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 Introduction 
_____________________________________________________________ 
 
The purpose of this handbook is to assist business owners, employees, 
accountants and others in gaining a better understanding of the corporate tax 
laws and the impact these taxes may have on your business. We know that 
understanding your obligations is the first step in complying with tax laws. 
 
While we strive to present this manual correctly, it is possible some errors 
may be found. Furthermore, tax law changes rapidly.  The manual is written in 
general terms for widest possible use. It is intended as a guide only, and the 
application of its contents to specific situations will depend on the particular 
circumstances involved. It may not be relied on as a substitute for obtaining 
professional advice and researching original sources of authority. Nothing in 
this manual supersedes, alters or otherwise changes provisions of the South 
Carolina Code, regulations or department rulings. 
 
We would appreciate your suggestions regarding how we can make this 
workshop and manual more useful for you and your business. Please call 
Sara Unrue, Taxpayer Education Coordinator, at (803) 898-5593 or email 
your comments to TaxpayerEd@sctax.org.  
 

South Carolina Department of Revenue 
February 2011 

 

  

This manual was produced with the assistance of many Department of Revenue, 
South Carolina Secretary of State‟s Office, and South Carolina Business One Stop 
employees.  
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SSOOUUTTHH  CCAARROOLLIINNAA  SSEECCRREETTAARRYY  OOFF  SSTTAATTEE’’SS  OOFFFFIICCEE  
 
Selected Forms Filed in the Secretary of State’s Office for  

 
Corporate Business Filings 

 
 

I. Corporations – Domestic (in state) 
 
1.  How do I reserve my name if I am not ready to file to create my 
corporation? 
  
Application to Reserve Name (§33-4-102) 
  
This form is used to reserve a name for a corporation prior to incorporation.  The 
name may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day period.  If you are ready to 
incorporate, you may file Articles of Incorporation without first filing an application to 
reserve a name. 
 
The fee is $10.00 
 
2.  What do I file if I am ready to create the corporation? 
 
Articles of Incorporation (§33-2-102) 
 
This form is used to incorporate your business corporation.  A CL-1 Form must also 
be included with the Articles of Incorporation.  You may submit a total payment of 
$135 to the Secretary of State‟s Office. 
 
The fee is $110.00 
 
CL-1 Form 
 
The South Carolina Department of Revenue requires this form to be submitted with 
all Articles of Incorporation for a business corporation. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
As soon as the articles and CL-1 form are filed in the Secretary of State‟s Office, the 
corporation is created.  
 
3. Does an attorney need to sign the articles of incorporation? 
 
Yes. Articles of Incorporation must have an attorney‟s signature before filing at the 
Secretary of State‟s Office. 
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4. When will my filing become effective? 
 
SECTION 33-1-230. Effective time and date of filing.  
 
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section and Section 
33-1-240(c), a document accepted for filing is effective:  

1) at the time for filing on the date it is filed, as evidenced by the 
Secretary of State‟s date and time endorsement on the original document;  or  

2) at the time specified in the document as its effective time on the date it is filed.  
(b) A document may specify a delayed effective time and date, and if it does so the 
document becomes effective at the time and date specified.  If a delayed effective 
date but no time is specified, the document is effective at the close of business on 
that date.  A delayed effective date for a document may not be later than the 
ninetieth day after the date it is filed.  
 
5.  What is the Secretary of State’s role in the filing of my document?  
 
SECTION 33-1-250. Filing duty of Secretary of State.  
 
(a) If a document delivered to the office of the Secretary of State for filing satisfies 
the requirements of Section 33-1-200, the Secretary of State shall file it.  
(b) The Secretary of State files a document by stamping or otherwise endorsing 
“Filed”, together with his name and official title and the date and time of receipt, on 
both the original and document copy, together with a further endorsement that the 
document copy is a true copy of the original document.  After filing a document, 
except as provided in Sections 33-5-103 and 33-15-200, the Secretary of State shall 
deliver the document copy to the domestic or foreign corporation or its 
representative and the document copy must be retained as a part of the permanent 
records of the corporation.  
(c) If the Secretary of State refuses to file a document, he shall return it to the 
domestic or foreign corporation or its representative within five days after the 
document was delivered, together with a brief, written explanation of the reason for 
his refusal.  
(d) The Secretary of State‟s duty to file documents under this section is ministerial.  
His filing or refusing to file a document does not:  

1) affect the validity or invalidity of the document in whole or part;  
2) relate to the correctness or incorrectness of information contained in the 

document;  
3) create a presumption that the document is valid or invalid or that information 

contained in the document is correct or incorrect.  
 
6.  How long will my corporation last?  
 
Most corporations have a perpetual duration but a corporation may elect a shorter 
duration. 
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7.  What do I file to dissolve the corporation? 
 
Articles of Dissolution (§33-14-103)  
 
This form is used to dissolve the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Articles of Revocation of Dissolution (§33-14-104) 
  
This form is used to revoke Articles of Dissolution that were filed with the Secretary 
of State.  The Articles of Revocation must be filed within 120 days of the date the 
Articles of Dissolution were filed. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
8. What if my corporation is administratively dissolved? 
 
Application for Reinstatement of a Corporation Dissolved by an Administrative Action 
(§33-14-220)  
 
This form is used to reinstate a corporation that has been dissolved pursuant to an 
administrative action by the Secretary of State (ex: corporation is in forfeiture for 
failure to submit a tax return or annual report to the South Carolina Department of 
Revenue). 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
9.  What do I do if the registered agent changes or the address changes for the 
registered office? 
 
Notice of Change of Registered Office or Agent (§33-5-102)    
   
This form should be used to change the address of the registered office or to change 
the registered agent of the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Resignation of Registered Agent and Discontinuance of Registered Office (§33-15-
109)   
 
This form should be used by the registered agent when he or she will no longer 
serve as the registered agent and/or the address of the registered office will no 
longer be effective.  If the agent is resigning, but the address will still be valid, the 
fee is $3.00.  If the agent is going to continue as the registered agent but he or she 
is only changing the address of the registered office, the fee is $2.00.  If the 
registered agent is resigning and the registered address will no longer be valid, the 
fee is $5.00. 
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Information on Foreign (out of state) corporations that wish to conduct 
business in South Carolina  
 
Application to Register a Name (§33-4-103)      
   
This form is used by a foreign corporation to register a name for a one-year period.  
This form does not authorize the foreign corporation to transact business in the state 
of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $10.00 
 
Application to Reserve Name (§33-4-102) 
 
This form is used to reserve a name for a corporation prior to applying for a 
Certificate of Authority.  The name may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day 
period.  If you are ready to apply for a Certificate of Authority, you may file the 
application without first filing an application to reserve a name. 
 
The fee is $10.00 
 
Notice of Transfer of a Reserved Name (§33-4-102(b)) 
                    
This form is used to transfer the right to use a reserved corporate name to another 
party. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Fictitious Name Form (§33-15-106)       
   
This form is used by a foreign corporation when their legal name is not available in 
South Carolina.  This is not the registration of a DBA (doing business as) or trade 
name.  This form should only be used by the foreign corporation when their legal 
name is not available for use in South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Application for a Certificate of Authority to Transact Business (§33-15-103)  
  
This form is used by a foreign corporation to apply for a Certificate of Authority to 
transact business in the state of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $110.00. 
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CL-1 Form            
    
The South Carolina Department of Revenue requires this form to be submitted along 
with all articles of incorporation for a business corporation. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
 
Application for an Amended Certificate of Authority to Transact Business (§33-15-
104)   
This form is used to amend the Certificate of Authority (ex: change the name of the 
corporation). 
 
The fee is $110.00. 
 
Application for Surrender of Authority to do Business (§33-15-200) 
 
This form is used for the corporation to withdraw its Certificate of Authority when it 
no longer wishes to conduct business in the state of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Application for Reinstatement of a Corp. When Cert. of Authority has been Revoked 
(§33-15-330)    This form is used to reinstate a corporation when the Certificate of 
Authority has been revoked pursuant to an administrative action by the Secretary of 
State (ex: corporation is in forfeiture for failure to pay a tax return or submit an 
annual report to the South Carolina Department of Revenue). 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
Notice of Change of Registered Office or Agent (§33-15-108) 
 
This form should be used to change the address of the registered office or to change 
the registered agent of the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Resignation of Registered Agent and Discontinuance of Registered Office (§33-15-
109)  
       
This form should be used by the registered agent when he or she will no longer 
serve as the registered agent and/or the address of the registered office will no 
longer be effective.  If the agent is resigning, but the address will still be valid, the 
fee is $3.00.  If the agent is going to continue as the registered agent but he or she 
is only changing the address of the registered office, the fee is $2.00.  If the 
registered agent is resigning and the registered address will no longer be valid, the 
fee is $5.00. 
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Nonprofit Corporations – Domestic (in state) 
 

1.  What do I file if I want to reserve my name? 
 

Application to Reserve Name (§33-31-402)      
   
This form is used to reserve a name for a corporation prior to incorporation.  The 
name may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day period.  If you are ready to 
incorporate, you may file Articles of Incorporation without first filing an application to 
reserve a name. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
2.  What do I file if I want to create a nonprofit corporation?  
 
Articles of Incorporation (§33-31-202) 
 
This form is used to incorporate the nonprofit corporation. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
501(c)(3) Attachment  
 
This form must be attached to the Articles of Incorporation if the nonprofit 
corporation is going to apply for 501(c) (3) tax-exempt status with the IRS. 
 
There is no fee for this filing.  
 
Restated Articles of Incorporation (§33-31-1006 
  
This form is used to consolidate articles of incorporation and all amendments that 
may have been made to the articles over the years into one document. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
3. When is my filing effective? 
 
SECTION 33-31-123. Effective date of document.  
 
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a document is effective:  

1) at the time of filing on the date it is filed, as evidenced by the Secretary of 
State‟s endorsement on the original document;  or  

2) at the time specified in the document as its effective time on the date it is filed.  
(b) A document may specify a delayed effective time and date and if it does so the 
document becomes effective at the time and date specified.  If a delayed effective 
date but no time is specified, the document is effective at the close of business on 
that date.  A delayed effective date for a document may not be later than the 
ninetieth day after the date filed.  
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4.  What is the filing duty of the Secretary of State’s Office? 
 
SECTION 33-31-125. Filing duty of the Secretary of State.  
 
(a) If a document delivered to the office of the Secretary of State for filing satisfies 
the requirements of Section 33-31-120, the Secretary of State shall file it.  
(b) The Secretary of State files a document by stamping or otherwise endorsing 
“filed”, together with his name and official title and date and time of receipt, on both 
the original and document copy, together with a further endorsement that the 
document is a true copy of the original document.  After filing a document, except as 
provided in Sections 33-31-503 and 33-31-1510, the Secretary of State shall deliver 
the document copy to the domestic or foreign corporation or its representative and 
the document copy must be retained as part of the permanent records of the 
corporation.  
(c) Upon refusing to file a document, the Secretary of State shall return it to the 
domestic or foreign corporation or its representative within five days after the 
document was delivered, together with a brief, written explanation of the reason or 
reasons for the refusal.  
(d) The Secretary of State‟s duty to file documents under this section is ministerial.  
His filing or refusing to file a document does not:  

1) affect the validity or invalidity of the document in whole or in part;  
2) relate to the correctness or incorrectness of information contained in the 

document;  or  
3) except as provided in Section 33-31-127, create a presumption that the 

document is valid or invalid or that information contained in the document is 
correct or incorrect.  

 
5. How long will my nonprofit corporation last? 
 
Most corporations are perpetual in duration, but a corporation may be limited in 
duration. 
 
6.  How do I dissolve my nonprofit corporation?  
 
Articles of Dissolution (§33-31-1404) 
 
This form is used to dissolve the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10:00.  
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Articles of Revocation of Dissolution (§33-31-1405)     
  
This form is used to revoke a dissolution that was filed with the Secretary of State.  
The Articles of Revocation must be filed within 120 days of the date the dissolution 
was filed. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Application for Reinstatement of a Corp. Dissolved by an Administrative Action (§33-
31-1422)             
 
This form is used to reinstate a corporation that has been dissolved pursuant to an 
administrative action by the Secretary of State (ex: corporation fails to maintain a 
registered agent or office).  The Application for Reinstatement must be filed within 
two years of the date of the administrative dissolution. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
7.  How do I change the registered agent? What if the address for the 
registered office changes? 
 
Notice of Change of Registered Office or Agent (§33-31-502)    
  
This form should be used to change the address of the registered office or to change 
the registered agent of the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Resignation of Registered Agent/ Discontinuance of Registered Office (§33-31-
1509) 
              
This form should be used by the registered agent when he or she will no longer 
serve as the registered agent and/or the address of the registered office will no 
longer be effective.  If the agent is resigning, but the address will still be valid, the 
fee is $3.00.  If the agent is going to continue as the registered agent but he or she 
is only changing the address of the registered office, the fee is $2.00.  If the 
registered agent is resigning and the registered address will no longer be valid, the 
fee is $5.00. 
 
Notice of Change of Principal Office (§33-31-505)     
   
This form is used to change the address of the principal office of the nonprofit 
corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
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Information on Foreign (out of state) Nonprofit Corporations that wish to 
conduct business in this state 

 
Application to Reserve a Name (§33-31-402) 
 
This form is used to reserve a name for a corporation prior to applying for a 
certificate of authority.  The name may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day 
period.  If you are ready to apply for a Certificate of Authority, you may file the 
application without first filing an application to reserve a name. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Notice of Change of Registered Office or Agent (§33-31-1508)   
   
This form should be used to change the address of the registered office or to change 
the registered agent of the corporation. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Resignation of Registered Agent/Discontinuance of Registered Office (§33-31-1509) 
           
This form should be used by the registered agent when he or she will no longer 
serve as the registered agent and the address of the registered office will no longer 
be effective.  If the agent is resigning, but the address will still be valid, the fee is 
$3.00.  If the agent is going to continue as the registered agent but he or she is only 
changing the address of the registered office, the fee is $2.00.  If the registered 
agent is resigning and the registered address will no longer be valid, the fee is 
$5.00. 
 
Notice of Change of Principal Office (§33-31-1515)     
   
This form should be used to change the address of the principal office of the 
nonprofit. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
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Limited Liability Companies – Domestic (in state) 
 

1. What do I file if I want to create an LLC? 
 

Application to Reserve Name (§33-44-106)      
   
This form is used to reserve a name for an LLC prior to organization.  The name 
may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day period.  If you are ready to organize, 
you may file articles of organization without first filing an application to reserve a 
name. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
Articles of Organization (§33-44-203)       
  
This form is used to organize the LLC under the laws of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $110.00. 
 
2. How do I dissolve my LLC? 
 
Articles of Termination (§33-44-805)       
  
This form should be used to terminate the legal existence of the LLC. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
3.  What if my LLC is dissolved by the Secretary of State’s Office? 
 
