2016 Annual Literacy Leaders Awards Announced


The 10th Annual Literacy Leaders Awards will be presented by the USC School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at 5:00 p.m. on September 8, 2016 at the South Carolina State Library, 1500 Senate Street, Columbia.  The awards go to individuals and/or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Their contributions include:

  • Developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education
  • Establishing models of best practices in literacy education
  • Providing service to underserved groups and communities
  • Providing funding and support for these kinds of programs
  • Making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the Committee

2016 Literacy Leaders

  • Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority, Epsilon Chapter – “This energetic organization of young women has committed themselves to encouraging and motivating young children to read.  They have adopted Reading Is Fundamental (RIF) as their national philanthropic partner and engage in literacy activities on the national and local levels. Their goal is to inspire children to achieve grade-level literacy.” Nominated by Ida W. Thompson.
  • Denise Lyons, SC State Library Deputy Director for Statewide Development – “Literacy is definitely a component of everything Denise has done for libraries in SC. She has made the extension of service to all members of the family a part of what libraries do. The children of SC are the lucky recipients of her good work.” Nominated by Nonie Price.
  • Darion McCloud, Creative Director of the NiA Theatre Company and Story Squad – “Darion’s Story Squad is a performance driven group that addresses literacy, exposure to the arts, summer slide, and entertainment suitable for all members of the family. Employing professional artists from the disciplines of music, theater, visual arts and the literary arts, Story Squad creates a mash-up of song, storytelling , dance, music and spoken word all aimed at educating, entertaining and inspiring.” Nominated by Sarah M. Keeling, Ph.D.

The Peggy Parish Prize - The Peggy Parish Prize honors individuals who have made a personal impact that increases child literacy in South Carolina. A prize of $500 will be awarded to Kim Williams Odom, Charleston County Public Library’s John L. Dart Library manager.

Successful recipients demonstrate their impact through activities such as:

  • Implementing or expanding innovative programs or approaches to increase literacy in children
  • Encouraging a child’s love of reading through the involvement of a parent or caregiver
  • Establishing or expanding programs for under-served community groups to increase child literacy
  • Creating programs that successfully use Peggy Parish’s notion of an “open window” timeframe to encourage reading in children

This prize is offered in Peggy Parish’s memory, to honor those who demonstrate the imagination, creativity and energy to help the children of South Carolina become life-long readers. Nominated by Pam Cadden.