of selling
tangible personal property at retail.

USE TAX - A use tax is imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property
purchased at retail for storage, use, or other consumption in this state.

TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY - "Tangible personal property" means personal property which may be seen,
weighed, measured, felt, touched, or which is in any other manner perceptible to the senses. It also includes services and
intangibles, including communication, laundry and related services, furnishing of accommodations and sales of electricity,
and does not include stocks, notes, bonds, mortgages, or other evidences of debt.

WITHDRAWAL - A taxpayer who purchases tangible personal property for resale, but later consumes or uses the
property is considered to owe tax on the fair market value of the property. The fair market value is considered to be the
price at which an item would sell, but not less than the cost of the item.

SALE AND PURCHASE - "Sale" and "purchase" mean any transfer, exchange, or barter, conditional or otherwise, or
tangible personal property for a consideration including:

(1) atransaction in which possession of tangible personal property is transferred but the seller retains title as security for
payment, including installment and credit sales;

(2) arental, lease, or other form of agreement;

(3) alicense to use or consume; and

(4) atransfer of title or possession, or both.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

(1) Avalid S.C. retail license number will look like the following: 040 -12345- 6
co. code - serial # - ck digit

(2) The following are examples of numbers which are not acceptable for resale purposes: social security numbers,
Federal Employer Identification numbers and use tax numbers (example 040-88888-8). A South Carolina use tax
number is simply for reporting of tax and not a retail license number; an "eight" will always be the first digit in the
serial number, the county code will be between 1 and 46.

(3) Another state's resale certificate and number is acceptable in this State. Indicate the other state's number on the
front when using this form.

(4) A wholesaler's exemption number may be applicable in lieu of a retail license number. A South Carolina wholesaler's
exemption number will have an (18) following the serial number.

50102011



ST-8F - Agricultural Exemption
Certificate

This certificate is used by people making exempt agricultural use
purchases. A certificate may be presented upon each purchase or
the retailer may keep a copy on file.

All agricultural exemptions are scheduled on this form. Previously
most of these exemptions were found on the ST-8.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA _I
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST_8 F
AGRICULTURAL EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE (Rev. 3/4/05)
FOR SALES AND USE TAX 5075

This exemption certificate may be presented upon each purchase by the holder or the retailer may keep on file a copy of
the certificate. When an exempt sale is made pursuant to a certificate on file, the purchaser must note on the purchase
invoice the exempt items and state the items are to be used for exempt purposes. When the purchase order meets the
requirements of this section, the liability for any tax determined to be due is solely on the purchaser.

The undersigned hereby certifies that the purchases of tangible personal property made under this certificate are made in
accordance with the exemption checked below: that in the event the property so purchased is used for purposes other
than specified, the purchaser assumes full liability and must file a return and pay the tax due thereon.

Description of tangible personal property purchased

Signature Date

Purchaser's Name Amount of Sale $
(Please Print)

Address

Street City County State

SCHEDULE OF AGRICULTURAL EXEMPTIONS FOUND AT CHAPTER 36 OF TITLE 12 OF THE CODE OF LAWS OF
SOUTH CAROLINA 1976, AS AMENDED

Check Applicable Exemption:
[] Feed used for the production and maintenance of poultry and livestock; [12-36-2120(5)].

[] Insecticides, chemicals, fertilizers, soil conditioners, seeds or seedlings, or nursery stock, used solely in the production for
sale of farm, dairy, grove, vineyard or garden products or in the cultivation of poultry or livestock feed; [12-36-2120(6)].

[[] Containers and labels used in:
(@) preparing agricultural, dairy, grove or garden products for sale; or
(b) preparing turpentine gum, gum spirits of turpentine and gum resin for sale. For purposes of this exemption, containers
mean boxes, crates, bags, gagging, ties, barrels, and other containers; [12-36-2120(7)]

[] Fuel used in farm machinery and farm tractors; [12-36-2120(15)].

[ Farm machinery and their replacement parts and attachments, used in planting, cultivating or harvesting farm crops, including
bulk coolers (farm dairy tanks) used in the production and preservation of milk on dairy farms, and machines used in the
production of poultry and poultry products on poultry farms, when such products are sold in the original state of production or
preparation for sale. This exemption does not include automobiles or trucks; [12-36-2120(16)].

[] Fuel used exclusively to cure agricultural products; [12-36-2120(18)].

[] Natural and liquefied petroleum gas and electricity used exclusively in the production of poultry, livestock, swine and milk;
[12-36-2120(32)].

[] Electricity used to irrigate crops; [12-36-2120(44)].
[] Building materials, supplies, fixtures and equipment for the construction, repair or improvement of or that become part of a
self-contained enclosure or structure designed, constructed, and used for the commercial housing of poultry or livestock;

[12-36-2120(45)].

50751015
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ST-9 - Exemption Certificate

An ST-9 is a certificate issued to taxpayers who make numerous
purchases, some of which are taxable and some of which are
exempt. Some taxpayers are issued a “direct pay” certificate and
others are issued a “limited” or “special” certificate. A “direct pay”
certificate allows its holder to make all purchases tax-free and to
account to the Department of Revenue for any taxes due. A “limited”
or “special” certificate allows its holder to make certain purchases
tax-free. The holder of an exemption certificate assumes liability for
any taxes which may be due.

A copy of the certificate does not have to be given to the retailer for
each sale. However, the retailer should maintain a copy on file for at
least three years.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ST-9 (Rev. 9/9/03) 5011
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE NOT VALID WHEN EXTENDED

EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE TO CONSTRUCTION
CONTRACTORS THER
SUB-CONTRACTORS, OR
THEIR MATERIAL ~ SUPPLY
MEN.

This certificate is issued in
accordance with Section 12-36-2120
of Article 21, Section 12-36-120 of
Article 1, Section 12-36-2510 of
Article 25 of Chapter 36 of title 12,
Section 58-25-80 of title 58, or
Section 44-96-160(V)(1) of title 44 of
the Code of Laws of South Carolina
1976, as amended.

NOTICE:

The numbers in parentheses, which are a part of your certificate number, have reference to the specific type(s) of
exemptions granted by this certificate. Should this property be diverted to a taxable use, liability for payment
of the tax thereon rests with your company. In the event the nature of your operations changes, you should
notify the Department of Revenue immediately as this could affect the validity of this certificate.

SCHEDULE OF EXEMPTION UNDER SECTION 12-36-2120 of Article 21

(7) Coal, or coke or other fuel sold to manufacturers, electric power companies, and transportation companies for:
(a) Use or consumption in the production of by-products;
(b) The generation of heat or power used in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale. For purposes of
this item, 'manufacturer' or 'manufacturing' includes the activities of a processor;
(c) The generation of electric power or energy for use in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale: or
(d) The generation of motive power for transportation. For purposes of this item, 'manufacturing' includes the
activities of mining and quarrying.

(9) Supplies and machinery used by laundries, cleaning, dyeing, pressing or garment or other textile rental
establishment in the direct performance of their primary function, but not sale of supplies and machinery used by
coin-operated laundromats;

(11) Wrapping paper, wrapping twine, paper bags and containers, used incident to the sale and delivery of tangible
personal property;

(12) Electricity use by cotton gins, manufacturers, miners, or quarriers to manufacture, mine, or quarry tangible personal
property for sale. For purposes of this item, 'manufacturer' or 'manufacturing’ includes the activities of processors.

(13) Machines used in manufacturing, processing, recycling, compounding, mining, or quarrying tangible personal
property for sale. '‘Machines' include the parts of machines, attachments, and replacements used, or manufactured
for use, on or in the operation of the machines and which (a) are necessary to the operation of the machines and
are customarily so used, or (b) are necessary to comply with the order of an agency of the United States or this
State for the prevention or abatement of pollution of air, water, or noise that is caused or threatened by any
machine used as provided in this section. This exemption does not include automobiles or trucks. As used in this
item ‘recycling’ means any process by which materials that otherwise would become solid waste are collected,
separated, or processed and reused, or returned to use in the form of raw materials or products, including
composting, for sale. In applying this exemption to machines used in recycling, the following percentage of the
gross proceeds of sale, or sales price of, machines used in recycling are exempt from the taxes imposed by this
chapter: Fiscal Year of Sale Percentage, Fiscal year 1997-98 fifty percent; after June 30, 1998, one hundred
percent.



(26)

(35)

(43)

(45)

(48)

(52)

(56)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(50)

(96)

All supplies, technical equipment, machinery and electricity sold to radio and television stations, and cable
television systems, for use in producing, broadcasting, or distribution of programs;

Fuels used in commercial fishing vessels.

All supplies, technical equipment, machinery and electricity sold to motion picture companies for use in filming or
producing motion pictures. For the purposes of this item, 'motion picture' means any audiovisual work with a series
of related images either on film, tape, or other embodiment, where the images shown in succession impart an
impression of motion together with accompanying sound, if any, which is produced, adapted, or altered for
exploitation as entertainment, advertising, promotional, industrial, or educational media; and a 'motion picture
company' means a company generally engaged in the business of filming or producing motion pictures;

Meals or food stuffs, either prepared or packaged for the homeless or needy that are sold to nonprofit
organizations, of food stuffs that are subsequently sold or donated by a nonprofit organization to another nonprofit
organization. This subitem is only applicable to food stuffs which are eligible for purchase under the USDA food
stamp program.

Items sold by organizations exempt under Section 12-37-220 A(3) and (4) and B(5), (6), (7), (16), (19), (22), and
(24), if the net proceeds are used exclusively for exempt purposes and no benefit inures to any individual. An
organization whose sales are exempted by this item is also exempt from the retail license tax provided in Article 5
of this chapter.

Parts and supplies used by persons engaged in the business of repairing or reconditioning aircraft owned by or
leased to the federal government or commercial air carriers. This exemption does not extend to tools and other
equipment not attached to or that do not become a part of the aircraft.

"Machines used in research and development. 'Machines' includes machines and parts of machines, attachments,
and replacements which are used or manufactured for use on or in the operation of the machines, which are
necessary to the operation of the machines, and which are customarily used in that way. 'Machines used in
research and development' means machines used directly and primarily in research and development, in the
experimental or laboratory sense, of new products, new uses for existing products, or improvement of existing
products.” Effective for tax years beginning after June 30, 2001.

EXCLUSIONS UNDER SECTION 12-36-120 of Article 1

Tangible personal property to a manufacturer or compounder as an ingredient or component part of the tangible
personal property or products manufactured or compounded for sale;

Tangible personal property to licensed retail merchants, jobbers, dealers, or wholesalers for resale, and do not
include sales to users or consumers.

DIRECT PAY PERMIT UNDER SECTION 12-36-2510 of Article 25
Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when in the opinion of the Department, the nature of a taxpayer's
business renders it impracticable for the taxpayer to account for the sales or use taxes, as imposed by this chapter
at the time of purchase, the Department may issue its certificate to the taxpayer authorizing the purchase at
wholesale and the taxpayer is liable for the taxes imposed by this chapter with respect to the gross proceeds of
sale, or sales price, of the property withdrawn, used or consumed by the taxpayer within this State.
CERTIFICATE UNDER SECTION 58-25-80

Exempt from any state or local ad valorem, income, sales , fuel, excise, or other use taxes from which municipalities
and counties are exempt.

CERTIFICATE UNDER SECTION 44-96-160(V)(l)

A motor carrier, which purchases lubricating oils not for resale used in its fleet is exempt from the solid waste fee.



ST-10 - Application for Certificate
(Form ST-9)

This application is used to apply for a:

> “direct pay” or “special” exemption certificate;
> a wholesaler’s certificate; or

> a certificate for a transit authority or motor carrier.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST_lO
(Rev. 7/28/06)

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE 5012

OFFICE USE ONLY

SID

(1) Owner/Partnership/Corporate Name
(If individual, print or type full name.) (If partnership, list all partners. If corporation, list all principal officers.)

(2) SSN/FEI

(3) Name of Business or Firm

(Please Print or Type)

(4) Location Requesting Exemption

(Street) (City) (State) (2IP) (County)
(5) Mailing Address
(Street) (City) (State) (zIP)
(6) Type of Ownership ( 6a) Business Telephone () -

(Privately owned, partnership, corporation, etc.)

(7) Nature of Business

(Manufacturing, Processing, Mining, Quarrying, Wholesaling, Drycleaning, Broadcasting, Motion Picture, etc.)

(a) Give a complete explanation of your operations:

(If additional space is required, attach a separate page.)