Application for Reinstatement of an LLC Dissolved by Administrative Action (§33-44-
811  
 
This form is used to reinstate an LLC that has been dissolved pursuant to an 
administrative action by the Secretary of State (ex: LLC is in forfeiture for failure to 
pay a fee, tax or penalty). 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
4.  What do I file if my agent changes or the address of the registered office 
changes? 
 
Notice of Change of Designated Office, Agent or Address of Registered Agent (§33-
44-109) 
  
This form should be used to change the address of the designated office of the LLC, 
the registered office where the registered agent may be found or to change the 
registered agent of the LLC.  The fee is $10.00. 
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Information on Foreign Limited Liability Companies  
 

Application to Register a Name (§33-44-1005)      
  
This form is used by a foreign LLC to register a one-year period.  This form does not 
authorize the foreign LLC to transact business in the state of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Application to Reserve a Name (§33-44-106) 
 
This form is used to reserve a name for a foreign LLC prior to applying for a 
Certificate of Authority.  The name may be reserved for a nonrenewable 120-day 
period.  If you are ready to apply for the Certificate of Authority, you may file articles 
of organization without first filing an application to reserve a name. 
 
The fee is $25.00. 
 
Fictitious Name Form (§33-44-1005)  
 
This form is used by a foreign LLC when their legal name is not available in South 
Carolina.  This is not the registration of a DBA (doing business as) or trade name.  
This form should only be used by the foreign LLC when their legal name is not 
available for use in South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $2.00. 
 
Application for a Certificate of Authority to Transact Business (§33-44-1002) 
 
This form is used by a foreign LLC to apply for a Certificate of Authority to transact 
business in the state of South Carolina. 
 
Application for an Amended Certificate of Authority to Transact Business (§33-44-
1002)  $110.00 
This form is used to make any amendments to the Certificate of Authority (ex: 
change the LLC‟s name). 
 
The fee is $110.00. 
 
Certificate of Cancellation of Authority to Transact Business (§33-44-1002)  
  
This form should be used to cancel the Certificate of Authority when the LLC no 
longer wishes to conduct business in the state of South Carolina. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
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Resignation of Agent for Service of Process (§33-44-110)  
This form should be used by the registered agent when he or she will no longer 
serve as the registered agent and/or the address of the registered office will no 
longer be effective. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
Notice of Change of Designated Office, Agent or Agent‟s Address (§33-44-109) 
   
This form should be used to change the address of the designated office of the LLC, 
the registered office where the registered agent may be found or to change the 
registered agent of the LLC. 
 
The fee is $10.00. 
 
What other forms are filed in the Secretary of State’s Office that may affect my 
corporation? 
 
Forms to make corrections or amendments to filings may also be submitted for filing. 
 
Please visit the website located at www.scsos.com for a complete list of all forms 
filed in the Secretary of State‟s Office. 
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Forms on the Secretary of State’s website: 
 

 www.scsos.com 

 

 Click on „Forms & Fees‟ link on left side of page 
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SSOOUUTTHH  CCAARROOLLIINNAA  BBUUSSIINNEESSSS  OONNEE  SSTTOOPP  ((SSCCBBOOSS))    
 
 
SCBOS has four major offerings: 
 
1. SCBOS is an informational website that connects businesses to multiple state 

government and private websites.  SCBOS is a great resource for businesses to 
access information regarding tax, registration, and license requirements in 
addition to upcoming workshops, new legislation, and tutorials on how to use the 
site. 

 
2. SCBOS uses a secure login system that allows businesses to communicate with 

multiple state agencies. SCBOS users may also use their login information when 
using the SC Department of Revenue‟s online filing system.  

 
3. SCBOS utilizes an interactive, wizard-driven workflow method in which 

businesses may apply for licenses, permits, and registrations with various state 
agencies. 

 
4. SCBOS utilizes a central payment engine to accept Visa, MasterCard, debit 

cards, and electronic funds withdrawals. 
 
 
What can you do using SCBOS? 
 
Secretary of State 
 
Reserve/Register/Adopt Names 

 Reserve Limited Liability Company Name 

 Reserve Non-Profit Corporate Name 

 Reserve Corporate Name 

 Register Foreign Corporation Name 

 Register Foreign Limited Liability Company Name 

 Adopt Fictitious Name (for a foreign entity registering in SC and the entity 
name is being used by an in state entity) 
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Establish Business Entity 

 Articles of Incorporation - Corporation 

 Articles of Incorporation - Statutory Close Corporation 

 Articles of Incorporation - Professional Corporation 

 Articles of Incorporation - Non-Profit Corporation 

 Articles of Organization Limited Liability Company 

 Limited Liability Partnership Registration 

 Certificate of Limited Partnership 

 Certificate of Authority – Corporation 

 Certificate of Authority - Non-Profit Corporation 

 Certificate of Authority - Limited Liability Company 

 Certificate of Authority - Limited Liability Partnership 

 Foreign Limited Partnership Registration 

 Unincorporated Association 

 Charitable Organizations 
 
Submit filings to inform Secretary of State about changes to your business 

 Articles of Amendment – Domestic & Foreign Corporations 

 Articles of Amendment – Domestic Non-Profit Corporations 
 Amended Articles of Organization – Domestic LLC 

 Articles of Dissolution – Domestic Corporations 

 Renewal Application – Domestic LLP 

 Resignation of Registered Agent and Discontinuance of Registered Office 
Domestic & Foreign Corporations 

 Notice of Change of Registered Office or Registered Agent - Domestic & 
Foreign Corporations 

 Notice of Change of Designated Office, Agent for Service of Process, or 
Address of Agent - Domestic & Foreign LLC‟s 

 Notice of Change of Registered Office or Registered Agent or Both - 
Domestic & Foreign Non-Profit Corporations 
 

Agent Information 

 Register Agent Name 

 Register Agent Address 

 Change Registered Agent and Address 
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Department of Revenue 
 

 Sales Tax registration (Retail License) 

 Artists and Craftsman License (Retail License) 

 Accommodations (Retail License) 

 Aviation Fuel Tax 

 Business Personal Property 

 Corporate Tax Account 

 Solid Waste Tax 

 Use Tax 

 Employee Withholding Tax registration 

 Retail Alcoholic Beverage Licenses 

 Renewals of Wholesale Alcoholic Beverage Licenses 
 

Department of Employment and Workforce 
 

 Unemployment Insurance Tax 
 

Department of Health and Environmental Control 
 

 Well Permits (Residential and irrigation) 

 Demolition and Renovation associated with Asbestos 

 Registration of Underground Storage Tanks 

 Retail Food Establishment Applications 
 
Department of Consumer Affairs 
 

 Initial Maximum Rate Filing Schedule Consumer Loans 

 Initial Maximum Rate Filing Schedule Consumer Credit Sales 

 Consumer Credit Grantor Notification 
 Credit Notification for Rent to own Businesses 

 Motor Vehicle Closing Registration (Renewal Only) 
 

Department of Plant Industry at Clemson University 
 

 General Fertilizer permit 

 Restricted Fertilizer permit 

 Liming Materials permit 
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The following taxes can be filed and paid through SCBOS 
 

Department of Revenue  
 

•  Sales Tax  
                o Sales tax return (ST-3 & ST-3EZ)  
                o Accommodations (ST-388)  
                o Schedule for Local Taxes (ST-389) 

•  Withholding Tax Payments  
                o Quarterly Reconciliation (WH-1605)  
                o Annual Reconciliation (WH-1606)  
                o Withholding Payment (WH-1601)  

•  Business Tax Payments  
                o Corporate tax payment (SC1120-V)  
                o Corporate Declaration  
                o Corporate Extension (SC1120D)  

•  Delinquent Tax Bill  
                o Approved Payment Plan (FS-100)  
                o Delinquent Tax Bill (ACL-17, C-133, C-293, FS-44)  

•  Change address/ Location of current registrations  
•  Penalty and Interest calculator  
•  You may also view payments previously made via DORePay  

 
 
South Carolina Business One Stop or SCBOS is the official South Carolina business 
web portal.  It enables anyone with an existing business or anyone starting a new 
business to file permits, licenses, registration, or pay taxes From the convenience of 
your computer at anytime, 24 hours a day – 7 days a week, you can take care of 
your important state filings, and pay for multiple filings and/or taxes with one credit, 
debit, or EFW payment. 

Each section on SCBOS is designed to support all phases of business lifecycle from 
start-up through expansion.  You will find FAQs, custom tutorials, checklists, and 
other information to help you. If you are ready to register your business, you can 
begin by creating a user account, or log-in.  If you already have an account with 
SCBOS or the South Carolina Department of Revenue you can begin by logging into 
SCBOS. 
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SSCC  EELLEECCTTRROONNIICC  FFIILLIINNGG  OOPPTTIIOONNSS  
 

Fed/State Corporate EFile 
 

Taxpayers can file both federal and South Carolina returns or just the state return 
electronically utilizing tax preparation software available from software developers.  
South Carolina began offering Fed/State filing for Corporate (SC1120/1120S) 
in September, 2007.  Corporate returns for a tax year prior to 2006 or amended 
returns will NOT be eligible for electronic filing via the Fed/State method.  For 
calendar year 2010, the agency received 36,869 corporate returns via the FedState 
efile method.  
   

EPay  
 
Currently, there are three web based corporate payment applications.  SC1120-CDP 
(Declaration of Corporate Estimated Tax Payments) and SC1120-T (Corporate 
Extensions) were the ground breakers and have been joined by the SC1120V 
(Corporate Payment Voucher for Electronic Filing).  Taxpayers can submit both 
Corporate tax liability and license fees by SC1120V.  Currently, taxpayers cannot 
“warehouse” corporate tax payments submitted using EPay.    
  

The SC1120-CDP is required to be filed by the 15th day of the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th 
months following the beginning of the taxable year.  The total of the estimated 
payments must equal 100% of the final tax liability, based on requirements for 
federal estimated income in IRC Section 6655. No estimated tax payment is 
required, if the estimated tax is less than $100 annually. 
  

The Corporate request for extension is made using form SC1120-T and must be 
filed on or before the original due date of the return. The full amount of the tax and 
license fee should be remitted with the SC1120-T.    
  

EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer) 
 

Two payment options exist within EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer).  These options 
are offered through the Automated Clearing-House (ACH) system to electronically 
transfer tax payments.  Qualifying taxpayers must select a payment method.  This is 
done by completing the Registration Application for Electronic Funds Transfer (D-
128).  This form must be completed and submitted to the agency before tax 
payments can be made via EFT.   
 

2D Barcode 
 

While not electronic, filing your SC1120 or SC1120S or SC1120TC by utilizing a 2D 
Barcode producible software is the next best thing.  The software product produces 
a hard, paper copy of the return with a business card sized 2D barcode on the actual 
return.  That barcode has the entire return's data stored in it and can be scanned by 
equipment at the SCDOR in just seconds.  A limited number of software companies 
produce a 2D Barcode product for South Carolina.  To view the full list, please visit 
http://www.sctax.org/Electronic+Services/Electronic+Services-Corporate.htm. 
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CCOORRPPOORRAATTEE  TTAAXX::  TTHHEE  BBAASSIICCSS  
 
TTYYPPEESS  OOFF  CCOORRPPOORRAATTIIOONNSS  
 
QUALIFIED CORPORATIONS  

A corporation is a business that is formed and authorized by 
law to act as a single person, although constituted by one or 
more persons and is legally endowed with rights and 
responsibilities.  It is advisable to consult a lawyer when 
organizing a corporation to ensure full compliance with 
state and federal laws. 

Qualified Domestic Corporation 
 
A corporation chartered under the laws of South Carolina.  It holds a South Carolina 
charter issued by the Secretary of State. 
 
Forms to be completed with the Secretary of State: 

 

 Articles of Incorporation (§33-2-102) 
o The fee is $110.00 

  A CL-1 Form 
o The fee is $25  

 

Qualified Foreign Corporation 
 
Any corporation formed under the laws of a jurisdiction other than South Carolina: it 
holds a corporate charter issued in another state or country and has filed with the 
SC Secretary of State for Authority by a Foreign Corporation to do business in South 
Carolina. 
 
Forms to be completed with the Secretary of State: 
 

 Application for a Certificate of Authority to Transact Business (§33-15-103) 
o The fee is $110.00 

 A CL-1 Form 
o The fee is $25  

 
Qualified Limited Liability Company (LLC) Domestic or Foreign  
 
An unincorporated business association that provides its owners (members) limited 
liability and flexible management and financial alternatives. A multiple member LLC 
has the option of filing as a partnership or a corporation.  A single member LLC not 
taxed as a corporation is a disregarded entity for tax purposes. 
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Domestic LLCs are required to register with Secretary of State. The name of an LLC 
must contain the words “Limited Liability Company” or “LLC”. 
 
Foreign LLCs may register and qualify to do business in SC according to 
procedures similar to those applicable to foreign qualified and non-qualified 
corporations 
 
Forms to be completed with the Secretary of State: 
 

 Articles of Organization 
 

 CL-1 Form – is not required to be submitted to the Secretary of State. 
However, if the LLC is going to be taxed as a corporation, you have seventy-
five days to file and pay with the SC Department of Revenue.  (for more 
information, please see next page)  

 
NON-QUALIFIED CORPORATIONS 
 
Domestic Non-qualified Corporation  – Same as a domestic corporation, except 
the corporation has not filed Articles of Incorporation with the SC Secretary of State.  
 
Foreign Non-qualified Corporation – Same as a foreign corporation, except the 
corporation has not filed a Certificate of Authority with the SC Secretary of State. 
 
Domestic or Foreign Non-qualified – Same as a domestic or foreign LLC, except 
the LLC has not filed Articles of Organization with the SC Secretary of State.   

If a Non-qualified corporation is indicating a SC location, it must qualify with the 
office of the South Carolina Secretary of State before it can be issued a license; the 
Sales Tax application should be returned to the corporation with PC letter. 

INITIAL ANNUAL REPORT (CL-1) 
 
A CL-1, Initial Annual Report, is a Department of Revenue form that must be filed 
with the Articles of Incorporation for all business corporations and nonprofit 
corporations which are formed as political associations. The office will not accept 
these filings without the CL-1 form.  A CL-1 is required to be filed by both Qualified 
and Non-Qualified Corporations. 
 
Initial Annual Report Fee 
 
The minimum license fee due with the Initial Annual Report is $25.00. The Initial 
Annual Report and the minimum license fee must be filed with the Secretary of State 
with the Articles of Incorporation, filed by a domestic corporation or an Application 
for Certificate of Authority, filed by a foreign corporation. Once the corporation is 
registered with the Secretary of State, the Initial Annual Report is forwarded to the 
Department of Revenue for registration. 
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Assessment 
 
The minimum license fee must be paid at the time the CL-1 is filed. Interest is due at 
the federal interest rate if not filed within sixty days of commencing business. Late 
filing of the CL-1 will incur a delinquent penalty of 5% per month not to exceed 25%. 
Late payment of the license fee will incur a penalty of 0.5% per month not to exceed 
25%. 

