2017 Annual Literacy Leaders Awards Announced

all awards

The 11th Annual Literacy Leaders Awards will be presented by the USC School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at 5:00 p.m. on September 8, 2017 at the South Carolina State Library, 1500 Senate Street, Columbia.  The awards go to individuals and/or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Their contributions include:

  • Developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education
  • Establishing models of best practices in literacy education
  • Providing service to underserved groups and communities
  • Providing funding and support for these kinds of programs
  • Making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the Committee

2017 Literacy Leaders

  • IT-oLogy
  • Greenville Wordsmiths
  • Scholastic Soccer Program

The Peggy Parish Prize - The Peggy Parish Prize honors individuals who have made a personal impact that increases child literacy in South Carolina. A prize of $500 will be awarded to: 

  • Heather McCue
  • Susan Morris 

Successful recipients demonstrate their impact through activities such as:

  • Implementing or expanding innovative programs or approaches to increase literacy in children
  • Encouraging a child’s love of reading through the involvement of a parent or caregiver
  • Establishing or expanding programs for under-served community groups to increase child literacy
  • Creating programs that successfully use Peggy Parish’s notion of an “open window” timeframe to encourage reading in children

This prize is offered in Peggy Parish’s memory, to honor those who demonstrate the imagination, creativity and energy to help the children of South Carolina become life-long readers.