(b) If wholesaler, do you make sales to those other than licensed retailers or other wholesalers for resale?
() Yes () No

(8) South Carolina Retail License/Registration No. for this location.
(000-00000-0)

(9) List location of all sales houses, offices or other places of business maintained in South Carolina for which this
application applies:

Name under which office or ) Retail License or
place of business is operated Address City Registration No.

(If additional space is required, attach a separate page.)

(10) Indicate in space below the exemption number or numbers for which application is made. (See reverse side of this
form for Schedule of Exemptions/Exclusions.)

(11) Location of Records:

(Street) (City) (State) (21P)

(12) Contact Person: Telephone Number:

| hereby certify that this application, including the accompanying schedule, if any, has been examined by me and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, this information is true and correct. | understand that if a certificate is issued under one or more of the listed
authorities that this certificate is to be CITED ONLY for the items approved by the South Carolina Department of Revenue.

I understand further that, in the event any of the materials purchased in accordance with the certificate are withdrawn or used for other
purposes, | will report same to the South Carolina Department of Revenue and remit any tax due thereon.

IMPORTANT

Signature
APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER, PARTNER

OR IF CORPORATION, AUTHORIZED PERSON.

Title Date

50121011



SCHEDULE OF EXEMPTIONS UNDER SECTION 12-36-2120 of Article 21

(7) Coal, or coke or other fuel sold to manufacturers, electric power companies, and transportation companies for:
(a) Use or consumption in the production of by-products;
(b) The generation of heat or power used in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale. For purposes of this
item, 'manufacturer' or 'manufacturing' includes the activities of a processor;
(c) The generation of electric power or energy for use in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale; or
(d) The generation of motive power for transportation. For purposes of this item, 'manufacturers’ and 'manufacturing’
includes the activities of mining and quarrying.

(9) Supplies and machinery used by laundries, cleaning, dyeing, pressing or garment or other textile rental establishments in the direct
performance of their primary function, but not sales of supplies and machinery used by coin-operated laundromats;

(11) Wrapping paper, wrapping twine, paper bags and containers, used incident to the sale and delivery of tangible personal property;

(12) Electricity used by cotton gins, manufacturers, miners, or quarriers to manufacture, mine or quarry tangible personal property for
sale. For purposes of this item, 'manufacturer' or 'manufacture’ includes the activities of processors.

(13) Machines used in manufacturing, processing, recycling, compounding, mining, or quarrying tangible personal property for sale.
‘Machines' include the parts of machines, attachments, and replacements used, or manufactured for use, on or in the operation of the
machines and which (a) are necessary to the operation of the machines and are customarily so used, or (b) are necessary to comply
with the order of an agency of the United States or this State for the prevention or abatement of pollution of air, water, or noise that is
caused or threatened by any machine used as provided in this section. This exemption does not include automobiles or trucks. As used
in this item 'recycling' means any process by which materials that otherwise would become solid waste are collected, separated, or
processed and reused, or returned to use in the form of raw materials or products, including composting, for sale. In applying this
exemption to machines used in recycling, the following percentage of the gross proceeds of sale, or sales price of, machines used in
recycling are exempt from the taxes imposed by this chapter: Fiscal Year of Sale Percentage, Fiscal year 1997-98 fifty percent; after
June 30, 1998, one hundred percent.

(26) All supplies, technical equipment, machinery, and electricity sold to radio and television stations, and cable television systems, for
use in producing, broadcasting, or distribution of programs;

(43) All supplies, technical equipment, machinery, and electricity sold to motion picture companies for use in filming or producing motion
pictures. For the purposes of this item, 'motion picture’ means any audiovisual work with a series of related images either on film, tape,
or other embodiment, where the images shown in succession impart an impression of motion together with accompanying sound, if any,
which is produced, adapted, or altered for exploitation as entertainment, advertising, promotional, industrial, or educational media; and a
'motion picture company' means a company generally engaged in the business of filming or producing motion pictures;

(52) Parts and supplies used by persons engaged in the business of repairing or reconditioning aircraft owned by or leased to the
federal government or commercial air carriers.

(56) "Machines used in research and development. 'Machines' includes machines and parts of machines, attachments, and
replacements which are used or manufactured for use on or in the operation of the machines, which are necessary to the operation of
the machines, and which are customarily used in that way. 'Machines used in research and development' means machines used directly
and primarily in research and development, in the experimental or laboratory sense, of new products, new uses for existing products, or
improvement of existing products." Effective for tax years beginning after June 30, 2001.

EXCLUSIONS UNDER SECTION 12-36-120 of Article 1
(17) Tangible personal property to a manufacturer or compounder as an ingredient or component part of the tangible personal property
or products manufactured or compounded for sale;

(18) Tangible personal property to licensed retail merchants, jobbers, dealers or wholesalers for resale, and do not include sales to
users or consumers;

DIRECT PAY PERMIT UNDER SECTION 12-36-2510 of Article 25
(19) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when, in the opinion of the Department of Revenue, the nature of a taxpayer's
business renders it impracticable for the taxpayer to account for the sales or use taxes, as imposed by this chapter, at the time of
purchase, the Department of Revenue may issue its certificate to the taxpayer authorizing the purchase at wholesale and the taxpayer is
liable for the taxes imposed by this chapter with respect to the gross proceeds of sale, or sales price, of the property withdrawn, used or
consumed by the taxpayer within this State.

CERTIFICATE UNDER SECTION 58-25-80
(50) Transit authorities are exempt from any state or local ad valorem, income, sales, fuel, excise, or other use taxes or other taxes from
which municipalities and counties are exempt.

CERTIFICATE UNDER SECTION 44-96-160 (V) (1)
(96) A motor carrier, which purchases lubricating oils not for resale used in its fleet, is exempt from the solid waste fee. The motor carrier
must:
(a) have maintenance facility to service its own fleet and properly store waste oil for recycling collections;
(b) have on file with the Environmental Protection Agency the existence of storage tanks for waste oil storage;
(c) maintain records of the dispensing and servicing of lubrication oil in the fleet vehicles; and

(d) have a written contractual agreement with an approved waste oil hauler. Mail to:
. . . . SC Department of Revenue
Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure License and Registration
It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form, if you are an individual. 42 U.S.C Columbia. SC 29214-0140

405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's social security nhumber as means of identification in
administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC
Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your
social security number is used for identification purposes. Allow 45 Days to Process

Website: www.sctax.org




ST-10-C - Application For
Exemption From the 1% Local
Option Sales Tax For Construction
Contractors

If certain requirements are met, a construction contractor can be
exempt from the local option sales and use taxes for certain
contracts. This form is used to apply for an exemption certificate (ST-

35).
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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION FROM ST-10-C

I— STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA _I

LOCAL TAX (Rev. 9/4/03)
FOR CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS 5014
Name of Construction Company:
Office Location of Contractor:
Mailing Address of Contractor:
Telephone Number: ( ) FEI NUMBER or SSN:
Project Name:
Project Number: Building Permit Number:
(If no number, enter "NA") (If known)

Project Location:

Expected Project Completion Date:

A COPY OF THE CONTRACT FOR WHICH AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE IS BEING REQUESTED MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THIS
APPLICATION. ALSO, IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE FOR A CONTRACT EXECUTED AFTER THE IMPOSITION
DATE OF THE LOCAL TAX, A COPY OF THE WRITTEN BID OR PROPOSAL UPON WHICH THE CONTRACT WAS AWARDED MUST ALSO BE
SUBMITTED.

When signing this form, it is important that the information contained in your report be correct and complete. To wilfully
furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the Department is a crime.

Signing for Construction Co. Title (Corp. Officer, Gen. Ptr., Owner)
Print Name Date Signed
50141019



PURPOSE OF FORM

This form is to be used by construction contractors to apply for an exemption certificate for making purchases of building
materials free of the local tax rate.

This exemption certificate will only be issued for those construction contracts which are entered into, or for
which a written bid is submitted, before the effective date of the local tax and is needed only if the contractor will be
taking delivery of building materials in a county which has imposed the local tax or if the contractor is to buy building
materials and the materials are to be stored, used or consumed by the contractor in a county which has imposed the local
tax.

THIS SPECIAL EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE DOES NOT EXEMPT PURCHASES OF BUILDING MATERIALS FROM
THE FIVE PERCENT (5%) STATE TAX.

AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE ISSUED TO A PRIME CONTRACTOR MAY NOT BE USED BY A SUBCONTRACTOR
NOR MAY A PRIME CONTRACTOR USE A SUBCONTRACTOR'S EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE. EACH CONTRACTOR
MUST OBTAIN HIS OR HER OWN CERTIFICATE FOR EACH CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT.

DEFINITION OF THE TERM "BUILDING MATERIALS"

The term "building materials" refers to tangible personal property which becomes a part of real property (e.g. lumber,
bricks, nails, steel, wiring, etc.). Therefore, the term does not refer to such items as machinery, tools, fuel, supplies, etc.
which do not become a part of real property.

INSTRUCTIONS

If your company is a corporation, the statement on the front of this form must be signed by a corporate officer or an
employee of the corporation authorized to sign. If a partnership, the statement must be signed by a general partner; and, if
a sole proprietorship, the statement must be signed by the owner.

This form is to be completed in its entirety and mailed to:

South Carolina Department of Revenue
License and Registration Section
Columbia, S.C. 29214-0109

If you have any questions concerning this application form or questions concerning construction contractors and the local
tax, you may write to the above address or call (803) 898-5872.

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to
use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201
mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers,
as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of
Revenue is limited to the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once
this information is collected by the Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where
public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third
parties for commercial solicitation purposes.

50142017



ST-10-G- Application for Exemption
for Federal Government Contract

This form is to be used by persons under a written contract with the federal
government in applying for an exemption certificate for making purchases
free of the sales and use tax for federal government contracts.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA —I

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION FOR ST-10-G
FEDERAL GOVERNMENT CONTRACT (Rev. 8117108

SC Code Section 12-36-2120 (29)

Name of Contractor :

(Who has a written contract with federal government.)

Office Location of Contractor:

Mailing Address of Contractor:

Telephone Number : ) FEI Number or SSN:

Please provide Project information.

Project Name:

Project Number: Building Permit or Other Identifying Number:
(If no number, enter "NA".) (If known.)

Project Location:

Expected Project Completion Date:

A COPY OF THE CONTRACT FOR WHICH AN EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE IS BEING REQUESTED MUST BE
SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION.

Please read the following statement and sign where indicated.

When signing this form, it is important that the information contained in your report be correct and complete. To wilfully
furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the Department is a crime.

Signing for Construction Co. Title (Corp. Officer, Gen. Ptr., Owner)

Print Name Date Signed

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to
use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201
mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers,
as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

50851013
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PURPOSE OF FORM

Code Section 12-36-2120(29) exempts from sales and use tax the following: tangible personal property purchased by
persons under a written contract with the federal government when the contract necessitating the purchase provides that
title and possession of the property is to transfer from the contractor to the federal government at the time of purchase or
after the time of purchase. This exemption also applies to purchases of tangible personal property which becomes part of
real or personal property owned by the federal government or, as provided in the written contract, is to transfer to the
federal government. This exemption does not apply to purchases of tangible personal property used or consumed by the
purchaser;

This form is to be used by persons under a written contract with the federal government to apply for an exemption
certificate for making purchases free of the state and local sales and use taxes for federal government contracts.

NOTE TO CONTRACTORS

As a general rule, an exemption certificate issued to a prime contractor may not be used by a subcontractor. Each
contractor, as a result, who has a contract with the federal government, must obtain his own certificate for each contract.

However, if a sub-contractor has a written contract with the general contractor (who has a written contract with the federal
government) that specifically appoints the sub-contractor as its agent for the general contractor's project, then such
purchases are not subject to sales or use tax only if certain conditions are met. For additional information regarding
federal government construction contracts, see SC Revenue Ruling #04-9 on our website (www.sctax.org).

INSTRUCTIONS

If your company is a corporation, the statement on the front of this form must be signed by a corporate officer or an
employee of the corporation authorized to sign. If a partnership, the statement must be signed by a general partner; and, if
a sole proprietorship, the statement must be signed by the owner.

This form is to be completed in its entirety and mailed to:

South Carolina Department of Revenue
License and Registration Section
Columbia, SC 29214-0140

If you have any questions concerning this application form or other questions concerning construction contractors and
federal government contracts, you may write to the above address or call (803) 898-5872.