 
 

SETTING UP A CORPORATION WITH THE SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE  
 

1. As soon as the articles and CL-1 form are filed in the Secretary of State‟s 
Office, the corporation is created.  
 

2. CL-1 is forwarded to SCDOR License and Registration Division 

 
Very Important Information to Complete 
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 CORPORATION NOT SET UP PROPERLY 

If an entity and corporation files corporate tax documents such as SC1120, SC 
1120T, SC1120CDP, SC1120V and SC1120S, an account will be setup as a non-
qualified account.  This means the taxpayer did not go through the proper 
procedures with the state of South Carolina.  If this is the case, the corporate 
ownership type would be non-qualified.  You must go through the South Carolina 
Secretary of State to be qualified to do business in South Carolina. 
 A letter is generated requesting that the CL-1 be filed as shown below. 
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Changes to Be Made 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

THREE WAYS TO CHANGE INFORMATION WITH SCDOR 
 

1. Tax Return SC1120 
o Address 
o Accounting period 
o Officers 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

SC Department of Revenue 

 Address 

 Phone number 

 Accounting period 

 Federal ID (letter from IRS) 

 List of the Officers 

 

SC Secretary of State 

 Name 

 Incorporated date 

 Registered agent 

 Closing status 
 

Page 1 

Page 3 

p. 27 

Page 1 

Page 3 
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2. Form SC8822 (limits) 
o This form only allows you to change: 

 
• Address 
• Phone number 
• Officers 

 
To change the name of the corporation, you need to go through the South 
Carolina Secretary of State‟s Office. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Page 1 

Page 2 
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3. Letter 
o Address 
o Accounting period 
o Officers 

 
Changes to be made must be on the corporation‟s letterhead and signed by an officer 
of the corporation. 

 
ACCOUNTING PERIOD 

 
Income Tax Period Ending— This period is based on the tax year ended or the 
month the corporation closes their books.  If you are a 52-53 week federal filer, you 
must use a 52 week period for SC purposes.  
 
For example, if the Federal 52/53 week ends on January 3, enter December 31.  
 

 
License Fee Period Ending— This period is one year ahead of the income tax 
period.   
 
For instance, if the income tax period ends December 31 of the current year, the 
license fee period ends December 31 of the following year. 
 
 
Short Period 
    
o New corporation filing:  Corporation incorporated in the middle of their 

accounting period.    
 

Example - Incorporated 11/01/09 and accounting period end of December – A 
short period for 11/01/09 through 12/31/09 would be filed. 
 

o Final Return: Corporation has been dissolved – If you dissolved or withdrew 
your charter with the Secretary of State after your accounting period has 
ended, you must file a final return.   
 

Example - Close business 03/15/09 per SOS and your accounting period is 
December, must file short period from 01/01/09 through 03/15/09 

 
o Change accounting periods: In order to change your accounting period you 

may be required to submit a short period tax return.   
 

Example – If you are changing from a May filer to a December filer, you will be 
required to file a short period return from 06/01 to 12/31. 

 
A corporation may prorate its license fee when its tax year is changed and a 
return of less than 12 months is required. This proration applies only to short periods 
due to a change in accounting period and does not apply to short periods due to 
initial or final returns. The prorated license fee cannot be less than $25.00. A license 
fee is not generally required on final returns. See SC Code Section 12-20-80.  
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CCOORRPPOORRAATTEE  TTAAXX  RREETTUURRNN  

 

 

                          
 
 

Special Returns for Certain Organizations 
 
 

Not Required to File SC1120: 
 

– Non-profit corporations: file SC990T (income only) 

– Banks: file SC1101B (income only) 

– Savings and Loans: file SC1104 (income only) 

– S Corporations: file SC1120S (license fee only) 

– Public utility tax return: SC1120U (income and license fee) 

– Homeowners Associations filing federal Form 1120H with no taxable 

income.  

– Insurance Companies: File with the South Carolina Department of 

Insurance. 
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There are Two Parts to the SC1120 
 

Income Tax & License Fee 

 
 

 
 

Remember:   
The license 
fee period is 
one year 
ahead of the 
income tax 
period and 
is pre-paid a 
year in 
advance.   
 

2010 

2009 
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RREEQQUUIIRREEMMEENNTTSS  FFOORR  FFIILLIINNGG  AANNDD  PPAAYYIINNGG      
 
Requirements for Filing a Return 
 

 

1. Corporate returns must be filed as long as the Corporation‟s charter or 
authority to do business is in good standing with the South Carolina Secretary 
of State. 
 

2. If you have discontinued your business, a final return cannot be accepted as 
such until the proper dissolution papers or withdrawal documents (for foreign 
corporations) have been completed and filed with the Secretary of State‟s 
Office. 
 

3. If your corporation is dormant or you do not have any income or business to 
report in an accounting period, you are still required to file a corporate tax 
return including the annual report (Schedule D) and pay any tax or license fee 
due each year by the 15th of the third month after the end of your business 
year.  
 

4. The annual report (Schedule D) is part of the corporate tax return. 
 

5. There is a minimum $25 license fee due annually.  This fee is paid a year in 
advance.  For example:  Income period end 12-2010 would have a License 
period end of 12-2011 
 

6. A corporate return must cover twelve months.  The only exception is your 
initial or final return which may be for a shorter period.   

Requirements for Paying Taxes: Tax Rate  

 The starting point in determining South Carolina taxable income is the 
corporation's federal taxable income. 

 

 Income tax liability - The tax rate on South Carolina net income is 5%.  
 

 License fee - The license fee for the return is pre-paid a year in advance.  
 

 The tax of .001% times the capital stock and paid-in-surplus plus $15.  
 

 Declaration - estimated tax payments  
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Declaration of Estimated Tax 
 

 If less than $100, no declaration is required 
 

 The corporation must file a declaration of estimated income tax with the SC 
Department of Revenue on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month 
following the beginning of the taxable year.  
 

 Declaration payments must cover at least 100% of prior year or 90% of the 
current year. 

 

 A declaration of estimated tax for the period must be completed on SC1120-
CDP and (100%) one hundred percent of the tax liability shown to be due 
thereon must be paid on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month after 
the close of the preceding income year or in four equal installments on the 
fifteenth day of the fourth, sixth, ninth and twelfth months. 

 

 A corporation may avoid the penalty for Underpayment of Declaration by 
paying each payment timely if the total tax paid is at least the same as the 
total tax due, pursuant to requirements for federal estimated income tax in 
Internal Revenue Code Section 6655. See SC2220 for computation of the 
penalty. 

 
When to File 
 
In general, a corporation must file its income tax return by the fifteenth day of the 
third month after the end of the tax year. A new corporation filing a short period 
return must generally file by the fifteenth day of the third month after the short period 
ends. A corporation that has dissolved must file by the fifteenth day of the third 
month after the date it has dissolved and filed the Articles of Dissolution with the 
Secretary of State.  For foreign corporations, an Application for Surrender of 
Authority must be filed with the Secretary of State.  
 
New Corporate Electronic Filing 
 
Taxpayers can file their South Carolina 1120/1120S (along with their federal 
corporate returns) electronically in a single transmission using third party tax 
preparation software. Check out our website at www.sctax.org for information on 
developers that support corporate Fed/State electronic filing. 
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FILING EXTENSIONS 

 
SECTION 12-54-70. Extension of time for filing returns or paying tax; tentative return 
and payment of tentative liability.  
 

 South Carolina Extension (SC1120-T)  
 

 Electronically at www.sctax.org under DOR ePay  
 

 Consolidated 
 

 A schedule must also be attached listing the corporations included in the 
South Carolina consolidation.   

 

 Federal Extension (7004) 
o If no taxes or license fee is due, the federal extension is accepted 

 

 Expired Extension 
o Six months  

 

 Invalid Extension 
o No money paid with extension and no money in declaration 

 Treated as an invalid charge only if paid late 
o Money paid w/ extension 

 License fee must be paid in full on or before the original due 
date of the return. 

 
A copy of the federal or South Carolina extension(s) must be attached to the 
return when filed.   
 
Any income tax or license fee due must be paid by the prescribed due date to 
avoid the assessment of late penalties and interest. 
 
There is no extension for payment of corporate income tax or license fee.  
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EXPIRED EXTENSION NOTICES 
 

Three stages of an expired extension: 
 

1.  Expired Extension Letter 
                  

2.  Proposed Assessment 
 

3.  Tax Lien 
 
       
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Expired Extension Letter 
 
SECTION 12-60-430. Failure to make report or file return or filing frivolous return; 
proposed assessment. 
 

(A) If a taxpayer fails or refuses to make a report or to file a return required by 
the provisions of this title or required to be filed with the department, the 
department may make an estimate of the tax liability from the best 
information available and issue a proposed assessment for the taxes, 
including penalties and interest.  
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After 90 days an expired extension letter is sent to the taxpayer. 
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Estimated Tax Assessment for an Expired Extension 
 
After 120 days a proposed notice of assessment is issued.  
After 45 days the assessment converts to a tax Lien. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ONCE THE TAX RETURN IS 

RECEIVED,  
 
Proposed Notice of 
Assessment 
Adjustments will be made 
according to tax liabilities. 
 
Computing Tax Lien 
Tax + penalty + Interest X 
5% + $10 
 
20% Collection Fee 
Is computed only on tax 
liabilities 
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CCLLAAIIMMIINNGG  AANNDD  VVEERRIIFFYYIINNGG  
 
What happens to monies overpaid by the taxpayer? 
 
Taxpayer claims declaration payments paid were a total of $8,790 but 

corporate agent verified $11,720.  The overpayment is applied to the next accounting 
period. A declaration letter is sent to the taxpayer indicating that there is a 
discrepancy in what the taxpayer claimed and what was verified.    
  

 
 
Although monies were transferred to the next accounting period, you still have the 
option to request a refund for that amount by letter on the corporation‟s letterhead 
with  the signature of an officer of the corporation. 
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DECLARATION LETTER 
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FILING AN AMENDED RETURN 
 

 
In order to amend a previously filed SC1120 or SC1120S, complete a new form and 
check the amended box on the face of the return. Also, write Amended on the 
face of the return. An explanation of the adjustments and a copy of the federal 
1120X must be attached to the amended return.  

 
Amending a Return for Overpayment 

 
SECTION 12-60-470. Taxpayers‟ refund claim;  time for filing;  contents.  
(A) A taxpayer may seek a refund of a state tax by filing a written claim for refund 
with the department.  A claim for refund is timely filed if filed within the period 
specified in Section 12-54-85 even though the time for filing a protest under Section 
12-60-450 has expired and no protest was filed.  
(B) The refund claim must specify:  

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the taxpayer;  
(2) the appropriate taxpayer identification number or numbers;  
(3) the tax period or date for which the tax was paid;  
(4) the nature and kind of tax paid;  
(5) the amount which the taxpayer claims was erroneously paid;  
(6) a statement of facts supporting the taxpayer‟s position;  
(7) a statement outlining the reasons for the claim, including law or other 

 authority upon which the taxpayer relies;  and  
(8) other relevant information that the department may reasonably require.  
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Statute of Limitation 
 
For refund requests, claims must be filed within three years from the time the return 
was filed, or two years from the date the tax was paid, whichever is later.   
 
SECTION 12-54-85. Time limitation for assessment of taxes or fees; exceptions. 
(F)(1) Except as provided in subsection (D), claims for credit or refund must be filed 
within three years from the time the return was filed, or two years from the date the 
tax was paid, whichever is later.  If no return was filed, a claim for credit or refund 
must be filed within two years from the date the tax was paid.  A credit or refund 
may not be made after the expiration of the period of limitation prescribed in 
this item for the filing of a claim for credit or refund, unless the claim for credit 
or refund is filed by the taxpayer or determined to be due by the department 
within that period.  
 

RETURNS CLAIMING WITHHOLDING FROM OTHER TAXES 

 

Corporate taxpayers are allowed to claim a withholding tax credit on their 
tax return (SC1120).  Before South Carolina Department of Revenue can 

allow this credit clamed, it is required that the taxpayer provide a withholding 
statement (Form W2, 1099, or I-290) showing the amount claimed as a credit 

on their corporate return and a schedule of the amounts withheld on a monthly basis.   
 
The following example takes you through the process of how monies are verified and 
transferred from one tax type to the corporate tax return. 
 
There are Three Methods to Claim Withholding on SC1120 
 
1. Nonresident Real Estate Withholding (I-290): Anyone making payments to a 

nonresident seller for the purchase of real property or real and associated tangible 
personal property must deduct and withhold on the sales at the rate of 5% if the 
nonresident seller is a corporation. (Code Section 12-8-580)  
 

2. Partnership Withholding (1099MISC) must provide nonresident shareholders a 1099 
MISC with “South Carolina Only” written at the top showing the amount of income 
paid and SC tax withheld from the nonresident shareholder. (Code Section 12-8-
590). Partnership – The South Carolina withholding tax can be allocated and 
passed through to the partners of the corporation. (Code Section 12-8-590).   
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3. Employer 2% withholding (1099MISC or W2): A person hiring or contracting with a 

nonresident taxpayer is required to withhold 2% of each payment made to the 
nonresident on contracts exceeding $10,000. (Code Section 12-8-550)  

 

 

SC1120 - Line 14(a) and SC1120S – Line 8(a) 

 

Attach all I-290s and federal forms W-2 and 1099. (South Carolina Schedule K-1 
or Partner Information (SC1065) or Settlement Statements are not accepted.) 
See Code Section 12-8-590(D) and Code Section 12-8-1540(A). If you are a fiscal 
year taxpayer, include a schedule of amounts withheld on a monthly basis. 
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FAILURE TO FILE 

A South Carolina Corporate return is required to be filed, regardless of the activity, 
from the date the charter/authority is granted through the date of voluntary 
dissolution/withdrawal. 
 

Six Common Reasons for Failing to File: 

1. Started business after date of incorporation  
2. No activity  
3. Filed consolidated return 
4. Changed accounting period 
5. Double setup  
6. Business closed 

 

If you check merged, dissolved or withdrawn – A corporation must continue to 
file a return and pay the license fee until such charter or qualification is canceled 
with the SECRETARY OF STATE regardless of the activity of the corporation.   
 
If you check reorganize – It will depend on how you are going to reorganize.   
 
Example:  
 

 If you plan to reorganize by changing ownership type from a Corporation to a 
Limited Liability Company and you are keeping your federal ID number but 
still want to conduct business as a corporation for tax purposes, you will still 
be required to file. 
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 If you reorganize and change from a corporation to a partnership, you must 
continue to file a return and pay the license fee until such charter or 
qualification is cancelled with the SECRETARY OF STATE, regardless of the 
activity of the corporation.  

