Young Minds Dreaming Poetry Contest Winners to be Announced 3/22

young minds dreaming logo

As part of this year's May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture events, the South Carolina State Library organized a poetry contest for South Carolina students, including homeschool students, in grades 3-12.

First, Second, and Third Place winners in three groups (Grades 3-5, Grades 6-8, and Grades 9-12) will be announced late March of 2017. Winners and their families will be invited to the State Library on April 1 to read their poems, and have an opportunity to meet Jacqueline Woodson, this year's Arbuthnot Lecturer.

The State Library greatly appreciates this year's poetry judges for their time and expertise:

  • Ed Madden
  • Cassie Premo Steele
  • Ray McManus
  • Len Lawson
  • Dianne Johnson
  • Worthy Evans
  • Monifa Lemons
  • Susan Laughter Meyers
  • Connie C. Smith