50852011



ST-14 - Claim For Refund

This is an optional form to be used for filing refund claims.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST'14

CLAIM FOR REFUND (Rev, 10/3/06)

(For Sales Tax and Related Taxes)

Refund Amount Requested
(See Taxpayer's Bill of Rights on reverse side.) Type of Tax Amount Requested
Section I: Taxpayer Identification
License or Registration No. SSN or FEI No. SID#
Taxpayer Name
Attention To
Mailing Address
City County State ZIP
Period(s) Covered Telephone: (Business) (Home)

Section Il: Reason for Refund

State all your reasons for claiming this refund. (Add additional sheets if necessary and attach supporting documentation.)

Taxpayer's Signature Date

Corporation's Name (if applicable)

By Title Date
Signature
or Otfice Use O Refund Amount Granted
Tax Type Tax Amount Interest Refund Amount

ORDER FOR REFUND

In accordance with the provisions of Section 12-54-25 and 12-54-85 of Chapter 54 of Title 12; Section 12-60-47 of
Chapter 60 of Title 12 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, as amended, a refund is hereby ordered for the
following reasons:

PDMS:
BY TITLE DATE ORDERED
APPROVED BY TITLE DATE

5017101k



INSTRUCTIONS FOR ST-14

In order for us to verify this refund request and allow us to accurately calculate any applicable tax and interest due, provide the
following supporting documentation when submitting this claim for refund:

1) copy of exempt or resale certificate relevant to this claim for refund,

2) amended returns by period initially reported; (note: use a blank ST-3 and write “Amended” at the top of the return. A blank

ST-3 may be obtained in the sales tax booklet or downloaded from our website: www.sctax.org>forms and instructions);

3) a tax summary of sales/purchase invoices (not actual invoices), which pertain to this request by periods reported: (this
summary should correspond to when the tax was paid on the original tax returns)

4) NOTE: The following are scenarios where an assignment of refund rights is required for sales and use tax purposes, (see
code section 12-60-470).

A) Sales tax transactions: the seller must request the refund. However, the purchaser may request a refund provided
there is an assignment of refund rights obtained from the seller.

B) Use tax transactions: the purchaser must request the refund. However, the seller may request a refund provided there
is an assignment of refund rights from the purchaser. No assignment is necessary when the seller establishes that he has
paid the tax and refunded the tax to the purchaser.

The assigner should provide by period the amounts of tax paid on his/her original return relevant to this request.

The department may also request additional information as deemed necessary to process the request.

TAXPAYERS' BILL OF RIGHTS

® You have the right to apply for relief or assistance from the @ You have the right to prompt, courteous service from us in all

Taxpayer Rights' Advocate within the Department of Revenue. your dealings with the Department of Revenue.

The Taxpayer Rights' Advocate is responsible for the

resolution of taxpayer complaints and problems. Under certain @® You have the right to request and receive written information
conditions, the advocate may postpone until resolution any guides, which explain in simple and nontechnical language,
actions determined to cause you irreparable loss. appeal procedures and your remedies as a taxpayer.

@® You have the right to request and receive forms, instructions @® You have the right to receive notices which contain
and other written materials in plain, easy-to-understand descriptions of the basis for and identification of amounts of
language. any tax, interest and penalties due.

Mailing Address: S. C. Department of Revenue Other Services: Forms by Fax: (800) 768-3676
Sales Office Audit Internet: www.sctax.org
Columbia, S.C. 29214-0109 Automated Refund Info: (803) 898-5800

TAXPAYER SERVICE CENTERS

CHARLESTON
Southpark Office Building, 3 Southpark Circle, Suite 202 Charleston S.C. 29407, (843) 852-3600, (843) 556-1780 (FAX)

FLORENCE
1452 West Evans Street, P.O. Box 5418, Florence S.C. 29502, (843) 661-4850, (843) 662-4876 (FAX)

GREENVILLE
211 Century Drive, Suite 210-B, Greenville S.C. 29607, (864) 241-1200, (864) 232-5008 (FAX)

ROCK HILL
Business and Technology Center, Suite 202, 454 South Anderson Road, P.O. Box 12099, Rock Hill S.C. 29731, (803) 324-7641, (803) 324-8289 (FAX)

MYRTLE BEACH
1330 Howard Parkway Myrtle Beach S.C. 29577, (843) 839-2960, (843) 839-2964 (FAX)

MAIN OFFICE
Columbia Mill Building, 301 Gervais Street, P.O. Box 125, Columbia S.C. 29214, (803) 898-5000

Assistance may also be obtained at one of our "Satellite" office locations. "Satellite" locations and hours can be found at www.sctax.org>contact DOR>
other locations.

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security humber on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an
individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any
person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing
proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of Revenue is limited to
the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by the
Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family
Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third parties for commercial solicitation purposes.



ST-178 - Nonresident Military Tax
Exemption Certificate

This form is used by auto dealers to show proof that a motor vehicle

was sold to a nonresident member of the armed forces and is
entitled to an exemption from the sales tax.

A current leave and earning statement (LES) may be substituted for
this form. Both forms must be dated 10 days prior to or after the
date of purchase.
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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST-178
NONRESIDENT MILITARY TAX EXEMPTION (Rev. 8/24/05)
CERTIFICATE 5023

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THIS CERTIFICATE.

SALES OF MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOTORCYCLES TO A MEMBER OF THE ARMED FORCES
OF THE UNITED STATES

Name of Purchaser Rank

Address of Purchaser

(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)
Name of Seller
Address of Seller
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)
Seller's Retail License Number
Date of Sale
(Month) (Day) (Year)

Description of Motor Vehicle/Motorcycle:

Make Model

Serial Number

Sales Price $ Trade-In $ Net Amt. Paid $

TO BE COMPLETED BY A COMMISSIONED OFFICER OF THE ARMED FORCES
OF A HIGHER RANK THAN THE PURCHASER:

This is to certify that | have examined the service records of

(Service Member - Purchaser)

and find that he/she is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States on active duty, assigned to

, located within South Carolina by reason of military orders, and his/her legal residence

(Military Unit)
according to his/her service record is:

(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)

(Signature) (Military Unit) (Location)

(Name) (Rank) (Date)



LAW

Section 12-36-2120 (25) exempts motor vehicles (excluding trucks) or motorcycles, which are required to be licensed to
be used on the highways, sold to a resident of another state, but who is located in South Carolina by reason of orders of
the United States Armed Forces. This exemption is allowed only if, within ten days of the sale, the vendor is furnished a
statement, from a commissioned officer of the Armed Forces of a higher rank than the purchaser, certifying that the buyer
is a member of the Armed Forces on active duty, and a resident of another state or it the buyer furnishes a leave and
earnings statement from the appropriate department of the armed services which designates the state of residence of the
buyer.

INSTRUCTIONS

1. THE ACCEPTANCE OF THIS CERTIFICATE/STATEMENT BY THE DEPARTMENT WILL DEPEND ON ITS
COMPLETENESS, ACCURACY, PROPER SIGNATURE AND SUPPORTING INFORMATION.

2. The exemption cited above applies to motor vehicles and motorcycles only. It does NOT apply to sales of trucks,
nonpassenger (cargo) vans, trailers, etc.

3. The purchaser must be domiciled in or a resident of a state other than South Carolina and located in the State by
reason of orders of the Armed Forces of the United States. Military personnel of other countries on temporary duty in
the United States DO NOT qualify for this exemption.

4. The certification must be made by a commissioned officer of the Armed Forces of the United States of a higher rank
than the purchaser.

5. In lieu of executing this certificate effective August 31, 1994, this exemption also applies if the buyer furnishes a leave
and earnings statement from the appropriate department of the armed services which designates the state of
residence of the buyer. The statement should be kept on file in the same manner that this certificate is maintained.
Dealers should request the buyer to provide their most recently issued leave and earnings statement.



ST-382- Affidavit to Limit to Three
Hundred Dollars ($300.00) the
Maximum Sales/Use Tax on Sales
of Musical Instruments and Office
Equipment to Religious
Organizations

The religious organization must furnish this affidavit to the seller when
making purchases of musical instruments and office equipment which are
subject to the $300 tax limitation.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

AFFIDAVIT TO LIMIT TO THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS
($300.00) THE MAXIMUM SALE/USE TAX ON SALES OF MUSICAL
INSTRUMENTS AND OFFICE EQUIPMENT TO
RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS

ST-382

(Rev. 4/8/05)
5053

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Personally appears the below named affiant, who being duly sworn, deposes that the information hereinafter set forth is

true and correct of his own knowledge and is made a part of this affidavit.

Name of Purchaser

(Religious Organization)
Address

(Street) (City) (State)
Name of Seller

(Zip)

Seller's Retail License Number

(000-00000-0)
Date of Sale Invoice Number

Amount of Sale $

DESCRIPTION OF MUSICAL INSTRUMENT OR OFFICE EQUIPMENT PURCHASED

Date Signed

(Signature of Purchaser)

(Title)
Sworn to and subscribed before me

this day of , year of

(Notary Public for South Carolina)

All correspondence should be mailed to: SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
SALES AND USE
COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA 29214-0101

Article 21, Chapter 36, of Title 12 of the 1976 Code.

"Section 12-36-21110(c). For the sale of each musical instrument, or each piece of office equipment, purchased by a
religious organization exempt under the Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3), the maximum tax imposed by this
chapter is three hundred dollars. The musical instrument or office equipment must be located on church property and
used exclusively for the organization's exempt purpose. The religious organization must furnish to the seller an affidavit

on forms prescribed by the department. The affidavit must be retained by the seller.



ST-385 - Affidavit for Intent to
License Motor Vehicles

Motor vehicles and trailers which will be transported out of South

Carolina and licensed in another state are subject to the sales tax
which would be due in the other state or the South Carolina sales
tax, whichever is less. If the purchaser will not receive credit for
South Carolina taxes paid, no tax is due.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

AFFIDAVIT FOR INTENT TO LICENSE MOTOR ST-385
VEHICLE, TRAILER, SEMITRAILER OR POLE (Rev. 8/12/03)
TRAILER PURCHASED IN SOUTH CAROLINA IN 5056

PURCHASER'S STATE OF RESIDENCE

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA )
) AFFIDAVIT
COUNTY OF )

Personally appears the below named affiant, who being duly sworn, deposes and says that he is a non-resident
of the State of South Carolina, that the information hereinafter set forth is true and correct of his own knowledge
and is made a part of this affidavit, and that he has read and understands the provisions of Section 12-36-930,
Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, As Amended, and the instructions which are printed on the reverse side
of this affidavit.

Name of Purchaser

Purchaser's Social Security/Federal Employer Identification Number

Purchaser's Address

(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)
Purchaser's Telephone Number _ Area Code ( )
Name of Seller
Seller's Address
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)

Seller's Retail License Number

(000-00000-0)

Date of Sale
(Month) (Day) (Year)
DESCRIPTION OF MOTOR VEHICLE, TRAILER,
SEMITRAILER, OR POLE TRAILER
Make Model Year
Vehicle Identification Number New [ Used [
Sales Price $ Trade-In Allowance $ Net Amount Paid $
Amount of Sales Tax Paid $ Sales Tax Rate in Purchaser's State

(Not to exceed $300.00, except for pole trailers)
This motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or pole trailer will be licensed in the State of

within ten (10) days from the date of purchase.

(Purchaser's Signature)
Sworn to and subscribed before me

this day of , year of

(Notary Public for South Carolina)

INSTRUCTIONS — SEE REVERSE SIDE
Original - Retained by Purchaser Copy - Provided to Seller



Section 12-36-930, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, As Amended, provides:

(A) The tax imposed by this article on sales of motor vehicles, as defined in Section 56-1-10, trailers, semitrailers, or
pole trailers of a type to be registered and licensed, to a resident of another state, is the lesser of:

(1) an amount equal to the sales tax, which would be imposed in the purchaser's state of residence, or
(2) the tax that would be imposed under this article.
(B) Atthe time of the sale, the seller shall:

(1) obtain from the purchaser a notarized statement of the purchaser's intent to license the vehicle, within ten
days, in the purchaser's state of residence, and

(2) retain a signed copy of the notarized statement. The purchaser shall give a copy to the sales tax agency of
the purchaser's state of residence.

(C) No tax is due if a nonresident will not receive credit in his state of residence for sales tax paid to this State under
this section.

DEFINITIONS:

Motor Vehicle: Every vehicle which is self-propelled and customarily used on highways; provided, however, that the
term shall not include self-propelled motor vehicles not designed or used primarily for transportation of persons or
property and incidentally operated or moved over the highways, including farm tractors, road construction and
maintenance machinery, ditchdigging apparatus, truck cranes and similar vehicles, this enumeration to be deemed
partial and not to exclude other such vehicles which are within the general terms of this definition.