 
What Happens If You Fail to File? 

 

A notice for Failure to File is sent to the taxpayer 
 

         

If taxpayer does not 
respond within 60 days, the 
corporation is 
administratively dissolved. 
 
This means your account 
has been closed by the 
Secretary of State for 
failing to comply.  
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ADMINISTRATIVELY DISSOLVED 

SECTION 33-15-300. Grounds for revocation.  
 
(a) The Secretary of State shall commence a proceeding under Section 33-15-310 to 
revoke the certificate of authority of a foreign corporation authorized to transact 
business in this State if:  
 

(1) the foreign corporation does not deliver its annual report to the Department 
of Revenue when due;  
 
(2) the foreign corporation does not pay, when they are due, any franchise 
taxes, taxes payable under Chapter 7 of Title 12, or penalties imposed by this act 
or other law;  

 
The Reasons Why SC Department of Revenue Will Send a Certificate of 
Revocation of Authority 
 

 Failure to file an annual report 
 Failure to pay license fee 
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A letter signed by the Secretary of State is generated and sent to the taxpayer.  
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HOW TO REINSTATE 

To reinstate the corporate charter/authority, you will need to complete the following: 
 
(1) Complete Form C-268 (Certificate of Tax Compliance Request Form). You 

may download this form from our website www.sctax.org.   Under quick links 
go to “Forms and Instructions” and then click “Other Forms”.  Once you have 
completed the form, please mail it along with $60 to:  Taxpayer Advocate 
Section, P O Box 11189, Columbia, SC 29211-1189.     
 

(2) Upon receipt of form C-268, a review of all tax types for which your 
corporation is responsible will be conducted.  The corporation will be 
immediately notified of any delinquencies and has thirty days to comply.  If 
there are no delinquencies, the corporation will be issued a Certificate of Tax 
Compliance. 

 
 (3) Once the corporation receives the Certificate of Tax Compliance, it is required 

to file an Application for Reinstatement of a Corporation Dissolved by 
Administrative Action with the Secretary of State's Office.  For more 
information about this form, you can write the Secretary of State's Office at 
PO Box 11350: Columbia, SC  29211 or call them at (803) 734-2158.  

 
 
WHAT IF THE CORPORATION WAS CERTIFIED IN ERROR? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

OOPS! 
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Once research has been done by the Department of Revenue and if the corporation 
was closed in error, a letter is sent to the SC Secretary of State‟s Office and the 
taxpayer stating the corporation was closed in error and requesting reinstatement. 
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CLOSING A CORPORATION 
 

11..  A domestic corporation must file Articles of Dissolution with the Secretary of 
State. 
 

22..  A foreign corporation must file an Application for Surrender of Authority to do 
Business with the Secretary of State. 
 

33..  The corporation must file a final tax return by the 15th day of the 3rd month 
after the end of the tax year after filing the Articles of Dissolution or 
Application for Surrender of Authority to do Business 
 

44..  The final return must include a schedule showing the distribution of the assets 
to the stockholders, Form I-349. 

 

Final Tax Return  
 
A corporation must follow the steps listed below when filing a "Final Return" and 
ceasing to exist or when withdrawing from this state. 
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AADDVVAANNCCEEDD  CCOORRPPOORRAATTEE  TTAAXX  
 
INCOME TAX RETURNS AND PAYMENT  
 
A. Filing Returns and Payment  
 
1. Due Dates  
 
a. Income Tax Returns  
 
i. General Provisions  
 
Income tax return due dates are:  
 

1.  Corporations must file returns on or before the 15th day of the third month following 
the end of their taxable year.  
 

2.  Foreign corporations that do not maintain an office or place of business in the United 
States must file returns on or before the 15th day of the sixth month following the end 
of their taxable year.  
 

3.   Nonprofit organizations exempt under Internal Revenue Code §501 that are 
reporting unrelated business income must file returns on or before the 15th day of the 
fifth month following the end of their taxable year. 
 

4.   All other taxpayers must file returns on or before the 15th day of the fourth month 
following the end of their taxable year.  

 
Note: A domestic corporation is required to file an income tax return each year from the 
time its charter is granted until voluntary dissolution, regardless of whether any income is 
earned or any business activity is conducted in South Carolina. A foreign corporation that 
has income tax nexus with South Carolina is required to file an income tax return from the 
time a certificate of authority to transact business is granted until voluntary dissolution or 
withdrawal from the State. A foreign corporation that has been granted a certificate of 
authority to transact business in South Carolina who does not have nexus with South 
Carolina should notify the Department‟s Corporate Section or file a “zero” return each year 
in order to avoid a computer generated failure to file notification.  
 
The Department will notify a domestic or foreign corporation of its failure to comply with the 
provisions requiring the filing of returns. If the corporation fails to file the required return 
within 60 days of the notice, the Department may provide the taxpayer‟s name to the 
Secretary of State. After referral, the Secretary of State may administratively dissolve a 
domestic corporation or revoke a foreign corporation‟s authority to transact business in 
South Carolina.  
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The following types of returns are available from the Department:  
 

1. SC1120 C Corporation Income Tax Return 
  

2. SC1120S S Corporation Income Tax Return  
 

3. SC1120U Public Utility Tax Return  
 

4. SC1101-B Bank Tax Return  
 

5. SC1104 Savings and Loan Association Tax Return  
 

6. SC990T Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return  
 
Taxpayers filing a federal Form 1120-F, “U.S. Income Tax Return of a Foreign 
Corporation,” Form 1120-H, “U.S. Income Tax Return for Homeowners Associations,” Form 
1120-POL, “U.S. Income Tax Return for Certain Political Organizations,” Form 1120-REIT, 
“U.S. Income Tax Return for Real Estate Investment Trusts,” or other similar federal forms 
should file a Form SC1120, “C Corporation Income Tax Return,” for South Carolina 
purposes. Insurance companies do not file income tax returns with the Department. The 
South Carolina Department of Insurance administers insurance premium taxes and license 
fees.  
 
ii. Filing Requirements Where Nexus is an Issue  
 
The Department has developed a voluntary compliance procedure for taxpayers who have 
nexus with South Carolina but are not registered with the Department to collect or remit 
South Carolina taxes. This procedure is designed to encourage nonfilers to come forward 
voluntarily and begin paying taxes without incurring penalties and to allow the Department 
to maximize compliance.  
 
b. Information Returns  
 
Certain information returns required pursuant to SC Code §12-6-4950 must be filed on or 
before March 15th each year. These returns are those filed by persons making payments to 
another individual, corporation, or partnership for: (1) $200 or more of interest or dividends 
or (2) $800 or more of rent, salaries, wages, emoluments, or determinable gain, profit, or 
income  
 
Note: In an effort to reduce the paperwork burden for taxpayers, if the taxpayer files a 
federal Form 1099 with the Internal Revenue Service and there is no South Carolina 
withholding, then the taxpayer is not required to file the Form 1099 or South Carolina 
equivalent with the Department. This does not eliminate the requirement to file Form 1099 
with the Internal Revenue Service or to give one to the payment recipient.  
 
Notwithstanding the above, see Section .09 of this portfolio for a discussion of the due 
dates of returns and the appropriate forms to file for claiming job development or job 
retraining credits against withholding or remitting withholding on:  
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1. Wages.  
 

2. S corporation nonresident shareholders.  
 

3. Nonresident contractors conducting business or performing personal services of a 
temporary nature in South Carolina for contracts of $10,000 or more.  
 

4. Rents or royalty payments to nonresidents of $1,200 or more in a calendar year.  
 

5. Sales of real property and associated tangible personal property by a nonresident.  
 
c. Final Returns  
 
A domestic corporation ceasing to exist in South Carolina must file articles of dissolution 
with the South Carolina Secretary of State. It must also file a final income tax return on or 
before the 15th day of the third month following the filing of the articles of dissolution. An I-
349 schedule must accompany the final return. An extension of time to file may be obtained 
by filing Form SC1120T prior to the original due date of the return. 
 
A foreign corporation withdrawing from South Carolina must file articles of withdrawal with 
the Secretary of State.  
 
Note: A multistate corporation that ceases operations in South Carolina but otherwise 
continues in business is not an event that causes the income tax year to end. A taxpayer‟s 
taxable year for South Carolina income tax purposes is the same as the taxpayer‟s taxable 
year for federal income tax purposes.  
 
A taxpayer planning to cease doing business in South Carolina by the incorporation of an 
existing business or, in the case of a corporate taxpayer other than a subsidiary 
corporation, by the dissolution or surrender of its charter, shall make a complete accounting 
of all items of income and expense not previously taken into account because the 
accounting method used by the taxpayer did not require the reporting of the items. A 
corporate taxpayer shall report all items of such income in its final return.  
 
d. Amended Returns  
 
SC Code §12-54-85(F) sets forth time limits within which taxpayers must file claims for 
refunds.  
 
e. Electronic Funds Transfer  

 
Corporations may be required to or may voluntarily participate in the payment 
of certain taxes, such as income taxes, estimated tax payments, corporate 
license fees, or withholding, through electronic funds transfer. The following 
briefly explains South Carolina‟s Electronic Funds Transfer Program.  

 
A corporation with $15,000 or more in a corporate income tax, withholding, or certain 
miscellaneous tax liability in one tax period during the previous 12 months is required to 
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participate in South Carolina‟s Electronic Fund Transfer Program (“EFT”). In addition, any 
corporation that does not meet the dollar threshold may voluntarily participate in the 
program.  
 
To register for the EFT program, a corporation must complete Form D-128, “Registration 
Application for Electronic Funds Transfer.” A separate form must be completed for each 
type of tax being paid through the program. Upon receipt of the application, the Department 
will establish and notify the corporation of the effective date to begin EFT payments. A 
corporation mandated to use EFT may withdraw from EFT if for a period of 12 consecutive 
months or 4 consecutive quarters, the $15,000 threshold is not satisfied. A written request 
to withdraw must be provided and is effective upon notification by the Department.  
 
There are four payment options that exist with EFT. These are:  
 

1.  Automated Clearing House Debit (ACH Debit). This option allows the corporation to 
authorize the State to electronically transfer tax payments from its depository into the 
State‟s account. Initiation of the transaction occurs through a telephone call from the 
corporation to the State‟s agent or by initiating a payment through the internet. The 
cost of this transaction is charged to the State.  
 

2.  Automated Clearing House Credit (ACH Credit). This option allows the corporation to 
initiate ACH transfers using the Cash Concentration and Disbursement Plus (CCD+) 
format. Initiation of the transaction must be done with the corporation‟s bank. The 
Department recommends that the taxpayer first contact its bank to discuss available 
ACH origination services and fees. The cost of this transaction is charged to the 
taxpayer.  
 

3.  Fedwires. This option is for emergencies only and must be preapproved by the 
Department.  
 

4.  Cash. This option may only be used if the cash is hand delivered to the Department‟s 
main office. Cash does not include cashier‟s checks, money orders, or personal 
checks.  

 
A corporation does not need to file the paper Form SC1120-CDP, “Corporation Declaration 
of Estimated Income Tax Coupon,” if the estimated tax payments are sent through EFT. 
Note, however, the paper Forms SC1120, “C Corporation Income Tax Return,” or 
SC1120T, “Tentative Corporation Tax Return and Conditional Extension,” must be filed 
even if the income tax payments are sent through EFT.  
 
For withholding tax purposes, a corporation does not need to file the paper Form WH1601, 
“SC Withholding Tax Payment,” if the ACH Debit or ACH Credit method is used. Note, 
however, the paper Forms WH1605, “Withholding Quarterly Tax Return,” and WH1606, 
“Fourth Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax Withholding,” must be filed with the 
Department; any money due with these returns should be sent through EFT. If the 
corporation uses the cash method, paper Forms WH1601, WH1605, and WH1606 must be 
filed with the cash payment.  
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B. Special Types of Returns  
 
1. ―Consolidated‖ (Combined) Returns (SC Code §12-6-5020) 
 
a. Definition  
 
South Carolina uses an unusual method to compute the tax on a “consolidated” corporate 
income tax return, Form SC1120, that may be filed by certain affiliated corporations. South 
Carolina has not adopted the federal consolidation rules in Internal Revenue Code §§1501 
through 1505. There are no elimination adjustments for intercompany transactions such as 
those for federal income tax purposes. South Carolina‟s “consolidated” rules treat each 
corporation in an affiliated group as a separate taxpayer. This approach requires the 
computation of the separate net income or loss of each corporation with the application of 
separate apportionment ratios for each. The separate South Carolina income or loss of 
each corporation is added together to arrive at combined, “consolidated,” net income upon 
which the tax is computed. Credits may then be applied to reduce the total tax liability of the 
group, regardless of whether the corporation earning the credit had a separate South 
Carolina tax liability. Only corporations meeting certain requirements are allowed to file a 
consolidated South Carolina income tax return. These requirements are discussed below.  
 
Note: The term “consolidated” will be used throughout this portfolio for consistency.  
 
b. General Rules  
 
South Carolina‟s consolidated return is a single corporate income tax return for two or more 
corporations in which income or loss is separately determined as follows:  
 

1.  South Carolina taxable income or loss is computed separately for each corporation.  
 

2. Allocable income or loss is allocated separately for each corporation.  
 

3. Apportionable income or loss is computed utilizing separate apportionment factors 
(gross receipts, or the “three factor” method with double weighted sales, for each 
corporation).  
 

4. Income tax credits, including the carryover of unused credits, may be determined on 
a combined basis. Limitations on credits which refer to the income or the income tax 
liability of a corporation are deemed to refer to the consolidated group. Credits 
reduce the consolidated group‟s tax liability regardless of whether or not the 
corporation entitled to the credit contributed to the tax liability.  
 

5. Income or loss computed above is added together and reported on one return for the 
controlled group.  
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A consolidated return may be filed by the following controlled corporations:  
 

1. A parent and substantially controlled subsidiary or subsidiaries.  
 

2. Two or more corporations under substantially the entire control of the same interest.  
 
The terms “substantially controlled” and “substantially the entire control” mean the 
ownership of at least 80% of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock of all 
corporations that are a party to a consolidated return.  
 
Other consolidated return requirements include:  
 

1.  The election to file a consolidated return or separate returns must be made on an 
original and timely filed return and may not be changed after the return is filed.  
 

Comment: There is no election statement such as federal Forms 1122 or 851. 
Instead a schedule computing the apportioned income of each member should be 
attached. The act of filing a consolidated return and checking the consolidated box 
on the face of the return is sufficient to make the election for South Carolina.  

 

2.  Once a consolidated return is filed, permission must be granted by the Department 
to file separate returns.  
 

3.  All corporations included in a consolidated return must be subject to South Carolina 
corporate income tax. In other words, each corporation must have nexus with South 
Carolina. Since banks and savings and loans are not subject to corporate income 
tax, they may not file a consolidated return.  
 

