Skip to Main Content


Ask a Librarian

Answers are available Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
S.C. Counties

SC Counties Map York County Williamsburg County Spartanburg County Union County Sumter County Saluda County Richland County Pickens County Orangeburg County Newberry County McCormick County Marlboro County Marion County Lexington County Lee County Laurens County Lancaster County Kershaw County Jasper County Horry County Hampton County Greenwood County Greenville County Georgetown County Florence County Fairfield County Edgefield County Dorchester County Dillon County Darlington County Colleton County Clarendon County Chesterfield County Chester County Cherokee County Charleston County Charleston County Calhoun County Berkeley County Beaufort County Beaufort County Barnwell County Bamberg County Anderson County Allendale County Aiken County Abbeville County Oconee County

South Carolina currently has 46 counties. Counties were established in the colonial period primarily for locating land grants, with most other governmental activities being centralized in Charleston. The growth of the backcountry led to the establishment of judicial districts throughout the colony, but lowcountry areas continued to be identified primarily by their Anglican parish names. Following the Revolution, both district and county courts were established, but in 1800 most of the counties became districts. Finally, in 1868 all of the existing districts were renamed counties. New counties continued to be formed until the early part of the 20th century, with the most recent being Allendale in 1919. For maps and information on early counties and districts, see Maps Tracing the Formation of Counties in South Carolina.

For most of the state's history, county officers had very little power or authority. Counties were essentially governed by their state legislative delegations. This system ended in 1975 when the Home Rule Act was passed. Each county now has a choice of one of four types of government. In the council form of government all executive and legislative power rests in the elected county council, while the council-supervisor form provides for an elected council and an elected supervisor with specified powers and duties. In both the council-administrator and council-manager forms the administrator or manager is appointed by the council.

The county histories were compiled by Mary L. Morgan from various published sources and from unpublished materials in the South Carolina State Library vertical file. The main published sources used were South Carolina: the WPA Guide to the Palmetto State (Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 1988), South Carolina Highway Marker Guide (Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1992), Formation of Counties in South Carolina by Michael E. Stauffer (Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1994), and Battles, Skirmishes, and Actions of the American Revolution in South Carolina by Terry W. Lipscomb (Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1991).

institute of Museum and Library Services Many S.C. State Library programs, resources and services are supported in whole or in part by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Follow SCSL on the Web:

1500 Senate Street • PO Box 11469 • Columbia, SC 29211
803-734-8666 •
Hours: 8:30am-5:00pm, Monday - Friday • Closed on state holidays

  • SC State Library on Facebook
  • SC State Library on Twitter
  • SC State Library on Google+
  • SC State Library on YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • SC State Library on Flickr
  • SC State Library on LinkedIn
  • SC State Library on Instagram