Trailer: Every vehicle with or without motive power, other than a pole trailer, designed for carrying persons or property
and for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so constructed that no part of its weight rests upon the towing vehicle.

Semitrailer: Every vehicle with or without motive power, other than a pole trailer, designed for carrying persons or
property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so constructed that some part of its weight and that of its load rests
upon or is carried by another vehicle.

Pole Trailer: Every vehicle without motive power designed to be drawn by another vehicle and attached to the towing
vehicle by means of a reach or pole or by being boomed or otherwise secured to the towing vehicle and ordinarily used
for transporting long or irregularly shaped loads such as poles, pipes or structural members capable, generally, of
sustaining themselves as beams between the supporting connections.

INSTRUCTIONS

1. This form must be completed in its entirety.
2. Distribution of the completed form and all copies must be properly handled.

3. A copy of this affidavit must be retained by the seller to support any deduction taken on the sales tax return.

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to
use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201
mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers,
as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of
Revenue is limited to the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once
this information is collected by the Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where
public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third
parties for commercial solicitation purposes.



ST-387 - Application For Sales Tax
Exemption For Exempt
Organizations

This form is used by certain exempt organizations (e.g. Girl Scouts,
PTOs, etc.) to apply for a certificate (ST-9) to purchase items for
resale tax-free and to sell items tax-free.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
APPLICATION FOR SALES TAX
EXEMPTION UNDER CODE SECTION 12-36-2120(41)
"EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS"

ST-387 |
(Rev. 5/31/06)
5061

Certain nonprofit organizations in South Carolina are exempt from sales and use tax on items
sold by the organizations for charitable purposes. The exemption applies only to items purchased
for resale and does not apply to items purchased by an organization for its own use.

Name of Organization:

Office Use Only
SID#

Location Address:

City State County
Mailing Address: (Street or PO Box)

ZIP

City State Zip

Phone Number: FEI Number:

Please check the appropriate box:

Type of ownership: 0 Corporation 0 Unincorporated Association L] other

1. Has your organization applied for, and been granted, an exemption from the property tax?
] YES (Attach copy of property tax exempt letter.) ] NO

2. If you answered NO to Question #1, please check the appropriate line:
Applied for property tax exemption and was denied.

Organization owns property in S.C., but never applied for property tax exemption.

Organization owns no property in S.C.

3. Does your organization have a letter from the I.R.S. granting an exemption from federal income tax?

] YES (Attach copy) ] NO

4. Briefly, explain the purpose of your organization.

5. Briefly, describe the items your organization purchases, or will purchase, FOR RESALE.

6. Briefly, explain how monies from such sales are, or will be, used.

7. What other retail sales does your organization make other than those described on line 5?

8. What is your South Carolina retail license number?

9. What is your liquor license number?

When signing this form, it is important that the information contained in your report be correct and complete. To wilfully

furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the Department is a crime.

SIGNATURE TITLE

50611011

DATE



[ 1

IMPORTANT NOTICE
If your organization is granted an exemption under S.C. Code Section 12-36-2120(41), then your organization may buy
and sell items tax-free, only if:
1. Your organization purchases the items for resale;

2. The net proceeds from the sales of such items are used exclusively for the exempt purposes of
your organization; and

3. No benefit inures to any individual.

PURCHASES OF ITEMS FOR USE BY YOUR ORGANIZATION (i.e., FURNITURE, EQUIPMENT, AND SUPPLIES)
MAY NOT BE PURCHASED TAX-FREE.

PURPOSE OF FORM AND INSTRUCTIONS

PURPOSE: This form is required for those organizations wishing to obtain an exemption from the sales tax under S.C.
Code Section 12-36-2120(41).

INSTRUCTIONS:
A. This form must be completed in its entirety for your organization to be considered for the above exemption.

B. Please attach a copy of the following documents to this form:

NOTE: Failure to attach this information will cause a delay in processing your application.
1. Internal Revenue Service exemption letter.
2. Organization's charter and bylaws.
3. Most recent income statement and balance sheet.
4. Any other documents or statements deemed appropriate and/or necessary.
C. Please mail the completed application, with attachments to:
SC Department of Revenue

License and Registration
Columbia, South Carolina 29214-0140

50612019



ST-388 - Sales, Use and
Accommodations Tax Return

This return is used by those taxpayers reporting the state sales and
use taxes and the 2% tax on accommodations.

Local taxes are reported on Form ST-389 which you then attach to
this form.

Just as with the ST-3, most taxpayers file the ST-388 monthly. The
return is due by the 20th day of the month following the month for
which a return pertains. For example, the return for September 2006
is due by October 20, 2006.
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State of South Carolina ST-388 —I

STATE SALES, USE, AND ACCOMMODATIONS TAX RETURN (Rev. 10/20/06)
Mail To: SC Department of Revenue  Sales Tax Columbia, SC 29214-0101 5062
If the business is closed permanently, please indicate date of closing RETAIL LICENSE OR USE TAX REGISTRATION

, and return the license. This is a
scannable form, which MUST be completed in black ink only.

LI Check if address change and make corrections below. FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

If the area below is blank, fill in name, address, SSN and Federal Identification Number
FEI NO. SID NO.

FOR FIELD USE ONLY

Period Ended File Return On or By

( No credits should be taken on this form. Please
COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET ON THE REVERSE SIDE FIRST. see Refund Section in Essential Information.)
SALES AND USE TAX

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Rental, Use Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use

(From line 3 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet on reverse side)............ccccveeenee 1 ’ | | | | | | | | | : | | |
2. Total Amount of Deductions (From line 8 of Worksheet)............cccocevvenviiinnne 2 » | | | | | | | | | : | | |
3. Net Taxable Sales (Line 1 MiNUS lIN€ 2) ........cociriiiiriiiiienee e 3 ’ | | | | | | | | | : | | |

00 3596 (08) o o LTI T
5. Taxpayer's Discount (For timely filed returns only) If your combined tax

liability is less than $100.00, the discount rate is 3% (.03) of line 4. If 5 p | | | | | | | | | . | | |

the total is $100.00 or more, the discount is 2% (.02) of line 4
(Combined Discount cannot exceed $3000.00 per fiscal year, returns
for June through May, which are filed July through June.)

Sales and Use Tax Net Amount Payable (Line 4 minus line 5).............2% b
7. Penalty , Interest
(Add Sales and Use Tax penalty and interest. Enter total on line 7 at right.)....... 7 ’ |
OFFICE USE ONLY: |

i
N
[
BN
o
=

(o))

8. Total Sales and Use Tax Due (Add [iN€s 6 and 7).......ccccccuveeeeniiienenniieeeeniieeennn 8
ACCOMMODATIONS TAX
9. Gross Proceeds of Sales from the Rental of Transient Accommodations » |
(From line 10 Of WOTKSNEEL)........c.eviueervieiecececececeeeceeeeeeee ettt 9
10. Total Amount of Deductions (From line 12 of worksheet) 10 » |
11. Net Taxable Sales FOR OFFICE USE ONLY |
(Line 9 minus line 10) 11 p
13. Taxpayer's Discount (Line 12 x Discount Rate)
Use same discount rate as applied on line 5. 13 » |

(Combined Discount cannot exceed $3000.00 per fiscal year, returns

for June through May, which are filed July through June.)

14. Accommodations Net Amount Payable (Line 12 minus line 13)342707 14 ’ |

15. Penalty , Interest
(Add Accommodations Tax penalty and interest. Enter total on line 15 at right.)... 15 ’ |
OFFICE USE ONLY:

16. Total Accommodations Tax Due (Add lines 14 and 15)...........ccceecveiiiiiiinennnen. 16 |

LOCAL TAX
17. Total Local Taxes Due (From column D, line 5, last page of form ST-389) 17 |

12. Line 11x 2% (.02) 12 | |

18. Total of all Taxes Due (Add lines 8, 16 and 17)........ccccveeriiiieeiiiireeeiniieee s 18 ) |
IMPORTANT: Sign and date return on reverse side.

50621010



[ WORKSHEET

Sales and Use Tax

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Accommodations, Rentals and Withdrawals for Own Use L
2. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 2.
3. Total (Add lines 1 and 2. Enter here and on line 1 on front of return.) 3.
4. Allowable Deductions (Itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)
Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
*Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" $
$
$
$
5. Total Amount of Deductions (Total Column B) 5.
(Enter total here and on line 2 on front of return.)
6. Subtotal (Line 3 minus line 5.) 6.
If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, enter this amount on line 1 of ST-389 worksheet.
7. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 7.
* Please see new information on front inside cover.
8. Total Deductions (Add lines 5 and 7. Enter total here and on line 2 on front of return.) 8.
9. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 3 minus line 8 should agree with line 3 of ST-388.) 9.
10. Gross Proceeds of Sales from the Rental of Transient Accommodations
(Enter here and on line 9 on front of return) 10.
11. Allowable Deductions: (Itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)
Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
$
$
$
12. Total Amount of Deductions (Total Column B) (Enter here and on line 10 on front of return) 12.

South Carolina schools lose needed funds each year because residents buy merchandise out of state to be stored, used or consumed
in this state and do not pay South Carolina tax on these purchases. Public education needs our support. Remember to report all use
tax transactions. Don't forget that if you are using a credit card to make purchases out of state for storage, use or consumption in

South Carolina, you owe use tax.

REMINDER: Form ST-389 must be completed and attached for all local taxes.

For questions regarding this form, call (803) 898-5788.

| hereby certify that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is a true and accurate return.

Taxpayer's Signature Owner, Partner or Title Daytime Phone Number

Date

Internet/E-mail Address:

(See instructions)

50622018




State of South Carolina

STATE SALES, USE, AND ACCOMMODATIONS TAX RETURN
Mail To: SC Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, Columbia, SC 29214-0101

ST-388 _|

(Rev. 1/2/07)
5062

If the business is closed permanently, please indicate date of closing RETAIL LICENSE OR USE TAX REGISTRATION
, and return the license. This is a
scannable form, which MUST be completed in black ink only.

. . FOR FIELD USE ONLY
1 Check if address change and make corrections below.

If the area below is blank, fill in name, address, SSN and Federal Identification Number
FEI NO. SID NO.

Period Ended File Return On or By
COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET ON THE REVERSE SIDE FIRST.
14-4701/14-4702 14-3701/14-3702 34-2707
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY FOR OFFICE USE ONLY FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
All Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rental, >
Use Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use Column A Column B Column C
1. | (Fromline 3 of worksheet) Sales/Use 6% (Tax Rate) Sales/Use 5% (Tax Rate) Accommodations 2% (Tax Rate)

Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rental, Use
Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use
1A.| (From lines 6 and 15 of worksheet) >

Gross Proceeds of Sales from the
Rental of Transient Accommodations
1B. | (From line 22 of worksheet) >

Total Deductions and Substractions ’
2. | (From lines 11, 20 and 24 of worksheet)

Net Taxable Sales ’
3. | (line 1A or 1B minus line 2)

4. | Tax Due (Line 3 x Tax Rate)

Taxpayer's Discount (See instructions
5. | for timely filed returns only.)

Balance Due (Subtract line 5 from line
6. | 4 for each column.)

7. Penalty (See Instr.)

7A.  Interest (See Instr.)

Total Penalty and Interest (Add lines 7
7B.| and 7A for each column.) ’

Amount Due (Add lines 6 and 7B for
8. | each column.)

Total Due
8A.| (Add line 8 of columns A, B and C.)

Tax Due ST-389 (From Column D, line
9. | 5, last page of form ST-389)

Total Remittance Due
10. | (Add lines 8A and 9 of Column C.) ’

50621028



[ SALES AND USE TAX WORKSHEET

Sales and Use Tax - Column A

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Accommodations, Rentals and Withdrawals for Own Use 1.
(Total of All Sales)

2. Out-of-State Purchases 2.

3. Total (Add lines 1 and 2. Enter here and on line 1, column A, on front of return.) 3.

6% SALES AND USE TAX - Column A

4. Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rentals and Withdrawals of Inventory for Own Use 4.
(Sales subject to 6% tax rate requirements)

5. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 5

6. Total Gross Proceeds at 6% (Add lines 4 and 5. Enter here and on line 1A, Column A 6.

on front of return.)

7. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (ltemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)

Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" > $
b. **sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation $
$
$
$
$
$
8. Total Amount of Deductions 8. <
9. Subtotal (Line 6 minus line 8.) 9.

If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, enter the total amount on line 1 of ST-389 worksheet.

10. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 10. <

* Please see new information on front inside cover.

11. Total Deductions and Subtractions (Add lines 8 and 10. Enter total here and on line 2, 11.

Column A on front of return.)

12. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 6 minus line 11 should agree with line 3, Column A on front 12,

of ST-388.)

I hereby certify that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is a true and accurate return.

Taxpayer signature Owner, Partner or Title

Date

5062202k



M 5% SALES AND USE TAX - Column B

13. Gross Proceeds of Sales/Accommodations Rentals and Withdrawals for Own Use 13.
(Sales subject to 5% Sales Tax and Accommodations Tax requirements.)

14. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 14.

15. Total Gross Proceeds (Add lines 13 and 14. Enter here and on line 1A, Column B on 15.

front of return.)

16. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (Itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)

Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" > $
b. **sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation $
$
$
$
$
$
17. Total Amount of Deductions 17. <
18.Subtotal (Line 15 minus line 17.) 18.

If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, add lines 18 and 9. Enter this amount on line 1 of
ST-389 worksheet.

19. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 19. <

* Please see new information on front inside cover.

20. Total Deductions and Subtractions (Add lines 17 and 19. Enter total here and on line 2, 20.

Column B on front of return.)

21. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 15 minus line 20 should agree with line 3, Column B on 21.

front of ST-388.)

Accommodations Tax - Column C

22. Gross Proceeds of Sales from the Rental of Transient Accommodations
(Enter here and on line 1B, Column C, on front of return) 22

23. Allowable Deductions: (Itemize by Type and Amount of Deduction)

Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
$
$
$
24. Total Amount of Deductions (Total Column B) 24, <

(Enter here and on line 2, Column C on front of return)

25. Net Sales of Transient Accommodations 25,

Line 22 minus line 24 should agree with line 3, Column C of on front of
ST-388.

50623024



ST-389 - Schedule for Local Option
Sales Tax

Form ST-389 (“Addendum”) is used by those taxpayers who report
the 1% local option taxes. The form is used to report the 1% taxes by
county and municipality. Each county and municipality is identified by
a four digit code, which is required to be shown on this form.

Form ST-389 is attached to and submitted with Form ST-3, ST-3A,
ST-388 or ST-388A.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ST-389 _I

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
(Rev. 12/4/06)

SCHEDULE FOR LOCAL TAXES AND UNPREPARED FOOD 5063
(Attach to form ST-3, ST-388, ST-403 when filed.) 2006

Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number

Business Name

Period ended Page 1 of

NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential Information in tax booklet about claiming refund.

For Office Name of County | Code Net Taxable Tax Discount Net Amount
Use Only or Jurisdiction Amount After Discount
1. CAPITAL PROJECT TAX 34-2726 (A) (B) (©) (D)

AIKEN 1002 X 1% = - =
ALLENDALE 1003 X 1% = - =
DILLON 1017 X 1% = - =
HAMPTON 1025 X 1% = - =
NEWBERRY 1036 X 1% = - =
ORANGEBURG | 1038 X 1% = - -
YORK 1046 X 1% = 3 _

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

2. SCHOOL DISTRICT TAX 34-2730 (A) (B) (©€) (D)

CHEROKEE 5111 X 1% = - =
CHESTERFIELD | 5131 X 1% = - =
CLARENDON 5140 X 1% = - =
DARLINGTON 5161 X 1% = - =
JASPER 5271 X 1% = - =
LEXINGTON 5320 x 1% = - =
LEE 5311 X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

File Electronically - See page 2 of booklet.
All pages of ST-389 must be submitted.

page 1 of 3

50631027
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ST-389 WORKSHEET
(If applicable)

1. Net Sales and Purchases (From line 6 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet.) 1.
2. Catawba Tribal Sales (From line 4b Deductions of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet.) 2.
3. Total Sales and Purchases (Add lines 1 and 2.) 3.

4. Local Tax Allowable Deductions

Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. Catawba Sales less than $100.00 $
b. Sales Not Subject to Local Tax $
$
$
5. Total Allowable Deductions (Total Column B) 5.
6. Total Net Taxable Local Sales (Line 3 minus line 5.) 6.

Should agree with ST-389, Page 3, line 1, column A.

Note: When your sales, purchases and withdrawals are made or delivered into a locality with more than one local tax
and/or when tax is reported on the sale of unprepared food in a county with a local tax, the total on form ST-389 will
not agree with line 6.

Note: This form does not address the local taxes on sales that are collected directly by the counties or municipalities
(sales of accommodations or prepared meals). It only addresses the general local taxes collected by the Department of
Revenue on behalf of the counties, school districts, and the Catawba Indian tribal government.

CAPITAL PROJECT, CATAWBA TRIBAL, SCHOOL DISTRICT AND TRANSPORTATION
NUMERICAL CODES

As a result of specific legislation, certain counties and jurisdictions now impose additional sales and use taxes, which are identified as
Capital Project, Catawba Tribal, School District or Transportation Tax. These taxes are required to be reported based upon the county
or jurisdiction in which the sale consummates. (Usually this is where the business is located, but it can be the place of delivery or
physical presence by acceptance of the goods sold, if different from the business location). For your convenience, the counties and
jurisdictions that currently impose these additional taxes are listed on this form with their assigned four digit processing code.

50632025



I_ NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential _I
Information in tax booklet about claiming refund. 2006

Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number

Business Name
Period ended *Page 2 of

Net Amount

For Office Name of County Code Net Taxable
After Discount

L Tax i
Use Only or Jurisdiction Amount a Discount

3. TRANSPORTATION TAX 34-2728 (A) (B) ©) (D)

CHARLESTON 1010 x .005 = - =

DORCHESTER 1018 X 1% = - =

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

4. CATAWBA TRIBAL TAX 34-3766  Only complete this section if you are making sales on the reservation.
(A) (B) © (D)

LANCASTER 1029 X 6% = - =
YORK 1046 X 6% = - =

5.3% FOOD TAX  14-3715 (A) (B) () (D)
STATEWIDE | 0000 | X 3% = - =

ST-389, page 2 of 3

50633023

L



[ 1

Collection of Catawba Tribal Sales Tax

The Catawba Tribal Sales Tax is set aside in a tribal trust fund for the benefit of the tribe and its members. The reservation is located in parts
of York and Lancaster counties. The chart shown below illustrates the type of tax imposed and tax rate to be collected from various points of
delivery.

Tax Chart of Applicable Tax Type and Rates on Sales to Catawba Reservation

Explanation of Applicable Deliveries Tax Type Tax Rate
Retailers located on the reservation and making a sale (delivery) on the reservation Tribal Tax 6%
Retailers located within the state and off the reservation making a sale (delivery) on the Tribal Tax 6%
reservation greater than $100.00.
*Retailers located within the state and off the reservation making a sale (delivery) State Tax *5%
on the reservation of $100.00 or less. Only
*Retailers located outside the state (registered with DOR) making a sale (delivery) State Tax *5%
on the reservation Only

*Local taxes would not be applicable in these circumstances only.

Note: The tribal sales tax rates within the Reservation may change in the future. For additional information concerning the
tribal sales tax see SC Revenue Ruling #98-18.

50634021



NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential

Information in tax booklet about claiming refund. 2006
Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number
Business Name
Period ended *Page 3 of
For Office Name of County Net Taxable . Net Amount
Use Only or Jurisdiction Code Amount Tax Discount After Discount
cg— Listone entry per line. If additional lines for Local Option are needed, complete ST-389-A.
6. LOCAL OPTION TAX  34-2721 (A) (B) (©) (D)
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
Complete all pages of the ST-389 first, then enter totals here.
1. Add Column A from pages 1, 2, 3
and all ST389-A'S. ...coooeviiiiiiiiiiiee e, 1)
2. Add Column B from pages 1, 2, 3 and all ST389-A'S.........cccvvvvvvveennen.
3. Add Column D from pages 1, 2, 3 and all ST38O-A'S.......uuuuuiuiriiiiiriiiiiiereieeireeerrerteeaeeeaaaaaeaaeaaaaaaaanes 3
4. Penalty Interest OFFICE USE ONLY: 4
(Add Local Tax Penalty and Interest)
5. Total (Add lines 3 and 4) Enter amount on line 9, ST-3 or line 17, ST-388 or ST-403. ........ccccnneee 5

NOTE: Other counties may adopt local taxes at a later date.

For answers to questions pertaining to completing this form, please call (803) 898-5788.

50635028

Mail to: Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, Columbia, SC 29214-0101

ST-389, page 3 of 3



-

LOCAL OPTION NUMERICAL CODES FOR COUNTY/MUNICIPALITY

—

The four digit code(s) listed below are to be used when filing this form. Each code reflects the location at which the sale was
consummated. (Usually this is where the business is located, but it can be the place of delivery or physical presence by
acceptance of the goods sold; if different from the business location.)

Local Option Tax is applicable only to the counties listed below. Only names of incorporated towns are included in this listing. Other
counties may be added at a later date, by referendum.

If the sale is consummated in a municipality you must use the city code, not the general county code.

Name

Abbeville County
Abbeville (City)*
Calhoun Falls
Donalds

Due West

Honea Path
Lowndesville
Ware Shoals

Allendale County
Allendale (Town)*
Fairfax

Sycamore

Ulmers

Bamberg County
Bamberg (Town)*
Denmark

Ehrhardt

Govan

Olar

Barnwell County
Barnwell (City)*
Blackville

Elko

Hilda

Kline

Snelling

Williston

Berkeley County
Charleston (City)*
Bonneau

Goose Creek
Hanahan
Jamestown
Moncks Corner

St. Stephens
Summerville

Calhoun County
Cameron
St. Matthews

Charleston County
Charleston (City)*
Awendaw

Folly Beach
Hollywood

Isle of Palms
Kiawah Island
Lincolnville
McClellanville
Meggett

Mt. Pleasant

North Charleston

50b3k02kL

Code
1001
2005
2100
2212
2216
2425
2538
2944

1003
2015
2280
2889
2910

1005
2052
2204
2245
2346
2674

1006
2054
2070
2255
2408
2466
2835
2970

1008
2129
2076
2342
2382
2442
2600
2858
2876

1009
2106
2855

1010
2130
2038
2292
2420
2436
2462
2514
2573
2597
2609
2656

Name

Ravenel
Rockville
Seabrook Island
Sullivans Island
Summerville

Chester County
Chester (City)*
Fort Lawn

Great Falls
Lowrys

Richburg

Chesterfield County
Chesterfield (Town)*
Cheraw

Jefferson

McBee

Mount Croghan
Pageland

Patrick

Ruby

Clarendon County
Manning

Paxville

Summerton
Turbeville

Colleton County
Cottageville
Edisto Beach
Lodge

Smoaks
Walterboro
Williams

Darlington County
Darlington (City)*
Hartsville

Lamar

Society Hill

Dillon County
Dillon (City)*
Lake View
Latta

Edgefield County
Edgefield (Town)*
Johnston

North Augusta
Trenton

Fairfield County
Ridgeway
Winnsboro

Code

2745
2783
2812
2867
2875

1012
2139
2304
2354
2542
2755

1013
2142
2133
2444
2570
2606
2686
2695
2790
1014
2585
2698
2871
2905

1015
2172
2243
2530
2831
2940
2965

1016
2200
2392
2478
2837

1017
2208
2474
2494

1019
2240
2448
2653
2901

1020
2775
2972

Name

Florence County
Florence (City)*
Coward
Johnsonville

Lake City

Olanta

Pamplico

Quinby

Scranton
Timmonsville

Hampton County
Hampton (Town)*
Brunson

Estill

Furman

Gifford

Luray

Scotia

Varnville
Yemassee

Jasper County
Hardeeville
Ridgeland

Kershaw County
Bethune

Camden

Elgin

Lancaster County
Lancaster (City)*
Heath Spring
Kershaw

Laurens County
Laurens (City)*
Clinton

Cross Hill
Fountain Inn
Gray Court
Ware Shoals
Waterloo

Lee County
Bishopville
Lynchburg

Marion County
Marion (City)*
Mullins

Nichols

Sellers

Code

1021
2286
2175
2446
2470
2670
2689
2738
2810
2897

1025
2380
2082
2265
2320
2336
2546
2807
2932
2985

1027
2384
2765

1028
2064
2103
2250

1029
2482
2396
2460

1030
2498
2151
2181
2316
2350
2946
2947

1031
2066
2554

1034
2588
2612
2636
2813

Name

Marlboro County
Bennettsville
Blenheim

Clio

McColl

Tatum

McCormick County
McCormick (City)*
Parksville

Plum Branch

Pickens County
Pickens (City)*
Central

Clemson

Easley

Liberty

Norris

Six Mile

Richland County
Arcadia Lakes
Blythewood
Columbia
Eastover

Forest Acres
Irmo

Saluda County
Saluda (Town)*
Batesburg
Monetta

Ridge Spring
Ward

Sumter County
Sumter (City)*
Mayesville
Pinewood

Williamsburg County
Andrews

Greeleyville
Hemingway

Kingstree

Lane

Stuckey

Special Not

Code

1035
2062
2072
2154
2576
2895

1033
2582
2692
2722

1039
2716
2118
2148
2230
2510
2644
2828

1040
2030
2075
2160
2235
2298
2434

1041
2801
2057
2602
2760
2942

1043
2880
2594
2720

1045
2026
2358
2400
2463
2490
2864

ice

are delivered within a

*If your sales or purchases

town, you must use the CITY
or TOWN code to properly
identify the specific city.

city or




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ST-3890 |

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
(Rev. 1/22/07)

SCHEDULE FOR LOCAL TAXES AND UNPREPARED FOOD 5063
(Attach to form ST-3, ST-388, ST-403 when filed.) 2007

Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number

Business Name

Period ended Page 1 of

NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential Information in tax booklet about claiming refund.