4.  All corporations included in a consolidated return must use the same accounting 
year.  
 

5.  A corporation doing business entirely within South Carolina may file a consolidated 
return with a corporation doing a multistate business. Two or more corporations 
doing a multistate business may file a consolidated return.  
 

6.  A corporation using the gross receipts method of apportionment may consolidate 
with a corporation using the “three factor,” double weighted sales, method.  
 

7.  Either a consolidated or separate South Carolina income tax return can be filed if a 
taxpayer files a consolidated return for federal purposes.  
 
Comment: Many South Carolina consolidated returns are improperly prepared. 
Common errors include eliminating intercompany transactions and using one 
combined apportionment formula that uses the combined information of the group 
and multiplying each subsidiary’s income by the resulting percentage. Confusion 
may exist in this area due to the design of the South Carolina form (it contains space 
for only one corporate apportionment factor computation), instructions, and software 
vendor/operator errors. Indeed in the past, blank apportionment factor lines (due to 
several factors being used for the group) sometimes generated notices from the 
Department.  
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2. Composite Returns for S Corporations (SC Code §12-6-5030) 
 
An S corporation may file a composite individual income tax return on behalf of qualifying 
nonresident shareholders. A composite return allows the S corporation to combine and 
report the separate South Carolina income and tax attributable to the nonresident 
shareholders on a single individual income tax return. Form SC1040, “South Carolina 
Individual Income Tax Return,” is used to file a composite return on behalf of individual 
shareholders. The composite return is signed by an authorized officer of the S corporation.  
The composite return is due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the 
shareholders‟ taxable year end. This will generally be a calendar year with the composite 
return due on or before the following April 15th.  
 
The composite return may be extended by filing Form SC4868, “Request for Extension of 
Time to File South Carolina Tax Return.” Any tax estimated to be due must be paid with the 
timely filed extension. An authorized officer of the S corporation may sign the extension 
request.  
 
The tax due in connection with the composite return is subject to the declaration of 
estimated tax rules. In general, composite estimated tax payments are required to be made 
by the S corporation on behalf of any nonresident shareholder participating in the 
composite return whose expected amount of tax owed with the composite return will be 
$100 or more. Estimated tax payments are remitted on Form SC1040ES, “Individual 
Declaration of Estimated Tax,” and are due for calendar year taxpayers other than 
corporations on the following dates: 

 
1. First Quarter - April 15  

 
2. Second Quarter - June 15  

 
3. Third Quarter - September 15  

 
4. Fourth Quarter - January 15 of the following tax year  

 
Composite return requirements include: 
 

1.   Nonresident fiduciary and individual shareholders may participate in filing a 
composite return.

  

 
2.   All participating shareholders must have the same tax year.  

 
3.   A composite return may be filed even if some of the nonresident fiduciary and 

individual shareholders eligible to participate in filing a composite return choose not 
to participate.  
 

4.   Shareholders having income within South Carolina from sources other than the S 
corporation may not be included in the composite return.
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A composite return is completed as follows:  
 

1. The composite return is remitted using the S corporation‟s name, address, and 
federal identification number on the front page of Form SC1040, “South Carolina 
Individual Income Tax Return,” instead of using the individual taxpayer‟s name, 
address, and social security number.  
 

2. There are two methods in which the tax may be computed on a composite return. 
 
Each method is explained below:  
 
Method 1: The S corporation may compute each participating shareholder‟s tax in the same 
manner as if he was separately reporting his own income and deductions. In other words, 
each shareholder would be entitled to his prorated share of his standard deduction or 
itemized deductions as well as his prorated personal exemption amount from his federal 
return. After separately computing each shareholder‟s tax, these amounts are added to 
arrive at the total tax due on the composite return. This total tax amount should be entered 
on the “TAX” line on page 1 of Form SC1040. A modified South Carolina taxable income 
amount does not have to be entered on page 1 of Form SC1040, however, a schedule 
must be attached to the composite return showing each shareholder‟s name, address, 
social security number, South Carolina taxable income, prorated exemptions, and 
deductions and amount of tax separately computed.  
 
Note: If there is not sufficient information to determine the separate liability or the state of 
residence, then no deduction is allowed for personal exemptions, individual itemized 
deductions, or standard deductions. 
 
Method 2: The S corporation may report each participating shareholder‟s entire share of 
South Carolina taxable income without regard to deductions and exemptions. Each 
participating shareholder‟s tax should be separately computed (i.e., apply the tax table 
separately to each shareholder‟s taxable income). The separate tax amounts are added to 
arrive at the total tax due on the composite return. This total tax amount should be entered 
on the “TAX” line on page 1 of Form SC1040. A modified South Carolina taxable income 
amount does not have to be entered on page 1 of Form SC1040, however, a schedule 
must be attached to the composite return showing each participating shareholder‟s name, 
address, social security number, South Carolina taxable income, and amount of tax 
separately computed.  
 
Partnerships may also file composite returns for nonresident partners. Corporate partners 
may not be included on the composite return since they are required to file an annual 
report and pay a license fee. This procedure is also explained in I-348. 
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C. Estimated Tax Payments  
 
South Carolina corporate estimated tax payments must be made in accordance with 
Internal Revenue Code §§6654 and 6655 except that: 
  

1. The small amount provisions in Internal Revenue Code §§6654(e)(1) and 6655(f) 
are $100. Estimated tax payments are not required for corporations whose South 
Carolina income tax is less than $100.  
 

2. Income for the first installment for corporations is annualized using the first two 
months of the taxable year.  
 

3. The due dates of estimated payments for calendar year corporations are:
  

 
a. First quarter: April 15  
b. Second quarter: June 15  
c. Third quarter: September 15  
d. Fourth quarter: December 15  

 
In applying the estimated tax payment provisions to a fiscal year taxpayer, the estimated 
tax payments are due on the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, ninth, and twelfth months of the 
tax year. For example, for a fiscal year filer with a June 30 year end, estimated tax 
payments are due October 15th, December 15th, March15th, and June 15th.  
 
Estimated tax payments are considered payments on account of income taxes and license 
fees for the taxable year designated.

  

Estimated payments will be deemed to apply first to 
income taxes and then apply to license fees. 
 
Comment: This provision has caused some confusion about whether license fees must be 
paid by estimated tax payments. It is the Department‟s position that a taxpayer may, but is 
not required, pay corporate license fees by estimated payment. The license fee must be 
paid by the original due date of the return, without regard to extensions.  
 
To the extent that corporate estimated tax payments and withholdings are in excess of the 
taxpayer‟s income tax liability and license fee liability as shown on the income tax return, 
the taxpayer may claim a: 
 

1. Refund.  
2. Credit for estimated income tax for the succeeding taxable year; or  
3. Credit against the corporate license fee for the current taxable year.  

 
Form SC1120-CDP, “Corporation Declaration of Estimated Income Tax,” is used to remit 
corporate estimated tax payments.  
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House Bill 4400, Section 7 (Act No. 280)  
 
SC Illegal Immigration Reform Act – Deduction for Services May be Disallowed  
 
The “South Carolina Illegal Immigration Reform Act” has been enacted. This legislation 
impacts taxes and licenses administered by the Department primarily in three areas:  
 

(1) eliminating the income tax deduction for payments made to certain individuals,  
(2) requiring withholding on certain individuals, and  
(3) issuing certain regulatory licenses and permits. The following briefly summarizes 

the income tax applicability of the Act. See below for discussions of the 
applicability of the Act to withholding laws and regulatory laws administered by 
the Department.  

 
Code Section 12-6-1175 has been added to provide that, on or after January 1, 2009, 
wages or remuneration for labor services of $600 or more per year may not be claimed 
and allowed as a deductible business expense for state income tax purposes if paid to 
an individual who is an unauthorized alien. This prohibition applies whether or not an 
Internal Revenue Service Form 1099 is issued in conjunction with the wages or 
remuneration.  
 
Code Section 12-6-1175 does not apply to:  
 

(1) A business domiciled in South Carolina that is exempt from compliance with 
federal employment verification procedures under federal law;  

(2) An individual hired by the taxpayer prior to January 1, 2009;  
(3) A taxpayer where the individual being paid is not directly compensated or 

employed by the taxpayer; or,  
(4) Wages or remuneration paid for labor services to any individual whose 

employment authorization status was verified in accordance with Code Section 
41-8-20.  

 
If, based on a reasonable investigation of the individual, a taxpayer did not know or 
should not have known that the individual was an unauthorized alien, the taxpayer 
must not be held liable for failing to comply with this section. A taxpayer shall be 
deemed to have conducted a reasonable investigation if the individual‟s employment 
authorization status was verified in accordance with the provisions of Code Section 41-
8-20 and the information provided by the individual to the taxpayer was facially correct. 
 
 Note: For questions about the above income tax provision, e-mail TaxTech@sctax.org or call the Department at 
803-898-5709. For questions about unauthorized aliens and the documentation needed to substantiate a person’s 
status, please contact your attorney, the federal Department of Immigration and Naturalization, or the South 
Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.  
 
Effective Date: January 1, 2009 
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House Bill 4400, Section 8 (Act No. 280) 
 
SC Illegal Immigration Reform Act – Withholding Requirements  
 
The “South Carolina Illegal Immigration Reform Act” has been enacted. This legislation 
impacts taxes and licenses administered by the Department primarily in three areas:  

(1) requiring withholding on certain individuals,  
(2) eliminating the income tax deduction for payments made to certain individuals, 

and  
(3) issuing certain regulatory licenses and permits. The following briefly summarizes 

the withholding tax applicability of the Act.  
 
Code Section 12-8-595 has been added to require a withholding agent, as defined in 
Code Section 12-8-10, to withhold state income tax at the rate of 7% of the amount of 
compensation that is paid to an individual and reported on Form 1099 if the individual 
has:  
 

(1) Failed to provide a taxpayer identification number or social security number;  
(2) Failed to provide a correct taxpayer identification number or social security 

number; or  
(3) Provided an Internal Revenue Service issued taxpayer identification number 

issued for nonresident aliens.  
 
If a withholding agent fails to comply with this withholding requirement, the withholding 
agent will be liable for the taxes required to have been withheld unless the withholding 
agent is exempt from federal withholding with respect to the individual pursuant to a 
properly filed Internal Revenue Service Form 8233 (Exemption From Withholding on 
Compensation for Independent (and Certain Dependent) Personal Services of a 
Nonresident Alien Individual) and has provided a copy of the form to the Internal 
Revenue Service Commissioner.  
 
A withholding agent is not considered to have violated this withholding requirement if 
the individual provided a false or incorrect social security number or taxpayer 
identification number that was facially correct and the withholding agent does not know 
or should not have known based on a reasonable investigation that the number 
provided was false or incorrect.  
 
Note: For questions about the above withholding tax provision, e-mail TaxTech@sctax.org or call the Department at 
803-898-5709. For questions about unauthorized aliens and the documentation needed to substantiate a person’s 
status, please direct your inquiry to your attorney, the federal Department of Immigration and Naturalization, or the 
South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.  

 
Effective Date: June 4, 2008 
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Return is due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of the taxable year.

Change of Address Accounting Period
Officers

Total Gross Receipts.

< >

1. Federal Taxable Income per federal tax return 1.
2. Net Adjustment from line 12, Schedule A and B 2.
3. Total Net Income as Reconciled (line 1 plus or minus line 2) 3.
4. If Multi-state Corporation, enter amount from line 6, Schedule G; otherwise, enter amount from line 3. 4.
5. LESS: South Carolina net operating loss carryover, if applicable 5.
6. South Carolina Net Income subject to tax (line 4 less line 5) 6.
7. TAX: Multiply amount on line 6 by 5% (.05) 7.
8. Less tax deferred on income from foreign trade receipts (see instructions) 8.
9. Balance (line 7 less line 8) 9.

10. Credit Carryover (line 7, Schedule C) Non-refundable credits (line 5, Schedule C). . . . . . . . . 10.
11. Balance of tax (line 9 less line 10). Enter the difference but not less than zero. 11.
12. Interest on DISC-deferred tax liability ; or Foreign Trade Deferred Tax Liability 12.
13. Total tax and/or interest (add lines 11 and 12) 13.
14. Payments: (a) Tax Withheld (see instructions) (b) Paid by Declaration

(c) Paid with Tentative Return (d) Credit from Line 29b
Refundable Credits: (e) Ammonia Additive (f) Milk Credit

15. Total Payments and Refundable Credits (add lines 14a through 14f) 15.
16. Balance of Tax and/or Interest Due (line 13 less line 15) 16.
17. Interest Due Penalty Due (See penalty and interest instructions.) Enter Total. 17.
18. TOTAL INCOME TAX, Interest and Penalty Due (add lines 16 and 17) BALANCE DUE 18.
19. OVERPAYMENT (line 15 less line 13) To be applied as follows:

(a) Estimated Tax (b) License Fee (c) *REFUNDED
20. Total Capital And Paid in Surplus (Multi-State Corporations See Schedule E)
21. FEE DUE - Line 20 x .001, plus $15.00 (Fee cannot be less than $25.00 per taxpayer) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21.
22. Credit Carryover Credit taken this year from SC1120TC, Part II, Column C 22.
23. Balance (line 21 less line 22) 23.
24. Payments: (24a) Paid with Tentative Return (24b) Credit from line 19b
25. Total Payments (add line 24a and 24b) 25.
26. Balance of Fee Due (line 23 less line 25) 26.
27. Interest Due Penalty Due (See penalty and interest instructions.) Enter Total. 27.
28. TOTAL LICENSE FEE, Interest and Penalty Due (add lines 26 and 27) BALANCE DUE 28.
29. OVERPAYMENT (line 25 less line 23) To be applied as follows:

(a) Estimated Tax (b) Income Tax (c) *REFUNDED

30. GRAND TOTAL: INCOME TAX and LICENSE FEE DUE (add lines 18 and 28) . . . EFT

P
A

R
T

 I
C

O
M

P
U

T
A

T
IO

N
 O

F
 IN

C
O

M
E

 T
A

X
 L

IA
B

IL
IT

Y
P

A
R

T
 II

C
O

M
P

U
T

A
T

IO
N

 O
F

 L
IC

E
N

S
E

 F
E

E

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   

  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
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. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Check if Consolidated Return

State of South Carolina
'C' CORPORATION INCOME TAX RETURN 

Total cost of depreciable personal property in SC. 

SC FILE # -

INCOME TAX PERIOD ENDING
LICENSE FEE PERIOD ENDING

FEIN

NAME
MAILING ADDRESS
CITY STATE ZIP CODE

Attach complete copy of Federal Return

County or Counties in SC Where Property is Located:

City Audit Location State

Audit Contact Telephone Number

SC1120
(Rev. 8/31/10)

 3091

Amended Return

. . . . . . . . . . .     

1350

< >

Make check payable to: SC Department of Revenue.  Include Business Name, FEIN and SC File Number.
Go to www.sctax.org and look for the DOR ePay logo for other payment options.

For Office Use Only

30.

If Filing a Final Return, see General Instructions, page 6.
You MUST close your account with the SECRETARY OF STATE and

    complete I-349.
             Merged           Reorganized          Dissolved            Withdrawn 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Mail return to: SC DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, Corporation Return, Columbia SC 29214-0100

If a refund or zero return, mail to: SC DOR, Corporation Return, Columbia SC 29214-0033
If a balance due return, mail to: SC DOR, Corporation Return, Columbia SC 29214-0034
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SC1120

1. Taxes on or Measured By Income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2. Federal Net Operating Loss . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3.
4.
5. Other Additions (attach schedule) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6. Total Additions (add lines 1 through 5) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

DEDUCTIONS FROM FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME
7. Interest On Obligations Of The U.S. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8.
9.
10. Other Deductions (attach schedule) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
11. Total Deductions (add lines 7 through 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12. Net Adjustment (line 6 less line 11) Also enter on line 2, Part 1, SC1120 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

SCHEDULE A AND B ADDITIONS TO FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME

SCHEDULE C SUMMARY OF INCOME TAX CREDITS (FROM SC1120-TC)

1. Credit Carryover From Previous Year's SC1120, Schedule C (NOTE: Should agree to SC1120-TC Column A, line 16) . . .
2. Enter Total Credits from SC1120-TC, Column B, line 16. SC1120-TC must be attached to return.. . . . . . . . . .
3. Total Credits (add lines 1 and 2). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4. Tax (line 9, Part 1, SC1120) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5. Lesser of line 3 or 4 (enter on line 10, Part 1, SC1120) (NOTE: Should agree to SC1120-TC, Column C, line 16.) . .

6. Enter Credits Lost Due to Statute (NOTE: Should agree to SC1120-TC, Column D, line 16.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7. Credit Carryover (line 3 less lines 5 and 6) (NOTE: Should agree to SC1120-TC, Column E, line 16.) . . . . . . . . . . .

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.

  1.
  2.
  3.
  4.
  5.
                                                6.

  7.
  8.
  9.
10.
                                              11.
                                              12.

I, the undersigned, a principal officer of the corporation for which this return is made declare that this return, including accompanying Annual Report,
statements and schedules, has been examined by me and is to the best of my knowledge and belief, a true and complete return.

Please
Sign
Here

Paid

Preparer's

Use Only

Preparer's
signature
Firm's name (or
yours if self-employed)
and address

Date Check if
self-employed

Preparer's Telephone Number

PTIN or FEIN

ZIP Code

I authorize the Director of the Department of Revenue or delegate to
discuss this return, attachments and related tax matters with the preparer. No

Preparer's Printed Name
Yes

Signature of officer Date Title                                                                     Telephone Number

Page 2

*REFUND NOTE: Income tax refunds of less than $100 and license fee refunds of less than $100 will be applied to the next year’s estimated tax
 unless indicated here: Initial here for refund to be sent.

If this is a corporation's final return, signing here authorizes the Department of Revenue to disclose that information with the Secretary of State. You must
close with the Secretary of State as well as the Department of Revenue and complete I-349.

Taxpayer's Signature Date
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SCHEDULE D ANNUAL REPORT TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL CORPORATIONS

1. Name
2. Incorporated under the laws of the State of
3. Location of the Registered Office of the Corporation in the State of South Carolina is

In the City of Registered Agent at such address is
4. Location of principal office (street address)

Nature of principal business in SC
5. The total number of authorized shares of capital stock, itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:

NUMBER OF SHARES: CLASS: SERIES:

6. The total number of issued and outstanding shares of capital stock itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:
               NUMBER OF SHARES:                              CLASS:                                                                      SERIES:

7. The names and business addresses of the directors (or individuals functioning as directors) and principal officers in the Corporation are:
(If additional space is necessary, attach separate schedule).

        NAME                                                    TITLE                                                  BUSINESS ADDRESS

8. Date Incorporated Date commenced business in the State of South Carolina was
9. Date of this report FEIN

10. If Foreign Corporation, the date qualified to do business in the State of South Carolina is
11. Was the name of the Corporation changed during the year? Give old name
12. The Corporation's books are in the care of

Located at (street address)
13. If filing consolidated, complete and attach Schedule J for each Corporation included in the consolidation.
14. The total amount of stated capital per balance sheet is:

A. Total paid in Capital Stock (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . . . . $
B. Total paid in Capital Surplus (cannot be a negative amount). . . . . . . . . . . $
C. Total amount of stated Capital (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . $

Page 3SC1120
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1. Total Capital and Paid-in-Surplus at end of Year. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $

2. SC PROPORTION: (line 1 X ratio from Schedule H-1, H-2 or H-3, as appropriate) OR enter amount from Schedule

H-4, Part II. Also enter on line 20, Part II . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $

SCHEDULE E COMPUTATION FOR LICENSE FEE - MULTI-STATE CORPORATIONS

SC1120

Property
to be Excluded
from Property

Factor
6

Gross
Amounts

1

Less:
Related

Expenses
2

Net Amounts
Allocated Direct.

to SC and 
Other States

3

Net Amounts
Allocated
Directly to

SC
4

Payrolls to
be Excluded
from Payroll

Factor
5

SCHEDULE F INCOME SUBJECT TO DIRECT ALLOCATION

SCHEDULE G COMPUTATION OF TAXABLE INCOME FOR CORPORATIONS CLAIMING MULTI-STATE OPERATIONS

1.
2.
3.

4.
5.
6.

1. Total net income as reconciled. Enter amount from line 3, Page 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2. Less: Income subject to direct allocation to SC and other states from Schedule F, line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3. Total net income subject to apportionment (line 1 less line 2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4. Multiply amount on line 3 by appropriate ratio from Schedule H-1, H-2, or H-3 and enter result here OR

enter amount from Schedule H-4, Part I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5. Add: Income subject to direct allocation to SC from Schedule F, line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6. Total SC Net Income (sum of lines 4 and 5 above) also enter on line 4, Part 1 of Page 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

1. In SC

< > < >

3. Ratio
COMPUTATION OF GROSS RECEIPTS RATIO

2. Total Everywhere

%

1. Total Gross Receipts
2. Less: Exclusion (see instructions)
3. Gross Receipts (for ratio)
4. Ratio of Gross Receipts (line 3, Col. 1 line 3, Col. 2):

SCHEDULE H - 2

SCHEDULE H-1 COMPUTATION OF FOUR FACTOR APPORTIONMENT RATIO

< >

2. Total Property Everywhere
(b) Ending Period

1. Property Within South Carolina
(a) Beginning Period(b) Ending Period(a) Beginning Period

1. Land
2. Buildings
3. Machinery and Equipment
4. Inventories
5. Other Property
6. Exclusions
7. TOTAL (add lines 1 - 5; subtract line 6)

< >

< >< >< > < >

3. Ratio2. Total Everywhere1. Within SC

%
%

%
%

%

%

8. Avg. of Beginning and Ending Period (add line 7a and b and divide by 2)

9. Rental or Lease Value
10. TOTAL Property Add lines 8 and 9. (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)

11. GROSS Payroll
12. Less: Officers Compensation and Exclusions
13. TOTAL Payroll (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)
14. TOTAL Sales (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)
15. TOTAL Sales (same as line 14)
16. TOTAL of Ratios (add Column 3 - lines 10,13, 14 and 15)
17. Arithmetical Average of Ratios

:

:

:

1. Interest not connected with business
2. Dividends received
3. Rents
4. Gains/losses on real property
5. Gains/losses on intangible pers. prop.
6. Investment income directly allocated
7. TOTAL INCOME DIRECTLY ALLOCATED
8. INCOME DIRECTLY ALLOCATED TO SC
9. TOTALS TO APPORTIONMENT FACTORS

Page 4

ONLY MULTI-STATE CORPORATIONS MUST COMPLETE SCHEDULES E, F, G, AND H 
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  SCHEDULE H-4                           COMPUTATION OF SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT 

1. Total Capital and Paid-in-Surplus at the end of the year. If $10,000 or less, STOP HERE and enter on

Schedule E, Line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  2.  Enter the ratio from Sch H-1, Line 17. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

3. Multiply Line 1 by Line 2. If $10,000 or less, STOP HERE and enter on Schedule E, Line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . .

  4.  Enter the ratio from Line 3 of single factor apportionment schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

5. Multiply Line 1 by Line 4. If Line 3 is less than Line 5, STOP HERE and enter amount from Line 3 on

       Schedule E, Line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  6.  Line 3 minus Line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  7.  For tax year 2010, multiply the amount on Line 6 by 80% (.80). This is the amount of reduction of license

       fee basis allowed this year  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  8.  Line 3 minus Line 7. Enter here and on Schedule E, Line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

%

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

%

SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT RATIO SCHEDULE

%

%

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

Page 5

PART I

SCHEDULE H-3
RatioAmount

%

1. Total Within South Carolina
2. Total for System
3. Ratio (South Carolina Total System):

COMPUTATION OF RATIO FOR PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS

RatioAmount

1. Total Sales Within South Carolina
2. Total Sales Everywhere
3. Ratio (South Carolina Everywhere)
Note: If there are no sales anywhere, enter 100% on Line 3, if South Carolina is the principal

            place of business OR enter 0% on Line 3 if principal place of business is outside SC.

:

         COMPUTATION OF SC NET INCOME SUBJECT TO TAX FOR MULTI-STATE CORPORATION
QUALIFYING FOR SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT

      COMPUTATION OF LICENSE FEE - MULTI-STATE CORPORATION QUALIFYING 
FOR SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT

PART II 

  1.  Enter amount from Sch G, Line 3. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  2.  Enter Ratio from Sch H-1, Line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  3.  Multiply Line 2 by Line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  4.  Enter Ratio from Line 3 of single factor apportionment schedule. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

5. Multiply Line 1 by Line 4. If Line 3 is less than Line 5, STOP HERE and enter amount from Line 3,

       Schedule H-4, Part I on Schedule G, Line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

  6.  Line 3 minus Line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  7.  For tax year 2010, multiply amount on Line 6 by 80% (.80). This is the amount of reduction in SC taxable 

       income allowed this year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  8.  Line 3 minus Line 7. Enter this amount on Sch G, Line 4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

SC1120
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SC1120
SCHEDULE I RESERVED
SCHEDULE J CORPORATIONS INCLUDED IN CONSOLIDATED RETURN

AFFILIATED CORPORATION NO. 1
1. Name
2. Incorporated under the laws of the State of
3. Location of the Registered Office of the Corporation in the State of South Carolina is

In the City of Registered Agent at such address is
4. Location of principal office (street address)

Nature of principal business in S.C.
5. The total number of authorized shares of capital stock, itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:

                                    NUMBER OF SHARES                               CLASS                                         SERIES

6. The total number of issued and outstanding shares of capital stock itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:
                                    NUMBER OF SHARES                               CLASS                                         SERIES

7. The names and business addresses of the directors (or individuals functioning as directors) and principal officers in the Corporation are:
(If additional space is necessary, attach separate schedule).
NAME TITLE BUSINESS ADDRESS

  8.   Date Incorporated                                                 Date commenced business in the State of South Carolina was 
9. Date of this report FEIN SC File #

10.   If Foreign Corporation, the date qualified to do business in the State of South Carolina is
11.   Was the name of the Corporation changed during the year?                          Give old name
12. The Corporation's books are in the care of

Located at (street address)
13.   Corporate Mailing Address
14. The total amount of stated capital per balance sheet is:

A. Total paid in Capital Stock (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . . . . $
B. Total paid in Capital Surplus (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . . .$
C. Total amount of stated Capital (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . $

For additional affiliated corporations duplicate Schedule J as needed.

ATTACH COMPLETED COPY OF FEDERAL RETURN.

Page 6

Make check payable to: SC Department of Revenue.  Include Business Name, FEIN and SC File Number.
Go to www.sctax.org and look for the DOR ePay logo for other payment options.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
'S' CORPORATION INCOME TAX RETURN

(Rev. 8/31/10)

3095

Return is due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd month following the close of the taxable year.

Change of Address Accounting Period
Officers

SC 1120S

Total cost of depreciable personal property in SC. 

If Filing a Final Return, see General Instructions, page 6.
You MUST close your account with the SECRETARY OF STATE and
complete I-349. 
          Merged           Reorganized          Dissolved            Withdrawn 

SC FILE # -

INCOME TAX PERIOD ENDING
LICENSE FEE PERIOD ENDING

FEIN 

NAME
MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . .Does the Corporation have any Shareholders who are nonresidents of South Carolina? Yes No

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . .

. . . . 

Make check payable to: SC Department of Revenue.  Include Business Name, FEIN and SC File Number.
Go to www.sctax.org and look for the DOR ePay logo for other payment options.

P
A

R
T

 I
C

O
M

P
U

T
A

T
IO

N
 O

F
 IN

C
O

M
E

 T
A

X
 L

IA
B

IL
IT

Y
P

A
R

T
 II

C
O

M
P

U
T

A
T

IO
N

 O
F

 L
IC

E
N

S
E

 F
E

E

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
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. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . .

< >

Attach complete copy of Federal Return

County or Counties in SC Where Property is Located:

Audit Contact Telephone Number

City Audit Location State

1350

< >

For Office Use Only

Total Gross Receipts.

Check if Includes QSSS(s)Amended Return

1. Total of line 1 through 10, Schedule K of Federal Form 1120S 1.
2. Net Adjustment from line 15, Schedule A and B 2.
3. Total Net Income as Reconciled (line 1 plus or minus line 2) 3.
4. If Multi-state Corporation, enter amount from line 6, Schedule G; otherwise, enter amount from line 3. 4.
5. LESS: Income on line 4 taxed to shareholders of S Corporation 5.
6. South Carolina Net Income subject to tax (line 4 less line 5) 6.
7. TAX: Multiply amount on line 6 by .05 (5.0%) 7.
8. Payments: (a) Tax Withheld (see instructions) (b) Paid by Declaration

(c) Paid with Tentative Return (d) Credit from Line 23b
Refundable Credits: (e) Ammonia Additive (f) Milk Credit

9. Total Payments and Refundable Credits:(add lines 8a through 8f) 9.
10. Balance of Tax Due (line 7 less line 9) 10.
11. Interest Due Penalty Due (See penalty and interest instructions.) Enter Total. 11.
12. TOTAL INCOME TAX, Interest and Penalty Due (add lines 10 and 11) BALANCE DUE 12.
13. OVERPAYMENT (line 9 less line 7) To be applied as follows:

(a) Estimated Tax (b) License Fee (c) REFUNDED
14. Total Capital And Paid in Surplus (Multi-State Corporations See Schedule E) 14.
15. FEE DUE - Line 14 x .001, plus $15.00 (Fee cannot be less than $25.00) 15.
16. LESS: Credits taken this year against license fee from SC1120TC, Part II, Column C (attach SC1120-TC) 16.
17. Balance (line 15 less line 16) 17.
18. Payments:(18a) Paid with Tentative Return (18b) Credit from line 13b
19. Total Payments (add line 18a and 18b) 19.
20. Balance of Fee Due (line 17 less line 19) 20.
21. Interest Due Penalty Due (See penalty and interest instructions.) Enter Total. 21.
22. TOTAL LICENSE FEE, Interest and Penalty Due (add lines 20 and 21) BALANCE DUE 22.
23. OVERPAYMENT (line 19 less line 17) To be applied as follows:

(a) Estimated Tax (b) Income Tax (c) REFUNDED
24. GRAND TOTAL: INCOME TAX and LICENSE FEE DUE (add lines 12 and 22) EFT 24.