For Office Name of County | Code Net Taxable Tax Discount Net Amount
Use Only or Jurisdiction Amount After Discount
1. CAPITAL PROJECT TAX 34-2726 (A) (B) (©) (D)

AIKEN 1002 X 1% = - =
DILLON 1017 X 1% = - =
HAMPTON 1025 X 1% = - =
NEWBERRY 1036 X 1% = - =
ORANGEBURG 1038 X 1% = - =
YORK 1046 X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

2. SCHOOL DISTRICT TAX 34-2730 (A) (B) (©€) (D)

CHEROKEE 5111 X 1% = - =
CHESTERFIELD | 5131 X 1% = - =
CLARENDON 5140 X 1% = - =
DARLINGTON 5161 X 1% = - =
JASPER 5271 X 1% = - =
LEXINGTON 5320 x 1% = - =
LEE 5311 X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

File Electronically - See page 2 of booklet.
All pages of ST-389 must be submitted.

page 1 of 3

50631027

L



ST-389 WORKSHEET
(If applicable)

1. Net Sales and Purchases (From line 6 of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet.) 1.
2. Catawba Tribal Sales (From line 4b Deductions of Sales and Use Tax Worksheet.) 2.
3. Total Sales and Purchases (Add lines 1 and 2.) 3.

4. Local Tax Allowable Deductions

Column A Column B
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. Catawba Sales less than $100.00 $
b. Sales Not Subject to Local Tax $
$
$
5. Total Allowable Deductions (Total Column B) 5.
6. Total Net Taxable Local Sales (Line 3 minus line 5.) 6.

Should agree with ST-389, Page 3, line 1, column A.

Note: When your sales, purchases and withdrawals are made or delivered into a locality with more than one local tax
and/or when tax is reported on the sale of unprepared food in a county with a local tax, the total on form ST-389 will
not agree with line 6.

Note: This form does not address the local taxes on sales that are collected directly by the counties or municipalities
(sales of accommodations or prepared meals). It only addresses the general local taxes collected by the Department of
Revenue on behalf of the counties, school districts, and the Catawba Indian tribal government.

CAPITAL PROJECT, CATAWBA TRIBAL, SCHOOL DISTRICT AND TRANSPORTATION
NUMERICAL CODES

As a result of specific legislation, certain counties and jurisdictions now impose additional sales and use taxes, which are identified as
Capital Project, Catawba Tribal, School District or Transportation Tax. These taxes are required to be reported based upon the county
or jurisdiction in which the sale consummates. (Usually this is where the business is located, but it can be the place of delivery or
physical presence by acceptance of the goods sold, if different from the business location). For your convenience, the counties and
jurisdictions that currently impose these additional taxes are listed on this form with their assigned four digit processing code.

50632025



I_ NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential _I
Information in tax booklet about claiming refund. 2007

Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number

Business Name
Period ended *Page 2 of

Net Amount

For Office Name of County Code Net Taxable
After Discount

L Tax i
Use Only or Jurisdiction Amount a Discount

3. TRANSPORTATION TAX 34-2728 (A) (B) ©) (D)

CHARLESTON 1010 x .005 = - =

DORCHESTER 1018 X 1% = - =

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - -

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

4. CATAWBA TRIBAL TAX 34-3766  Only complete this section if you are making sales on the reservation.
(A) (B) © (D)

LANCASTER 1029 X 7% = - =
YORK 1046 X 7% = - =

5. 3% TAX ON UNPREPARED FOOD  14-3715 (A) (B) () (D)
STATEWIDE | 0000 | X 3% = - =

ST-389, page 2 of 3
New Sales Tax Rate for Catawba Tribal Tax effective June 1, 2007

50633023

L



-

Collection of Catawba Tribal Sales Tax

—

The Catawba Tribal Sales Tax is set aside in a tribal trust fund for the benefit of the tribe and its members. The reservation is located in parts
of York and Lancaster counties. The chart shown below illustrates the type of tax imposed and tax rate to be collected from various points of

delivery.

**New Sales Tax Rate for Catawba Tribal Tax effective June 1, 2007

Tax Chart of Applicable Tax Type and Rates on Sales to Catawba Reservation

Explanation of Applicable Deliveries Tax Type Tax Rate | Tax Rate
Retailers located on the reservation and making a sale (delivery) on the reservation Tribal Tax 6% **7%
Retailers located within the state and off the reservation making a sale (delivery) on the Tribal Tax 6% *7%
reservation greater than $100.00.
*Retailers located within the state and off the reservation making a sale (delivery) State Tax *5% *6%
on the reservation of $100.00 or less. Only
*Retailers located outside the state (registered with DOR) making a sale (delivery) State Tax *5% *6%
on the reservation Only

*Local taxes would not be applicable in these circumstances only.

Note: The tribal sales tax rates within the Reservation may change in the future. For additional information concerning the tribal

sales tax see SC Revenue Ruling #98-18.

50634021



NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; See Essential

Information in tax booklet about claiming refund. 2007
Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number
Business Name
Period ended *Page 3 of
For Office Name of County Net Taxable . Net Amount
Use Only or Jurisdiction Code Amount Tax Discount After Discount
cg— Listone entry per line. If additional lines for Local Option are needed, complete ST-389-A.
6. LOCAL OPTION TAX  34-2721 (A) (B) (©) (D)
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
X 1% = =
Complete all pages of the ST-389 first, then enter totals here.
1. Add Column A from pages 1, 2, 3
and all ST389-A'S. ...coooeviiiiiiiiiiiee e, 1)
2. Add Column B from pages 1, 2, 3 and all ST389-A'S.........cccvvvvvvveennen.
3. Add Column D from pages 1, 2, 3 and all ST38O-A'S.......uuuuuiuiriiiiiriiiiiiereieeireeerrerteeaeeeaaaaaeaaeaaaaaaaanes 3
4. Penalty Interest OFFICE USE ONLY: 4
(Add Local Tax Penalty and Interest)
5. Total (Add lines 3 and 4) Enter amount on line 9, ST-3 or line 17, ST-388 or ST-403. ........ccccnneee 5

NOTE: Other counties may adopt local taxes at a later date.

For answers to questions pertaining to completing this form, please call (803) 898-5788.

50635028

Mail to: Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, Columbia, SC 29214-0101

ST-389, page 3 of 3



-

LOCAL OPTION NUMERICAL CODES FOR COUNTY/MUNICIPALITY

—

The four digit code(s) listed below are to be used when filing this form. Each code reflects the location at which the sale was
consummated. (Usually this is where the business is located, but it can be the place of delivery or physical presence by
acceptance of the goods sold; if different from the business location.)

Local Option Tax is applicable only to the counties listed below. Only names of incorporated towns are included in this listing. Other
counties may be added at a later date, by referendum.

If the sale is consummated in a municipality you must use the city code, not the general county code.

Name

Abbeville County
Abbeville (City)*
Calhoun Falls
Donalds

Due West

Honea Path
Lowndesville
Ware Shoals

Allendale County
Allendale (Town)*
Fairfax

Sycamore

Ulmers

Bamberg County
Bamberg (Town)*
Denmark

Ehrhardt

Govan

Olar

Barnwell County
Barnwell (City)*
Blackville

Elko

Hilda

Kline

Snelling

Williston

Berkeley County
Charleston (City)*
Bonneau

Goose Creek
Hanahan
Jamestown
Moncks Corner

St. Stephens
Summerville

Calhoun County
Cameron
St. Matthews

Charleston County
Charleston (City)*
Awendaw

Folly Beach
Hollywood

Isle of Palms
James Island
Kiawah Island
Lincolnville
McClellanville
Meggett

Mt. Pleasant

50b3k02kL

Code
1001
2005
2100
2212
2216
2425
2538
2944

1003
2015
2280
2889
2910

1005
2052
2204
2245
2346
2674

1006
2054
2070
2255
2408
2466
2835
2970

1008
2129
2076
2342
2382
2442
2600
2858
2876

1009
2106
2855

1010
2130
2038
2292
2420
2436
2441
2462
2514
2573
2597
2609

Name

North Charleston
Ravenel
Rockville
Seabrook Island
Sullivans Island
Summerville

Chester County
Chester (City)*
Fort Lawn

Great Falls
Lowrys

Richburg

Chesterfield County

Chesterfield (Town)*

Cheraw
Jefferson
McBee

Mount Croghan
Pageland
Patrick

Ruby
Clarendon County
Manning
Paxville
Summerton
Turbeville

Colleton County
Cottageville
Edisto Beach
Lodge

Smoaks
Walterboro
Williams

Darlington County
Darlington (City)*
Hartsville

Lamar

Society Hill

Dillon County
Dillon (City)*
Lake View
Latta

Edgefield County
Edgefield (Town)*
Johnston

North Augusta
Trenton

Fairfield County
Ridgeway
Winnsboro

Code

2656
2745
2783
2812
2867
2875

1012
2139
2304
2354
2542
2755

1013
2142
2133
2444
2570
2606
2686
2695
2790
1014
2585
2698
2871
2905

1015
2172
2243
2530
2831
2940
2965

1016
2200
2392
2478
2837

1017
2208
2474
2494

1019
2240
2448
2653
2901

1020
2775
2972

Name

Florence County
Florence (City)*
Coward
Johnsonville
Lake City

Olanta

Pamplico

Quinby

Scranton
Timmonsville

Hampton County
Hampton (Town)*
Brunson

Estill

Furman

Gifford

Luray

Scotia

Varnville
Yemassee

Jasper County
Hardeeville
Ridgeland

Kershaw County
Bethune

Camden

Elgin

Lancaster County
Lancaster (City)*
Heath Spring
Kershaw

Laurens County
Laurens (City)*
Clinton

Cross Hill
Fountain Inn
Gray Court
Ware Shoals
Waterloo

Lee County
Bishopville
Lynchburg

Marion County
Marion (City)*
Mullins

Nichols

Sellers

Code

1021
2286
2175
2446
2470
2670
2689
2738
2810
2897

1025
2380
2082
2265
2320
2336
2546
2807
2932
2985

1027
2384
2765

1028
2064
2103
2250

1029
2482
2396
2460

1030
2498
2151
2181
2316
2350
2946
2947

1031
2066
2554

1034
2588
2612
2636
2813

Name

Marlboro County
Bennettsville
Blenheim

Clio

McColl

Tatum

McCormick County
McCormick (City)*
Parksville

Plum Branch

Pickens County
Pickens (City)*
Central
Clemson

Easley

Liberty

Norris

Six Mile

Richland County
Arcadia Lakes
Blythewood
Columbia
Eastover

Forest Acres

Irmo

Saluda County
Saluda (Town)*
Batesburg
Monetta

Ridge Spring
Ward

Sumter County
Sumter (City)*
Mayesville
Pinewood

Williamsburg County

Andrews
Greeleyville
Hemingway
Kingstree
Lane
Stuckey

Code

1035
2062
2072
2154
2576
2895

1033
2582
2692
2722

1039
2716
2118
2148
2230
2510
2644
2828

1040
2030
2075
2160
2235
2298
2434

1041
2801
2057
2602
2760
2942

1043
2880
2594
2720

1045
2026
2358
2400
2463
2490
2864

Special Notice

*If your sales or purchases
are delivered within a city or
town, you must use the CITY
or TOWN code to properly
identify the specific city.