If a refund or zero return, mail to: SC DOR, Corporation Return, Columbia SC 29214-0033
If a balance due return, mail to: SC DOR, Corporation Return, Columbia SC 29214-0034
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Page 2

1. Taxes on or Measured By Income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1.
2. Excess net passive income subject to federal tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2.
3. Taxable portion of certain built-in gains subject to federal tax 3.
4. 4.
5. 5.
6. Other Additions (attach schedule) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6.
7. Total Additions (add lines 1 through 6) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.

DEDUCTIONS FROM FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME
8. 8.
9. 9.

10. 10.
11. 11.
12. 12.
13. Other Deductions (attach schedule) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .13.
14. Total Deductions (add lines 8 through 13) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14.
15. Net Adjustment (line 7 less line 14) Also enter on line 2, Part 1, SC1120S. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15.

SCHEDULE A AND B ADDITIONS TO FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME

SCHEDULE C RESERVED

SC1120S

I, the undersigned, a principal officer of the corporation for which this return is made declare that this return, including accompanying Annual
Report, statements and schedules, has been examined by me and is to the best of my knowledge and belief, a true and complete return.

Signature of officer Date Title                                                                               Telephone Number

Please
Sign
Here

Paid

Preparer's

Use Only

Preparer's
signature
Firm's name (or
yours if self-employed)
and address

Date Check if
self-employed

Preparer's Telephone Number

PTIN or FEIN

ZIP Code

I authorize the Director of the Department of Revenue or delegate to
discuss this return, attachments and related tax matters with the preparer. 

No
Preparer's Printed Name

Yes

If this is a corporation's final return, signing here authorizes the Department of Revenue to disclose that information with the Secretary of State. You must close
with the Secretary of State as well as the Department of Revenue and complete I-349.

Taxpayer's Signature Date
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SCHEDULE D ANNUAL REPORT TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL CORPORATIONS

8. Date Incorporated Date commenced business in the State of South Carolina was
9. Date of this report FEIN

10. If Foreign Corporation, the date qualified to do business in the State of South Carolina is
11. Was the name of the Corporation changed during the year? Give old name
12. The Corporation's books are in the care of

Located at (street address)
13. The total amount of stated capital per balance sheet is:

A. Total paid in Capital Stock (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . . . $
B. Total paid in Capital Surplus (cannot be a negative amount) . . . . . . . . . . $
C. Total amount of stated Capital (cannot be a negative amount). . . . . . . . . $

1. Name
2. Incorporated under the laws of the State of
3. Location of the Registered Office of the Corporation in the State of South Carolina is

In the City of Registered Agent at such address is
4. Location of principal office (street address)

Nature of principal business in SC
5. The total number of authorized shares of capital stock, itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:

NUMBER OF SHARES: CLASS: SERIES:

6. The total number of issued and outstanding shares of capital stock itemized by class and series, if any, within each class is as follows:
NUMBER OF SHARES: CLASS: SERIES:

7. The names and business addresses of the directors (or individuals functioning as directors) and principal officers in the Corporation are:
(If additional space is necessary, attach separate schedule).
NAME TITLE BUSINESS ADDRESS

Page 3SC1120S
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ONLY MULTI-STATE CORPORATIONS MUST COMPLETE SCHEDULES E, F, G, AND H

SCHEDULE G COMPUTATION OF TAXABLE INCOME FOR CORPORATIONS CLAIMING MULTI-STATE OPERATIONS

SCHEDULE E COMPUTATION FOR LICENSE FEE - MULTI-STATE CORPORATIONS

SCHEDULE H-1 COMPUTATION OF FOUR FACTOR APPORTIONMENT RATIO

< >

2. Total Property Everywhere

(b) Ending Period

1. Property Within South Carolina

(a) Beginning Period(b) Ending Period(a) Beginning Period

1. Land
2. Buildings
3. Machinery and Equipment
4. Inventories
5. Other Property
6. Exclusions
7. TOTAL (add lines 1 - 5; subtract line 6)

1. In SC

< > < >

< >

< >< >< > < >

3. Ratio

3. Ratio2. Total Everywhere1. Within SC

COMPUTATION OF GROSS RECEIPTS RATIO
2. Total Everywhere

%

%
%

%
%

%

%

Page 4SC1120S

(A)  Allocated Income

(B) Gross

 Amounts

(C) Related

      Expenses

(D) Net Amounts

(Column B minus Column (C)

(E) Net Amounts 

Allocated Directly to SC

1.  Total Allocated Income (Enter the total of Column D here)

2.  Total Income Allocated to SC (Enter the total of Column E)

Attach an explanation of each type of  income listed above that is not allocated to South Carolina.

1. Total Gross Receipts
2. Less: Exclusion (see instructions)
3. Gross Receipts (for ratio)
4. Ratio of Gross Receipts (line 3, Col. 1 line 3, Col. 2):

8. Avg. of Beginning and Ending Period (add line 7a and b and divide by 2)

9. Rental or Lease Value
10. TOTAL Property Add lines 8 and 9. (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)

11. GROSS Payroll
12. Less: Officers Compensation and Exclusions
13. TOTAL Payroll (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)
14. TOTAL Sales (Col. 1 Col. 2 and enter ratio in Col. 3)
15. TOTAL Sales (same as line 14)
16. TOTAL of Ratios (add Column 3 - lines 10,13, 14 and 15)
17. Arithmetical Average of Ratios

:

:

:

SCHEDULE H - 2

1. Total Capital and Paid-in-Surplus at end of Year. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $

2. SC PROPORTION: (line 1 X ratio from Schedule H-1, H-2 or H-3, as appropriate) OR enter amount from Schedule

H-4, Part II. Also enter on line 14, Part II . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $

SCHEDULE F INCOME SUBJECT TO DIRECT ALLOCATION

1. Total net income as reconciled. Enter amount from line 3, Page 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2. Less: Income subject to direct allocation to SC and other states from Schedule F, line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3. Total net income subject to apportionment (line 1 less line 2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4. Multiply amount on line 3 by appropriate ratio from Schedule H-1, H-2, or H-3 and enter result here OR

enter amount from Schedule H-4, Part I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5. Add: Income subject to direct allocation to SC from Schedule F, line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6. Total SC Net Income (sum of lines 4 and 5 above) also enter on line 4, Part 1 of Page 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

1.
2.
3.

4.
5.
6.
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  SCHEDULE H-4                           COMPUTATION OF SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT 

1. Total Capital and Paid-in-Surplus at the end of the year. If $10,000 or less, STOP HERE and enter on

Schedule E, Line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  2.  Enter the ratio from Sch H-1, Line 17. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

3. Multiply Line 1 by Line 2. If $10,000 or less, STOP HERE and enter on Schedule E, Line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . .

  4.  Enter the ratio from Line 3 of single factor apportionment schedule. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

5. Multiply Line 1 by Line 4. If Line 3 is less than Line 5, STOP HERE and enter amount from Line 3 on

       Schedule E, Line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  6.  Line 3 minus Line 5. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  7.  For tax year 2010, multiply the amount on Line 6 by 80% (.80). This is the amount of reduction of license

       fee basis allowed this year  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  8.  Line 3 minus Line 7. Enter here and on Schedule E, Line 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

%

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

%

SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT RATIO SCHEDULE

%

%

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

Page 5

PART I

SCHEDULE H-3
RatioAmount

%

1. Total Within South Carolina
2. Total for System
3. Ratio (South Carolina Total System):

COMPUTATION OF RATIO FOR PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS

RatioAmount

1. Total Sales Within South Carolina
2. Total Sales Everywhere
3. Ratio (South Carolina Everywhere)
Note: If there are no sales anywhere, enter 100% on Line 3, if South Carolina is the principal

            place of business OR enter 0% on Line 3 if principal place of business is outside SC.

:

         COMPUTATION OF SC NET INCOME SUBJECT TO TAX FOR MULTI-STATE CORPORATION
QUALIFYING FOR SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT

      COMPUTATION OF LICENSE FEE - MULTI-STATE CORPORATION QUALIFYING 
FOR SINGLE FACTOR APPORTIONMENT

PART II 

  1.  Enter amount from Sch G, Line 3. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  2.  Enter Ratio from Sch H-1, Line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  3.  Multiply Line 2 by Line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  4.  Enter Ratio from Line 3 of single factor apportionment schedule. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

5. Multiply Line 1 by Line 4. If Line 3 is less than Line 5, STOP HERE and enter amount from Line 3,

       Schedule H-4, Part I on Schedule G, Line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   

  6.  Line 3 minus Line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  7.  For tax year 2010, multiply amount on Line 6 by 80% (.80). This is the amount of reduction in SC taxable 

       income allowed this year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

  8.  Line 3 minus Line 7. Enter this amount on Sch G, Line 4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

SC1120S
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SC1120S Page 6

SCHEDULE SC-K WORKSHEET

* Enter amounts from corresponding lines on your federal Schedule K in Column B.

Non-Refundable Tax Credits: Enter Total Credits from SC1120-TC . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
SC1120-TC must be attached to return.

If one or more Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiaries (QSSSs) are included, list South Carolina subsidiaries only.
Attach schedule, if more space is needed.

Investment 
interest expense

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12a

12b

12c

12d

    Section 59(e)(2) 
expenditures

Other deductions

(F) 

Col. (D) Amounts
Apportioned or

Allocated to SC 

(E) 

Col. (D) Amounts Not
Apportioned or Allocated

to SC

(D)

Federal Schedule K
Amounts After  SC

Adjustments

(C)  

Plus or Minus 
South Carolina

Adjustments

(B) *

Amounts From
Federal Schedule K

(A)

Description

Ordinary business
  income (loss) 

Dividends

1

Net rental real 
estate income (loss)

Other net rental
income (loss)

Interest income

Royalties
Net short-term 

capital gain (loss)
Net long-term 

capital gain (loss)
Net section  

1231 gain (loss)

Other income (loss) 

 Section 179 deduction

Contributions
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NAME OF CORPORATION FEIN SC FILE #

1. New Jobs Credit (TC-4)

SC1120-TC13501350
(Rev. 8/13/10)

3370

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CORPORATE TAX CREDITS

These credits are computed on separate forms. Be sure to attach the appropriate form(s) to this schedule for the credit you are claiming.

Column A
Previously
Accrued

Column B
Earned

This Year

Column C
Taken

This Year

Column D
Lost Due
to Statute

Column E
Carried
Forward

Part I    Corporate Income Tax Credits

2. Economic Impact Zone Property Investment Credit (TC-11)

3. Family Independence Payments Credit (TC-12)

4. Research Expenses Credit (TC-18)

7.

6.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

7.

6.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

5.5.

Credit Description Code

For lines 5-15, enter credit description and associated code from the following information, along with the dollar amount of credit claimed. 

33701038

Column A
Previously
Accrued

Column B
Earned

This Year

Column C
Taken

This Year

Column D
Lost Due
to Statute

Column E
Carried
Forward

16. Total of Lines 1-15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3.

2.

4.

5.

3.

2.

4.

5.

1.1.

Credit Description Code
Column A
Previously
Accrued

Column B
Earned

This Year

Column C
Taken

This Year

Column E
Carried
Forward

Column D
Lost Due
to Statute

6.6.

7. Total Corporate License Fee Credits . . . . . . . . . . . 
    (See Instructions)

Part II    Corporate License Fee Credits

**SEE SEPARATE LISTING FOR CREDITS WHICH MAY BE USED AS CREDITS AGAINST LICENSE FEES.

DESCRIPTIONS CONTINUED ON THE FOLLOWING PAGES
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Instructions for Part I Corporate Income Tax Credits

Line 16 -

The Total of Column A, Previously Accrued should be entered on Schedule C, Line 1 of the SC1120, SC1120U,
SC990-T.

The Total of Column B, Earned This Year should be entered on Schedule C, Line 2 of the SC1120, SC1120U,
SC990-T.

The Total of Column C, Taken This Year should be the amount shown on Schedule C, Line 5 of the SC1120, SC1120U,
or SC990-T, as applicable. On the SC1120S this will be passed through to the shareholders and shown on their SC-K.
Enter credits taken on SC 1101B and SC1104, as applicable.

The Total of Column D, Lost due to Statute should be the amount shown on Schedule C, Line 6 of the SC1120,
SC1120U, or SC990-T,  as applicable.

The Total of Column E, Carried Forward should be the amount shown on Schedule C, Line 7 of the SC1120, SC1120U,
or SC990-T, as applicable. Do not include credits passed through to shareholders. 

Instructions for Part II Corporate License Fee Credits

Line 7 - Total Columns A through E.

The Total of Column C, Taken This Year should be entered on Line 22 of the SC1120 or Line 16 of the SC1120S. The
credits on this form cannot be used to offset license fees on the SC1120U or the CL-4 returns. For a credit against these
license fees see Section 12-20-105 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.

DEFINITIONS:

PREVIOUSLY ACCRUED: Credits earned but not used in previous years and still available for use in current or future
                                            years.

LOST DUE TO STATUTE: Credits previously earned but lost due to expiration of the time period for claiming them during
                                            this tax year.

CARRIED FORWARD: Credits not used but still available for future use. Do not include credits passed through to
                                      shareholders. 