ST-389A--Local Option Addendum
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Ny ST-380-A |
LOCAL OPTION ADDENDUM ey

(Attach to form ST-389)

Retail License or Use Tax
Registration Number

Business Name

Period ended Page of

NOTE: No credits should be taken on this form; please see essential information about claiming refund.

*If more space is needed, copy this form and change page numbers above.

"= List one entry per line.

6. LOCAL OPTION TAX 34-2721 (A) (B) ©) (D)

For Office Name Code Net Taxable Local Discount | Net Amount
Use Only of County Amount Tax After

or Jurisdiction Discount

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

X 1% = - =

5135171k



-

LOCAL OPTION NUMERICAL CODES FOR COUNTY/MUNICIPALITY

—

The four digit code(s) listed below are to be used when filing this form. Each code reflects the location at which the sale was
consummated. (Usually this is where the business is located, but it can be the place of delivery or physical presence by
acceptance of the goods sold; if different from the business location.)

Local Option Tax is applicable only to the counties listed below. Only names of incorporated towns are included in this listing. Other
counties may be added at a later date, by referendum.

If the sale is consummated in a municipality you must use the city code, not the general county code.

Name

Abbeville County
Abbeville (City)*
Calhoun Falls
Donalds

Due West

Honea Path
Lowndesville
Ware Shoals

Allendale County
Allendale (Town)*
Fairfax

Sycamore

Ulmers

Bamberg County
Bamberg (Town)*
Denmark

Ehrhardt

Govan

Olar

Barnwell County
Barnwell (City)*
Blackville

Elko

Hilda

Kline

Snelling

Williston

Berkeley County
Charleston (City)*
Bonneau

Goose Creek
Hanahan
Jamestown
Moncks Corner

St. Stephens
Summerville

Calhoun County
Cameron
St. Matthews

Charleston County
Charleston (City)*
Awendaw

Folly Beach
Hollywood

Isle of Palms
Kiawah Island
Lincolnville
McClellanville
Meggett

Mt. Pleasant

North Charleston

51352714

Code
1001
2005
2100
2212
2216
2425
2538
2944

1003
2015
2280
2889
2910

1005
2052
2204
2245
2346
2674

1006
2054
2070
2255
2408
2466
2835
2970

1008
2129
2076
2342
2382
2442
2600
2858
2876

1009
2106
2855

1010
2130
2038
2292
2420
2436
2462
2514
2573
2597
2609
2656

Name

Ravenel
Rockville
Seabrook Island
Sullivans Island
Summerville

Chester County
Chester (City)*
Fort Lawn

Great Falls
Lowrys

Richburg

Chesterfield County
Chesterfield (Town)*
Cheraw

Jefferson

McBee

Mount Croghan
Pageland

Patrick

Ruby

Clarendon County
Manning

Paxville

Summerton
Turbeville

Colleton County
Cottageville
Edisto Beach
Lodge

Smoaks
Walterboro
Williams

Darlington County
Darlington (City)*
Hartsville

Lamar

Society Hill

Dillon County
Dillon (City)*
Lake View
Latta

Edgefield County
Edgefield (Town)*
Johnston

North Augusta
Trenton

Fairfield County
Ridgeway
Winnsboro

Code

2745
2783
2812
2867
2875

1012
2139
2304
2354
2542
2755

1013
2142
2133
2444
2570
2606
2686
2695
2790
1014
2585
2698
2871
2905

1015
2172
2243
2530
2831
2940
2965

1016
2200
2392
2478
2837

1017
2208
2474
2494

1019
2240
2448
2653
2901

1020
2775
2972

Name

Florence County
Florence (City)*
Coward
Johnsonville

Lake City

Olanta

Pamplico

Quinby

Scranton
Timmonsville

Hampton County
Hampton (Town)*
Brunson

Estill

Furman

Gifford

Luray

Scotia

Varnville
Yemassee

Jasper County
Hardeeville
Ridgeland

Kershaw County
Bethune

Camden

Elgin

Lancaster County
Lancaster (City)*
Heath Spring
Kershaw

Laurens County
Laurens (City)*
Clinton

Cross Hill
Fountain Inn
Gray Court
Ware Shoals
Waterloo

Lee County
Bishopville
Lynchburg

Marion County
Marion (City)*
Mullins

Nichols

Sellers

Code

1021
2286
2175
2446
2470
2670
2689
2738
2810
2897

1025
2380
2082
2265
2320
2336
2546
2807
2932
2985

1027
2384
2765

1028
2064
2103
2250

1029
2482
2396
2460

1030
2498
2151
2181
2316
2350
2946
2947

1031
2066
2554

1034
2588
2612
2636
2813

Name

Marlboro County
Bennettsville
Blenheim

Clio

McColl

Tatum

McCormick County
McCormick (City)*
Parksville

Plum Branch

Pickens County
Pickens (City)*
Central

Clemson

Easley

Liberty

Norris

Six Mile

Richland County
Arcadia Lakes
Blythewood
Columbia
Eastover

Forest Acres
Irmo

Saluda County
Saluda (Town)*
Batesburg
Monetta

Ridge Spring
Ward

Sumter County
Sumter (City)*
Mayesville
Pinewood

Williamsburg County
Andrews

Greeleyville
Hemingway

Kingstree

Lane

Stuckey

Special Not

Code

1035
2062
2072
2154
2576
2895

1033
2582
2692
2722

1039
2716
2118
2148
2230
2510
2644
2828

1040
2030
2075
2160
2235
2298
2434

1041
2801
2057
2602
2760
2942

1043
2880
2594
2720

1045
2026
2358
2400
2463
2490
2864

ice

are delivered within a

*If your sales or purchases

town, you must use the CITY
or TOWN code to properly
identify the specific city.

city or




SC8822 - Change of

Address/Business
(Formerly Form ST-395)

This form is used to provide information relative to change of
business location.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

CHANGE OF ADDRESS/ BUSINESS LOCATION 3314

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SC8822
(Rev. 9/12/06)

—

Please complete this form to notify the South Carolina Department of Revenue of a change of address and/or

business location for an individual or business. Please print or type all information.

Check applicable box: ] Individual - Complete Part | SID #
[0 Business - Complete Part II
] Both - Complete Part I and II
Part | - Individual Change of Address Effective Date
1. Name Social Security Number
2. Spouse's Name Social Security Number

3. Prior Name
(Complete Line 3 if you or your spouse changed last name due to marriage, divorce, etc.)

4a. Old Address 4b. Spouse's Old Address (if different from 4a.)

5. New Address 6. New Telephone Number (include Area Code)
7. County

Signature Spouse's Signature

Part Il - Business Change of Address/Location Effective Date

Important - A change of ownership will require the business to register for new accounts.
Account numbers must be listed before address changes can be made.

1. Address Change Applies To: L] Corporate Account # 2
] sales* Account # 0
] withholding** Account # 25
L] other Account #

*A change to Sales Tax may require the return of your retail license (See Instructions on Reverse).
**Do you wish to re-order a withholding coupon book? Yes [ No O

2. Federal Identification Number (FEIN) (If required by Internal Revenue Service)

3. Name of Business

4. Owner/Partner/Corporate Name (if different from 3)

Lines 5 and 6 should reflect the physical/street address of the business - no PO boxes.

5. New Business Address 6. Previous Business Address
Address Address
County County
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip

7. New Mailing Address 8. Previous Mailing Address
Address Address
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip

9. Telephone Number (after Date of Change)

Telephone Number effective for all taxes? [ Yes L] No If not, provide other telephone numbers and specify

applicable taxes.

(Continued on Back)

33141011



10.  Business within Municipal Limits: L Yes L] No  If Yes, which City?

11.  Description of Business Activity:

12. | ocation of Records (after Date of Change) for:
Sales Withholding Corporate

13. Names of Business Owners/Partners/Officers - Social Security Number(s) Required for Owners/Partners:

Name Social Security Number Address % Owned

Signature of Owner/Partner/Officer

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Part| - Individual:

(1) Department records will be updated to reflect the change of address as soon as possible after receipt of this form. If you
wish this change to be effective on a specific date, indicate the date.

(2) Provide complete name and Social Security Number. This will enable the Department of Revenue to locate your records.

(3) Complete prior name on Line #3 in the case of a legal name change (enclose a copy of name change document), marriage
or divorce. Indicate the full name used previously.

(4) Signatures are required from each person affected by the change of address.

MAIL TO: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, INCOME TAX, COLUMBIA, S.C. 29214-0015
Part Il - Business:

(1) A change of ownership requires the new owner to register for all new tax accounts. Tax accounts cannot be transferred
from one owner to another. The new owner will be required to complete a Business Tax Application, Form SCTC-111.

(2) The following location changes will require the issuance of a new Sales Tax Retail License:
- A change in location from one county to another within South Carolina;
- A change from an out-of-state location to a location within South Carolina; or
- A change from a location within South Carolina to an out-of-state location.
These changes require the return of your current license; a new license will be issued with the corrected information.
Attach the current license to this form.

(3) Provide the current South Carolina Account numbers for each account to which the change applies. Attach a separate
sheet if needed.

(4) Provide the Federal Identification Number (FEIN) and full name of the business as registered with the Department of
Revenue. Any corporate name provided should be the same name registered with the South Carolina Secretary of State.

(5) Lines 5 and 6 should reflect the actual physical address of the business. Do not use a post office box. The county for the
location is required.

(6) Line 11 should list a specific description of the business activity.

(7) Line 12 should reflect the location of the books/records of the business. Provide the name of the person responsible for the
care of the book/records.

(8) Update the current owners/partners/officers of the business on Line 13.

(9) The signature of an owner/partner/officer (or authorized representative) is required.

MAIL TO: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, ATTN: LICENSE & REGISTRATION, COLUMBIA, S.C. 29214-0140

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security humber on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an
individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any
person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing
proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of Revenue is limited to
the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by the
Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family
Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third parties for commercial solicitation purposes.

33142019
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ST-405 - Certificate to Limit to $300
the Maximum Sales/Use Tax on
Sales of Self-Propelled Light
Construction Equipment

Self-propelled light construction equipment used for construction
purposes is subject to a $300 maximum sales tax cap. This form is to
be completed by the purchaser and given to the seller as proof that
the purchase was for an allowable purpose in the event the seller is
questioned on the sale.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST'405
CERTIFICATE TO LIMIT TO THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS (7124/02)

($300.00) THE MAXIMUM SALES/USE TAX ON SALES OF 5096
SELF PROPELLED LIGHT CONSTRUCTION EQUIPMENT

Purchaser's Statement:

As purchaser, | certify that the equipment being purchased is used for construction purposes (i.e. building or making
additions to real property). | understand that if equipment is purchased for any other use such as maintenance or repair
(i.e. road repair, mowing, golf course maintenance or in a landfill), the $300.00 maximum tax does not apply.
Furthermore, | understand that by extending this certificate that | am assuming liability for the sales or use tax due. If this
equipment is used for other than construction purposes, the full rate of the tax applies.

Name of Purchaser

(Please Print)
Address

(Street) (City) (State) (21P)
Kind of Business Engaged in by Purchaser

Name of Seller

Seller's Retail License Number

(000-00000-0)
Date of Sale Invoice Number

Amount of Sale $

Description of Self Propelled Light Construction Equipment and Compatible Attachments Purchased:

For what purpose will the equipment be used:

Net Engine Horsepower (may not exceed 160 net engine horsepower)

Signed

Signature of Purchaser (Owner, Partner or Corp. Officer)

(Title)

(Date)

Article 21, Chapter 36, of Title 12 of the 1976 Code.

Pursuant to Code Section 12-36-2110(A)(7), the maximum sales or use tax imposed is $300 of each self propelled light
construction equipment with compatible attachments limited to a maximum of one hundred sixty net engine horsepower.



ST-455 - State Sales, Use,
Maximum Tax and Special Filers
Tax Return
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State of South Carolina

STATE SALES, USE, MAXIMUM TAX AND SPECIAL FILERS TAX RETURN
Mail To: SC Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, Columbia, SC 29214-0101

S

ST-455
(Rev. 1/2/07)
5162

If the business is closed permanently, please indicate date of closing
, and return the

scannable form, which MUST be completed in black ink only.

1 Check if address change and make corrections below.

license. This is a

RETAIL LICENSE OR USE TAX REGISTRATION

If the area below is blank, fill in name, address, SSN and Federal Identification Number

FEI NO.

SID NO.

FOR FIELD USE ONLY

—

COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET ON THE REVERSE SIDE FIRST.

14-4701/14-4702

Period Ended

File Return On or By

14-3701/14-3702

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

51621019

All Gross Prot_:eeds of Sales/Rental, ’
Use Tall_x and \;Vlthdlzaxvals for Own Use Column A Column B
1. (From line 3 of worksheet) Sales/Use 6%(Tax Rate) Sales/Use 5% (Tax Rate)
Total Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rental,
Use Tax and Withdrawals for Own Use
1A.| (From line 6 and 15 of worksheet) >
Total Deductions and Subtractions ’
2. (From line 11 and 20 of worksheet)
Net Taxable Sales ’
3. | (line 1A minus line 2 for each column)
4. | Tax Due (Line 3 x Tax Rate)
Taxpayer's Discount (See instructions.
5. | For timely filed returns only.)
Balance Due (Subtract line 5 from line ’
6. | 4 for each column.)
7. Penalty (See Instr.)
7A. Interest (See Instr.)
Total Penalty and Interest (Add lines 7
7B.| and 7A for each column.) ’
Amount Due (Add lines 6 and 7B for each
8. | column.)
Total Due
8A.| (Addline8of Columns AandB.) ...
Tax Due From ST-389 (From Column D,
9. | line 5, last page of form ST-389) | i
Total Remittance Due
10.| (Addline8Aand9otCoumnc) B |




[ SALES AND USE TAX WORKSHEET

Sales and Use Tax - Column A

1. Gross Proceeds of Sales, Rentals and Withdrawals for Own Use 1.
(Total of All Sales)

2. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 2.

3. Total (Add lines 1 and 2. Enter here and on line 1, column A, on front of return.) 3.

6% SALES AND USE TAX - Column A

4. Gross Proceeds of Sales/Rentals and Withdrawals of Inventory for Own Use 4.

(Sales subject to 6% tax rate requirements)

5. Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 5

6. Total Gross Proceeds at 6% (Add lines 4 and 5. Enter here and on line 1A, Column A 6.

on front of return.)

7. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (Itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)

Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" > $
b. **sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation $
$
$
$
$
$
8.
8. Total Amount of Deductions <
9.
9. Subtotal (Line 6 minus line 8.)
If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, enter the total amount on line 1 of ST-389 worksheet.
10.
10. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. <

* Please see new information on front inside cover.

11. Total Deductions and Subtractions (Add lines 8 and 10. Enter total here and on line 2, 11.

Column A on front of return.)

12. Net Sales and Purchases (Line 6 minus line 11 should agree with line 3, column A on front 12.

of ST-455.)

| hereby certify that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is a true and accurate return.

Taxpayer signature Owner, Partner or Title

Date

51622017



-

13.

14.

15.

5% SALES AND USE TAX - Column B

Gross Proceeds of Sales/ Accommodations Rentals and Withdrawals for Own 13.
Use

Out-of-State Purchases Subject to Use Tax 14.
Total Gross Proceeds at 5% (Add lines 13 and 14. Enter here and on line 1A, Column 15.

B on front of return.)

16. Sales and Use Tax Allowable Deductions (Itemize by Type of Deduction and Amount of Deduction)
Type of Deduction Amount of Deduction
a. *Sales Exempt During "Sales Tax Holiday" > $
b. **sales over $100.00 delivered onto Catawba Reservation $
$
$
$
$
$
17. Total Amount of Deductions 17. <
18. Subtotal (Line 15 minus line 17.)
If local tax and/or tax on food is applicable, add lines 18 and 9. Enter this amount on line 1 18.
of ST-389 worksheet.
19. Unprepared Food Sales (Taxed at 3%) Enter amount here and in section 5 of the ST-389. 19. <

20.

21.

* Please see new information on front inside cover.

Total Deductions and Subtractions (Add lines 17 and 19. Enter total here and on line 2, 20.

Column B on front of return.)

Net Sales and Purchases (Line 15 minus line 20 should agree with line 3, Column B on 21.
front of ST-455.)

51623015



UT-3 - Individual Purchase Use Tax
Return

This form is used by individuals who are not required to file a sales
tax return but who have use tax to report on purchases made from

out-of-state. The UT-3 is also found in the individual income tax
booklet.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

SC USE TAX WORKSHEET

UT-3W

(Rev. 9/21/06)

—

—

3276
The 5% State sales and use tax is used 100% to fund public education.
Column A Column B Column C Column D Column E
Date of Name of Total Price of Purchases Sales or Use Tax due Amount Taxable
Purchase Store/ (includes shipping & handling, | and paid to another state| (subtract Column D
Company/ and sales tax paid, any| orlocal jurisdiction from Column C)
Vendor warranty costs accompanying
the purchase)
$ $ $
$ $ $
$ $ $
$ $ $
$ $ $
$ $ $
$ $ $
Total of Column C: Total of Column D: Total of Column E:
Line 1 $ $ $
Your County's state and local sales and use tax rate. SC state rate is 5% plus .
Line 2 applicable local tax rate. See instructions on back. Yo
Line 3 Multiply Line 1, Column E, by the rate on Line 2 $
Tax due and paid other state and local jurisdictions
Line4 (Enter total from Line 1, Column D here) $
Line 5 SC Use Tax Due. Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. Enter here and on your Use
Tax Payment Return, or Individual Income Tax Return, or when filing online at
www.sctax.org Round to the nearest dollar and make check or money order | $
payable to: SC Department of Revenue.
CULhEre -----m-erecmcmmce e ie e cmiececrccccm e cccc e cnao e cut here
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA UT-3
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE (Rev. 8/24/06) 3276
USE TAX PAYMENT RETURN || ¥oNe:
TAX YEAR:
First Name Last Name Social Security Number
| 4
Street Address City State Zip
County Municipality Name Office Use Only
Mail To:

South Carolina Department of Revenue, Sales Tax, Columbia, SC 29214-0110
When signing this form, it is important that the information contained in your report be

SC USE TAX (Enter From
Line 5 of the Worksheet). }
14-3712

.00

correct and complete. To willfully furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the

Department is a

Taxpayer's Sign

32761

misdemeanor.

ature

Date

07




|_ Instructions for SC Use Tax Worksheet _|

DO NOT USE THIS RETURN IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY A SALES TAX LICENSEE OR HAVE A USE TAX
REGISTRATION NUMBER.

Please keep the top portion of this worksheet with your records. Record purchases subject to use tax. You pay your use tax on the
detachable bottom portion of this form, on your individual income tax return, or when filing on-line at www.sctax.org

Use Tax: Purchases of tangible goods for use in South Carolina on which no South Carolina sales or use tax has been paid are
subject to the use tax. Examples include: catalog purchases, goods bought on-line over the internet, or furniture purchased out of state
and delivered in South Carolina on which no or insufficent South Carolina tax was paid. (Contrary to popular misconception, the federal
Internet Tax Freedom Act governs taxation of access to the internet through your internet-access provider. Goods purchased over the
internet are not tax free.) When figuring your use tax liability, please review any credit card statements from the taxable year. In
addition, please recall any large purchases made during the taxable year.

Credit: You are allowed a credit against SC use tax for the amount of tax due and paid to another state or local jurisdiction. For
example, if you purchased furniture and took delivery of the furniture in another state, and paid that state's 4% sales tax, you would
calculate the SC use tax at 5%, plus local option taxes, and subtract from the total 4% paid to the other state.

SALES AND USE TAX RATES BY COUNTY

Use the sales tax rate of the county in which you are located or other applicable rate wherever tangible personal property was
delivered. The state's basic sales tax rate is five percent (5%). Currently, some counties impose a local sales and use tax in addition to
the state's basic rate. The chart below contains a combined tax rate of the state's basic rate along with the local tax rate of some
counties. To verify a county's tax rate or determine if a county's tax rate has changed, please call (803) 898-5788.

SALES AND USE TAX RATES BY COUNTY AS OF OCTOBER 1, 2006

COUNTY RATE COUNTY RATE
Abbeville ... 6% Greenwood

AIKEN .o 6% Hampton .......c.ccceevveveeveeseeenne.
Allendale .......ccccevvvvvveeeeiienene. 7% HOITY et
ANderson ......cccccceeeeeeee, 5% JASPEN evviiieiieee e
Bamberg .....ccoccceeeiiiiiiiiiins 6% Kershaw ........cccoceeevencneincnnnnn.
Barnwell .......ccocoeeveveiiiiiiiiiinnnnn, 6% LaNCASLET .....covveeveeireeireeirieerens
Beaufort .........ccooeeeiviiiiiieeiinnnnn. 5% LAUIENS ...ooeeeeeeeeeeeieeeeeeeeeea
Berkeley .......coovveviiiiiiiiiii, 6% LEE it
Calhoun ......ccoceeeeiveiiieiiiiiin, 6% Lexington .......c.ceveevveeveerieinnns
Charleston ..........cccoovvvviivnnnn. 6.5% McCormick

Cherokee ......cccooeeeeeeieeeiiiiiinnnn, 6% Marion .......cccveivieeeiec e
Chester ........ooovvviiiieieneeeiiieiin, 6% Marlboro ........cceevveeveceecnennn.
Chesterfield .........cccccccvvvvinnnnns 7% NEWDEITY ..veeeiiiieieieciieeiie i
Clarendon .......cccoeeeeeeeviievinnnnnnn. 7% OCONEE ...vovevveecieecee e
Colleton .....ccceeeeeveeiieieiiiiiieeennn. 6% Orangeburg

Darlington ........cccccevviiiiiiennnnnn. 7% PiCkeNS ..o
[5]11 o] o 7% Richland ............ccccoeeeiiiiineens
Dorchester ..........oeeveeeeeccnnnnnns 6% Saluda ....coeevveeeieeceee e
Edgefield ......cccovvvveeviiiiiinienn, 6% Spartanburg

Fairfield ........cooevveeieiieeeeeeeenn, 6% SUMET v
Florence ......cccccccninnn, 6% UNION o
Georgetown ........ooeeeeeiieeiee 5% Williamsburg

Greenville .....ccceeeeveiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnn. 5% YOIK oo

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's
social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to
make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your
social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of Revenue is limited to the
information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by the Department,
it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family Privacy Protection Act
prevents such information from being used by third parties for commercial solicitation purposes.

3272015
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Numbers to call

All phone numbers are in the 803 area code

SALES/USE AND ACCOMMODATIONS TAX

Accommodations Tax 898-5788
Extensions 898-5800
Failure to File 898-5788
Form ST 236 Or Refunds 898-5800
General Questions 898-5788
Local Option Sales Tax 898-5800
Rental Surcharge 898-5800
Technical Questions on Sales, Use, Local Option, 898-5744
Accommodation & Miscellaneous Tax Questions
ELECTRONIC SERVICES
E-Sales Information & Assistance 898-5111
Electronic Fund Transfers (EFT) 898-5740 or
(800) 476-0311
Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) 898-5310 or
(800) 379-9409
Business Tax TeleFile (Registration & Filing) 898-5918
Business Tax TeleFile (Sales Tax Help Line) 898-5800
Business Tax TeleFile Help Line 898-5111

Business Tax TeleFile E-mail

telefile@sctax.org

OTHER HELPFUL TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE
Alcoholic Beverage License (Beer, Wine & Alcoholic Liquors) 898-5864

Business Personal Property 898-5222
Business Taxpayer Registration (Retail Licenses) 898-5872
Copies of Previously Filed Forms 898-5851
Forms Fax on Demand 898-5320 or
(800) 768-3676
Problems Resolution Office 898-5873
Taxpayer Advocate 898-5444

Internet AddreSS.....ovmmeiiiiiieciiieeeeiaeeeenes

125
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TAXPAYER SERVICE CENTERS

Charleston Service Center: 3 South Park Circle
Suite 202
Charleston, S.C. 29407
Phone: 843-852-3600
Fax: 843-556-1780

Columbia Main Office: 301 Gervais Street
P.O. Box 125
Columbia, S.C. 29214
Phone: 803-898-5000
Fax: 803-898-5822

Florence Service Center: 1452 West Evans Street
P.O. Box 5418
Florence, S.C. 29502
Phone: 843-661-4850
Fax: 843-662-4876

Greenville Service Center: 211 Century Drive
Suite 210-B
Greenville, SC 29607
Phone: 864-241-1200
Fax: 864-232-5008

Myrtle Beach Service Center 1330 Howard Parkway
P.O. Box 30427
Myrtle Beach, S.C. 29588
Phone: 843-839-2960
Fax: 843-839-2964

Rock Hill Service Center: 454 South Anderson Road
Business and Technology Center
Suite 202
P.O. Box 12099
Rock Hill, S.C. 29731
Phone: 803-324-7641
Fax: 803-324-8289

Internet AddressS......ccvveveriiiverieieceneneees. WWW.SCtax.org
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