Total Columns A through E

    001 DRIP/TRICKLE IRRIGATION SYSTEMS CREDIT: For
purchasing and installing conservation tillage equipment,
drip/trickle irrigation system, or dual purpose combination
truck and crane equipment. (TC-1)

CREDIT FOR STATE CONTRACTORS
SUBCONTRACTING WITH SOCIALLY AND
ECONOMICALLY DISADVANTAGED SMALL
BUSINESS: For state contractors that subcontract with
socially and economically disadvantaged small
businesses. (TC-2)

    002

CREDIT DESCRIPTIONS

WATER RESOURCES CREDIT: For investing in the
construction of water storage and control structures for
soil and water conservation, wildlife management,
agriculture and aquaculture purpose. (TC-3)

    003

SMALL BUSINESS JOB CREDIT: For qualifying small
businesses that create and maintain 2 or more full-time
jobs. (TC-4SB)

    104

    204

    005

SMALL BUSINESS ALTERNATIVE JOB CREDIT: For
qualifying small businesses that create 2 or more
full-time jobs. (TC-4SA)

PALMETTO SEED CAPITAL CREDIT: For investing in
the Palmetto Seed Capital Corporation. (TC-7)

SCENIC RIVERS CREDIT: For donating certain lands
adjacent to designated rivers or sections of a river.
(TC-5)

    007

    006 INFRASTRUCTURE CREDIT: For construction or
improvements of water lines, sewer lines and road
projects eventually dedicated to public use or qualifying
private entity. (TC-6)

    008 CORPORATE HEADQUARTER CREDIT: For qualifying
costs related to establishing a corporate headquarters in
South Carolina or expanding or adding to an existing
headquarters. (TC-8)

    009

CODE TITLE: Description. (Form)

CODE TITLE: Description. (Form)

    011 ECONOMIC IMPACT ZONE CREDIT: For placing
qualifying property in service in an economic impact
zone. (TC-11)

    012 FAMILY INDEPENDENCE PAYMENTS CREDIT: For
employers hiring qualifying recipients of Family
Independence Payments. (TC-12)

ADDITIONAL FAMILY INDEPENDENCE PAYMENTS
CREDIT: For employers hiring qualified Family
Independence Payment recipients in a distressed or least
developed county. (TC-12A)

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CREDIT: For investing
amounts not claimed as charitable deductions in
qualifying community development corporations or
financial institutions. (TC-14)

    112

    014

PART I CODES

NEW JOBS CREDIT: For qualifying employers that
create and maintain 10 or more full-time jobs. (TC-4)

    004

EMPLOYER CHILD CARE CREDIT: For employers that
establish child care programs to benefit employees or
donate to a non-profit corporation providing child care
services to employees. (TC-9)
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CODE TITLE: Description. (Form) CODE TITLE: Description. (Form)

    018 RESEARCH EXPENSES CREDIT: For taxpayers
claiming a federal research expenses credit. (TC-18)

INDUSTRY PARTNERSHIP FUND CREDIT: For
contributing to the SC Research Authority’s Industry
Partnership Fund. (TC-36)

036

    038

    040

    041

WHOLE EFFLUENT TOXICITY TESTING CREDIT: For
a manufacturing facility incurring costs in complying with
whole effluent toxicity testing. (TC-37)

APPRENTICESHIP CREDIT: For employing an
apprentice. (TC-45)

    045

HYDROGEN INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT
FUND TAX CREDIT: For contributions to the South
Carolina Hydrogen Infrastructure Development Fund.
(TC-47)

   047

PLUG-IN HYBRID VEHICLE CREDIT: For in-State
purchase or lease of a plug-in hybrid vehicle. (TC-48)

  048

CELLULOSIC ETHANOL OR ALGAE-DERIVED
BIODIESEL RESEARCH AND DEVELPMENT CREDIT:
For qualified expenditures for research into and
development of feedstocks and processes for cellulosic
ethanol and for algae-derived biodiesel. (TC-49)

HYDROGEN INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT
FUND TAX CREDIT: For contributions to the South
Carolina Hydrogen Infrastructure Development Fund.
(TC-47)

   047

 049

    017 RECYCLING PROPERTY TAX CREDIT PER SECTION
12-6-3460: For taxpayers constructing or operating a
qualified recycling facility when investing in recycling
property. (TC-17)

BIOMASS RESOURCE CREDIT: For costs incurred by
corporation for purchases and installation of equipment
used to create power, etc. for commercial use. (TC-50)

 050

037

ALTERNATIVE MOTOR VEHICLE CREDIT:Taxpayers
with federal credit allowed under Internal Revenue Code
30B, will receive SC Credit. (TC-35)

035

PART I CODES

SEE THE SPECIFIC TAX CREDIT FORM REFERENCED TO GET MORE INFORMATION ON THESE TAX CREDITS

CODE TITLE: Description. (Form)

    008

    006 INFRASTRUCTURE CREDIT: For construction or
improvements of water lines, sewer lines and road
projects eventually dedicated to public use or qualifying
private entity. (TC-6)

   017

CORPORATE HEADQUARTER CREDIT: For qualifying
costs relating to establishing a corporate headquarters in
South Carolina or expanding or adding to an existing
headquarters. (TC-8)

RECYCLING PROPERTY TAX CREDIT PER SECTION
12-6-3460: For taxpayers constructing or operating a
qualified recycling facility when investing in recycling
property. (TC-17)

    018 RESEARCH EXPENSES CREDIT: For taxpayers
claiming a federal research expenses credit. (TC-18)

    021 CERTIFIED HISTORIC STRUCTURE CREDIT: For
rehabilitation projects that qualify for the federal credit.
(TC-21)

    023 TEXTILES REHABILITATION CREDIT: For
rehabilitating an abandoned textile manufacturing
facility. (TC-23)

    026 VENTURE CAPITAL INVESTMENT CREDIT: For
lending money to the SC Venture Capital Authority.
(TC-26) 

    033 CREDIT FOR MERCURY SWITCH DISPOSAL: For
vehicle recycler or scrap recycling facility participating in
End-of-Life Vehicle Solutions (ELVS) program for each
mercury switch collected and submitted for disposal.
(TC-33)

    036 INDUSTRY PARTNERSHIP FUND CREDIT: For
contributing to the SC Research Authority’s Industry
Partnership Fund. (TC-36)

    047 HYDROGEN INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT
FUND TAX CREDIT: For contributions to the South
Carolina Hydrogen Infrastructure Development Fund.
(TC-47)

CODE TITLE: Description. (Form)

PART II CODES

VENISON FOR CHARITY CREDIT: For processing deer
meat for charity. (TC-51)

 051

    052 FIRE SPRINKLER SYSTEM CREDIT: 25% of costs of
voluntarily installing a fire sprinkler system in a structure.
(TC-52) 

    053 ENERGY EFFICIENT MANUFACTURED HOME
CREDIT: $750 credit for new purchase of an Energy
Star manufactured home. (TC-53)

ETHANOL OR BIODIESEL PRODUCTION CREDIT: For
producers of corn-based or non-corn-based ethanol or
soy-based or non-soy-based biodiesel. (TC-40)
RENEWABLE FUEL FACILITY CREDIT: For
constructing a renewable fuel production or distribution
facility in South Carolina. (TC-41)

    019

    021

QUALIFIED CONSERVATION CONTRIBUTION
CREDIT: For donating a qualifying gift of land for
conservation or a qualified conservation contribution of a
real property interest. (TC-19)

CERTIFIED HISTORIC STRUCTURE CREDIT: For
rehabilitation projects that qualify for the federal credit.
(TC-21)

   030 PORT CARGO CREDIT: For increasing usage by
volume at state ports. (TC-30)

RETAIL FACILITIES REHABILITATION CREDIT: For
revitalizing abandoned retail facilities. (TC-31)

   031

CREDIT FOR MERCURY SWITCH DISPOSAL: For
vehicle recycler or scrap recycling facility participating in
End-of-Life Vehicle Solution (ELVS) Program for each
mercury switch collected and admitted for disposal.
(TC-33)

    025 MOTION PICTURES CREDITS AFTER JUNE 30, 2004:
For investing in motion picture projects or motion picture
production or post-production facilities in South Carolina
after June 30, 2004. (TC-25)

TEXTILES REHABILITATION CREDIT: For
rehabilitating an abandoned textile manufacturing facility.
(TC-23)
COMMERCIALS CREDIT: For production companies
producing commercials in South Carolina. (TC-24)

    023

    024

 020 CREDIT FOR EXPENSES INCURRED THROUGH
BROWNFIELD VOLUNTARY CLEANUP PROGRAM:
For costs of voluntary cleanup activity by a
nonresponsible party. (TC-20)

    033

VENTURE CAPITAL INVESTMENT CREDIT: For
lending money to the SC Venture Capital Authority
(TC-26)

    026

SC QUALITY FORUM CREDIT: For participating in
quality programs of the SC Quality Forum. (TC-28)

   028

CORPORATE TAX MORATORIUM PER SECTION
12-6-3367: For qualifying taxpayers that make a
substantial investment and creates at least 100 new,
full-time jobs, a 10 year, or in some cases, a 15 year
moratorium on corporate income taxes. (TC-34)

    034

CREDIT FOR MANUFACTURING RENEWABLE
ENERGY SYSTEMS: For investing in production of
renewable energy systems and components. (TC-54)

SOLAR ENERGY OR SMALL HYDROPOWER
SYSTEM CREDIT: For installing a solar energy or small
hydropower system in a South Carolina facility. (TC-38)

    054
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SC2848
(Rev. 8/31/04)

3307

Part I Power of Attorney

Plan number ( if applicable)

to represent the taxpayer(s) before the SC Department of Revenue for the following tax matters:

5 Receipt of Refund Checks - If you want to authorize a representative named in line 2 to receive, BUT NOT TO
ENDORSE OR CASH refund checks, initial here and list the name of that representative below.

Name of representative to receive refund check(s)

Name and address of specific individual

Social Security number(s)

Daytime telephone number

( )

Employer identification numberTaxpayer name(s) and address (Type or print.)

hereby appoint(s) the following representative(s) as attorney(s) - in fact: 

Name and address of specific individual

Name and address of specific individual 

Tax Form Number (SC1040, WH1605, ST-3, etc.)

Telephone No. (       )

Fax No. (       )

Check if new: Address Telephone No.

1 Taxpayer Information

2 Representative(s) (Type or print.)

Year(s) or Period(s)
(See Line 3 instructions)

3 Tax Matters - A general reference to "All years," "All periods," or "All taxes" is not acceptable.

Telephone No. (       )

Fax No. (       )

Check if new: Address Telephone No.

Telephone No. (       )

Fax No. (       )

Check if new: Address Telephone No.

4 Acts Authorized - A representative is an individual authorized to receive and inspect confidential tax information
and to perform any and all acts on behalf of the taxpayer with respect to the tax matters described in line 3, including
the authority to sign any agreements, consents or other documents. You may not use a Power of Attorney form to
authorize a representative to receive refund checks. You may use a Power of Attorney form to authorize a
representative to sign a return ONLY IF the same authority is granted pursuant to a licensed attorney/client
relationship. The authorization to sign a return must be specifically listed below.

List any specific additions to or deletions from the acts otherwise authorized in this power of attorney:

(Note: Taxpayer(s) must sign and date this form on page 2, line 8.)

Type of Tax (Individual, Corporate, Withholding, Sales, etc.)

SC2848
(Rev. 10/11/10)

3307

33071028

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

13501350

POWER OF ATTORNEY AND
DECLARATION OF REPRESENTATIVE

*

*

* * *

*

*

*

*

Email Address
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33072026

*

*

indicates required field.

Part II Declaration of Representative

*

NOTICES AND COMMUNICATIONS

Title (if  applicable)

Title (if  applicable)

Jurisdiction (state) Signature Date 

Date

Signature 

Print Name

Print Name 

Signature 

Date

Attorney  - a member in good standing of the bar of the highest court of the jurisdiction shown below.
Certified Public Accountant - duly qualified to practice as a certified public accountant in the jurisdiction shown
below.
Enrolled Agent - enrolled as an agent under the Requirements of the US Treasury Department Circular No. 230.
Officer - a bona fide officer of the taxpayer organization.
Full-Time Employee - a full-time employee of the taxpayer.
Family Member - a member of the taxpayer's immediate family (i.e., spouse, parent, child, brother, or sister).
Return Preparer.
Other, please explain. 

The Department will not accept a Declaration of Representative that is not signed.  

Designation - Insert
above letter (a-h)

6 Retention/Revocation of Prior Power(s) of Attorney - The filing of this power of attorney automatically revokes
all earlier power(s) of attorney on file with the South Carolina Department of Revenue for the same tax matters for
years or periods covered by this document .

If you do not want to revoke a prior power of attorney, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

YOU MUST ATTACH A COPY OF ANY POWER OF ATTORNEY YOU WANT TO REMAIN IN EFFECT.

7 Signature of Taxpayer(s) - If a tax matter concerns a joint return, both husband and wife must sign if joint
representation is requested; otherwise, see the instructions for SC2848 concerning signature of taxpayer(s). If
signed by a corporate officer, partner, guardian, tax matters partner/person, LLC members, executor, receiver,
personal representative, or trustee on behalf of the taxpayer, I certify that I have the authority to execute this form on
behalf of the taxpayer.

The Department will not accept a Power of Attorney that is not signed.

All Notices and Communications will be sent to the taxpayer only. However, if you are unable to forward a copy to your
named representative, you may contact our office for assistance.

I declare that:

 a
 b

 c
 d
 e
 f
 g
 h

I am authorized to represent the taxpayer(s) identified in Part I for the tax matter(s) specified; and
I am one of the following:

I declare that this return and all attachments are true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief. To
wilfully furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the Department is a crime.

* *

*

* *
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CCOONNTTAACCTT  IINNFFOORRMMAATTIIOONN  

 
 
 

SC Secretary of State‟s Office www.scsos.com 

 (803) 734-2170 
  

SC Business One Stop www.scbos.sc.gov 

 (803) 898-5690 

 scboshelp@scbos.sc.gov 

  

Fed/State Corporate EFile (803) 896-1715 

  

Corporate Tax General Information                                                  (803) 896-1730 

 CorpTax@sctax.org 

  

Fax On Demand  

       Columbia, SC (803) 898-5320 

       Toll-free (800) 768-3676 
 

 

TTAAXXPPAAYYEERR  SSEERRVVIICCEE  CCEENNTTEERRSS  
 
 

 

Charleston 
1 Southpark Circle, Ste. 100 
Charleston, SC 29407 
Telephone: (843) 852-3600 
Fax: (843) 556-1780 
 

Columbia 

301 Gervais Street 
Columbia, SC 29214 
Telephone: (803) 898-5000 
Fax: (803) 898-5822 
 

Florence 
1452 West Evans Street 
Florence, SC 29502 
Telephone: (843) 661-4850 
Fax: (843) 662-4876 

 
Greenville 

545 North Pleasantburg Drive  
Greenville, SC 29607  
Telephone: (864) 241-1200 
Fax: (864) 232-5008 
 

Myrtle Beach 
1330 Howard Parkway 
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 
Telephone: (843) 839-2960 
Fax: (843) 839-2964 
 

Rock Hill 
454 South Anderson Road, Ste. 
202  
Business and Technology Center 
Rock Hill, SC 29731 
Telephone: (803) 324-7641 
Fax: (803) 324-8289 
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